We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm friendly greeting and excellent food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridge House Moffat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridge House Moffat
Ranked #10 of 23 Moffat B&B and Inns
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm friendly greeting and excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

This was our second visit and I am sure we will be back again. We only stopped the one night but wish to return to explore the area further as it has a lot to offer. We would strongly reccomend booking the evening meal when booking the room as it is a real treat. The quality and presentation are superb.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Sadly our stay at Bridge House was not a happy one. We were a late booking (5 days brfore our stay) and put in room 7. This is an attic room with the bed in the eaves of the roof. Unfortunately it was cold in the room, (measured 18 degrees on our thermometer), and we asked for the heating to be run to take the chill off. We were told they d
don't turn the heating on in the summer (hello, Scotland, boasts of four seasons in one week???) surely the decision to heat the room for guests should be made on temperature, not date? We were given an oil radiator, which took more than an hour to offer any more warmth than a knats breath. The room was very small, with ensuite being a converted cupboard. The inspector clearly didn't see this room as we booked four star accommodation and did not get four star room. Flooring in the ensuite was badly lifted and there was mould around the shower. The kettle also was not properly clean. Altogether, very overpriced at £70. Should have been £40 maximum. Breakfast was enjoyable and the house below attic level is nice, but make sure you don't get booked into room 7.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairplayjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgeHouseMoffat, Owner at Bridge House Moffat, responded to this review, January 19, 2017
Please note that Bridge House is under new management (2016) and room 7 has been completely renovated (and we put the heating on for guests!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

The service is superb and Carol always makes us feel very welcome. The room is ample, the beds are comfortable, linen is spotlessly clean, and the kettle is always a welcome sight. Breakfast is lovely, with plenty of choice, and the fresh free range eggs are gorgeous. The location is good: lovely views of the hills, and quiet.
Thank you, Carol, for always making us feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have stayed over night at the Bridge House on a number of occasions over the past few years en route to the Aberdeen area. We have always found a very warm welcome from Carol, she makes us feel like one of the family. The house and rooms are always spotlessly clean. The beds are very comfortable but unfortunately blankets are used instead of duvets The breakfast is wonderful and we always look forward to our stay be it only short. Looking forward to our next stay.

If you are heading in the Edinburgh direction the scenic route on the A701 is well worth taking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Absolutely lovely hotel with a lovely owner who really made us feel welcome. We stayed with our two young children (aged 3.5 and 7 months). The family room was perfect with lots of little touches that really made a difference with two small ones - such as children's bubble bath in the bedroom, lots of beautiful clean bedding for the travel cot and even a box of toys and books for them to play with!

There is a beautiful guest lounge where we enjoyed sitting after the children had gone to bed (take a monitor) - much better than the many nights we've spent in other hotels trying to move quietly around after 7pm!

Breakfast was delicious too. Thanks - we will be back as it's a perfect place to break our journey to the Highlands.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shrewvole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed as a guest of Carol at the Bridge House in the family room with our 7 month old son. We were the only guests on a Thursday evening (but it was full for the next 3 nights) so we had the benefit of personal service. Lovely breakfast next morning at it set us up beautifully for our trip to Pitlochry.
Would absolutely recommend as a place to stay. High standards throughout.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Such a lovely romantic get away but equally can see ourselves returning with our wee ones as we were shown a really nice family room which would be perfect for all the family. The four poster room was lovely and clean, spacious and had nice views of surrounding countryside. The owners were really friendly and helpful and recommended we try Claudio's Italian restuarant for a meal (5mins walk down the road) which was excellent, we then ate in the guest house the next night and were equally impressed. Two of the best meals we've had in a long time- and we do like our food!! Moffat was a very quaint little town with lots of nice walks and we would reccomend Frontline Falconry at Auchen Castle as a great way to spend a morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weeman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moffat hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#4 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queensberry House
Queensberry House
#1 of 23 in Moffat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
MacIntyre Lodge
MacIntyre Lodge
#4 of 23 in Moffat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Moffat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Moffat

Property: Bridge House Moffat
Address: Bridge House Well Road, Moffat DG10 9JT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge House Moffat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridge House Moffat is a seven bedroom luxury Victorian guesthouse situated on the outskirts of Moffat, within a short walk of the town centre. We provide a peaceful retreat with views of the Moffat hills, giving easy access to the network of walking and cycling routes on our doorstep. All rooms feature an en suite bath or shower room, complimentary toiletries, freeview TV and a refreshment tray. Our four poster and superior rooms have luxury toiletries fluffy bathrobes and Egyptian cotton bedding. We welcome well behaved dogs (maximum two per room) and can provide doggy day care / boarding, a perfect solution if you want to go sightseeing in locations which may not be suitable for your pet. Having recently changed ownership, we are busy refurbishing each room, along with introducing improved parking and storage facilities for bikes, motorbikes and outdoor pursuits in general. Try our selection of Scottish whiskies and gins in our licenced bar before heading out for dinner then start the next day with a delicious cooked breakfast and a selection of cereals, fruit juices, yoghurts and fresh fruit, all tasty and locally sourced. Planning a special occasion and not got enough room to put everyone up? We are available for exclusive hire and can assist with event management and catering. We look forward to welcoming you to Bridge House soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bridge House Moffat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge House Moffat Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing