We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much better than the motorway services”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“So much better than the motorway services”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We usually stop off at Moffat to break our trip and the bar lunches here are just the ticket. The bar at the Balmoral is almost in a time warp. It is very 1970s in decor and none the worse for it. None of the pseudo kitsch that modernised bars tend to offer.
The service is homely, the food is basic but really excellent value for money, big main course portions, well cooked and simply presented. A little more attention to the veg might lift this even further. We have never been disappointed here.
Moreover, the toilets are spotless, and the kitchen is visible from the hallway and is clean and tidy.
If you are on the M74 and looking for a stop, then pop into Moffat, it's better than the services at either Johnstonbridge or Gretna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EwanFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    61
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
134
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Apart from " All the positive comments prior to mine", I was suitably impressed with added extras in the room like a bar of Dove soap and shower gel, mints , biscuit barrel that was full and fresh milk and replenishments every day - oh ues and bottled water in the fridge daily. The food downstairs in the bar was also first class and they gave us 10% off the bill as we were staying in the hotel. I wanted to stay longer but fully booked for New Year so we have to leave tomorrow :(. A MUST is the Tibetan Buddist Monastry near Davington. It is a practising monastry and well worth a visit. This hotel has my vote every time. Well done on a superb hotel. K.Wall

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazcade123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUMFRIES
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Visited here again on return trip from Edinburgh and on entering the place it was lovely and warm. We chose the Lamb dish and it was absolutely superb, adequate amount and served up piping hot. Staff were also very attentive. Well done again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WOLFACHMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Very welcoming Landlord. Parking outside hotel. Modern,well equipped room with generous bathroom toiletries. Good food but a trifle pricey. "The Ritz it ain't" but it does not pretend to be. It is a safe,reasonably priced room providing a good overnight experience in this lovely town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We booked a single and a double room for one night and arrived fairly late, the lady that met us was pleasant and helpful and showed us to the rooms. The single room was actually a very spacious en suite double bedroom with a settee and TV. The double room was more like a two roomed apartment which included an en suite bedroom with TV and a large lounge with two comfortable settees, another TV, fridge, tea and coffee facilities. All of the rooms were spotlessly clean and a credit to the staff. Breakfast was more than adequate and served in the bar area, again by helpful pleasant staff. We would have no hesitation staying there again, but next time for longer than one night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My Father and I stayed 1 night here on november 12th 2012 as there was a double booking on our original hotel, my first thoughts on pulling up outside were " Ok its only 1 night" but when inside all the staff and probably owner were very polite and the rooms were spotless, we had a fish & chip supper and it was very nice but the porridge in the morning at breakfast was superb, would I stay here again! " you bet I would"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have stayed in dozens of hotels all over the British Isles and this was by far the biggest room yet, it wasn't really a room more of an apartment with a 3 and 2 seater leather recliners ,a fridge and TWO T.V's, spotlessly clean ,the usual tea and coffee but not the usual two bscuits, a biscuit barrel full of them !The staff were friendly and the breakfast a great freshly cooked 'full scottish' we didn't eat in the hotel at night,great value ,we'll be back ..

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moffat
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
14.2 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: High Street, Moffat DG10 9DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balmoral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing