We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a perfect place to stay for a pre and post...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bright spacious lounge, with stunning views. Large bright dining room can seat up to 14, comfortably 12.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Bright spacious lounge, with stunning views.
Large bright dining room can seat up to 14, comfortably 12.
Large bright kitchen.
Study area and downstairs toilet and shower room.
Games room.
Beautiful conservatory.
One of the en-suite bedrooms.
one of the en-suite bathrooms.
Another en-suite bedroom.
More contemporary ensuite bedroom.
Spacious loft room with en-suite.
Stunning views.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JSYork
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“What a perfect place to stay for a pre and post wedding group”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Family and friends stayed at Beechwood for our daughter and son in law's wedding and what perfect setting it proved to be. On the outskirts of Moffat and 5 minutes walk to the centre of this charming town, and a couple of minutes more to the church, it proved to be an ideal setting for people to be together for an intimate celebration. Plenty of room for all, lovely snooker room and good facilities in a lovely setting.A great place for any family celebration and what a fabulous place it would be for a christmas!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the house
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
Many thanks for such a great review, it gives me great pleasure to host wonderful people like yourselves for such a special occasion. Thanks again Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cameronwl...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of the Borders”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What was great about this property:
- The host (Angela) could not have been more helpful and welcoming
- The house was incredibly clean
- Attention to detail was amazing with everything from complimentary soaps to clean towels being provided
- The House, Garden and Views are incredible
- The rooms are HUGE
- The Snooker room, need i say anymore
- And my fav bit, the little touches that you will experience during your stay!

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Thank you for your comments, it gives me great personal satisfaction for guests to feel at home. You and your family are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burd1289
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous old lady of a house”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived at Beechwood House on a cold and wet (typical) Feb afternoon - however on entering the heating was on so nice and warm. The house is in excellent condition, each room with its own rustic charm. We had 6 of the 7 bedrooms occupied with an age range of 11-76 and each person commented on how lovely the rooms were - en suite bathrooms were a big bonus. The large diniing room accomdated 8 adults and 1 child with plenty room to spare and the large kitchen made it easy for lots of helpers. The large cooking range certainly helped when preparing a large 3 course meal for 9 people over 3 nights.
We really enjoyed spending the afternoons and evening in the lounge together with the magnificent views over the countryside and a lovely coal fire, the games room was an added bonus and managed to squeeze in a few games.
My 11 yr old son took over the 'snug' - adopted it as his little 'man cave'.
The local area is picturesque and very typical of Scotland - directly behind the house there is a walk where we were able to take our dogs and met some locals. The town is a few minutes walk where again the townsfolk are very nice.
We contacted the owner once during our stay and found her to be exceptionally nice and very helpful.
I think in the summer the house would be fantastic as it has fully enclosed garden and a beautiful conservatory - however it provided a beautiful place for my family and freinds to spend a few nights together before we parted ways as we begin our journey to move to California.
I would highly recommend staying at Beechwood House and when we come back in the future will look to book again - next time I will look to hire a catering company though :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the house was deceptive as it felt very homely and cosy
Liked least: Scottish weather;
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottie229
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb House for a large group”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for Xmas 2015 age range 3 months to 82 years. The house is very comfortable and spacious, the beds have good quality linen and are comfortable. The massive pool room was a real hit with all ages.

Angela was an excellent host and a fine women to deal with, nothing was too much trouble.

i would most definitely recommend this house for a large party, all bedrooms open suite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The large pool room
Liked least: No dining facilities in kitchen, but the the dining room was rather grand so made up for it
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing