We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look No Further - I'll definitely stay here again!!!!!”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I had the pleasure of 5 nights in the Balmoral Hotel from 4th to 9th August 2010. My single room was great - a nice separate toilet/shower/wash basin room, and a room more than big enough for 1 person.

The room had a mini fridge and a TV (which I never had time to turn on), and a chest of drawers for my clothes.

The free Wi-Fi (ask in the Bar for the password to get into it) worked flawlessly the whole time I was there, and helped in keeping the eMail box somewhat under control as well as keeping facebook updated with pictures of the Moffat goings on.

A small table and chair would have made using the computer a bit more comfortable.

There are 2 restaurants in the building - the main one where food is served in the Bar - the food here was great - I had fish and chips too many times probably, but also had Lamb Chops one evening. And then the Fish and Chip shop with its own entrance - this was OUTSTANDING!!!!

Breakfast (including if one wanted to indulge a "Full Scottish Breakfast") was included in the Tarriff of £40 per night.

Next time I'm in Moffat I see no reason to look further than the Balmoral again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerKIWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 273 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed in one of the courtyard cottages at the Balmoral Hotel which are perfect for families. Breakfast is served in the hotel which is very good and the cottages are serviced every day. I would say they have been recently refurbished and are very comfortable. Ate in the Hotel two night out of three. Good menu choices and extremely good value for money. Definately wortha visit and we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayceeArgyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Used Balmoral as a stop in transit between Home Counties and Aberdeen. Ideal location for trip. Hotel easy to find, parking right outside. Warm welcome. Room far beyond expectations. Clean, fresh flowers, large screen TV, super en-suite. Meals here are very good indeed - and very reasonable - sending the weary traveller to a comfortable bed, happy. Breakfasts can only be described as excellent. In all, tremendous value for money which, in our view, is unbeatable

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GangaBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

During our 4 night stay nothing was too much trouble for the staff. This is our second visit. The amount spent on painting cleaning and decorating is amazing. Already booked again 2011. I think that says it all

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

This is a regular stop for us on the way to Scoland for a meal. The food is always first class, good varied menu at reasonable prices. We included an overnight stay on this occasion and found the accomadation in keeping with what I expected. Comfortable, clean rooms, great breakfast, friendly staff. Oh and good beers as well. Sure to return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 51wardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

excellent wee hotel, huge room recently refurbished, spotlessly clean, food very tasty - for the money, you couldn't do any better

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank carpetbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

This is a lovely hotel and bar ideally located on the main street in Moffat. Although there is no car park, there is ample parking opposite free of charge. We had a room in one of the comverted stables at the back, which was extremely comfortable with everything you ould want for a fantastic stay. Quality bar food is served next door and the breakfasts was also delicious. However, the hotel's real asset is the staff. They are very friendly, helpful and polite and we will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcm160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moffat
0.1 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
0.1 mi away
The Famous Star Hotel
The Famous Star Hotel
#7 of 24 in Moffat
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry House
Queensberry House
#1 of 24 in Moffat
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: High Street, Moffat DG10 9DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Price Range: $99 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balmoral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing