We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love it and I'm always glad to come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridge House Moffat
Ranked #4 of 24 Moffat B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The service is superb and Carol always makes us feel very welcome. The room is ample, the beds are comfortable, linen is spotlessly clean, and the kettle is always a welcome sight. Breakfast is lovely, with plenty of choice, and the fresh free range eggs are gorgeous. The location is good: lovely views of the hills, and quiet.
Thank you, Carol, for always making us feel at home.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Bridge House Moffat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 109 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have stayed over night at the Bridge House on a number of occasions over the past few years en route to the Aberdeen area. We have always found a very warm welcome from Carol, she makes us feel like one of the family. The house and rooms are always spotlessly clean. The beds are very comfortable but unfortunately blankets are used instead of duvets The breakfast is wonderful and we always look forward to our stay be it only short. Looking forward to our next stay.

If you are heading in the Edinburgh direction the scenic route on the A701 is well worth taking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Absolutely lovely hotel with a lovely owner who really made us feel welcome. We stayed with our two young children (aged 3.5 and 7 months). The family room was perfect with lots of little touches that really made a difference with two small ones - such as children's bubble bath in the bedroom, lots of beautiful clean bedding for the travel cot and even a box of toys and books for them to play with!

There is a beautiful guest lounge where we enjoyed sitting after the children had gone to bed (take a monitor) - much better than the many nights we've spent in other hotels trying to move quietly around after 7pm!

Breakfast was delicious too. Thanks - we will be back as it's a perfect place to break our journey to the Highlands.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrewvole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed as a guest of Carol at the Bridge House in the family room with our 7 month old son. We were the only guests on a Thursday evening (but it was full for the next 3 nights) so we had the benefit of personal service. Lovely breakfast next morning at it set us up beautifully for our trip to Pitlochry.
Would absolutely recommend as a place to stay. High standards throughout.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Such a lovely romantic get away but equally can see ourselves returning with our wee ones as we were shown a really nice family room which would be perfect for all the family. The four poster room was lovely and clean, spacious and had nice views of surrounding countryside. The owners were really friendly and helpful and recommended we try Claudio's Italian restuarant for a meal (5mins walk down the road) which was excellent, we then ate in the guest house the next night and were equally impressed. Two of the best meals we've had in a long time- and we do like our food!! Moffat was a very quaint little town with lots of nice walks and we would reccomend Frontline Falconry at Auchen Castle as a great way to spend a morning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

It was like stepping back in time when you enter this stately like home mansion. We stayed in the spacious four poster bed room which was an experience in its self; the decanter of sherry on the bedside table was a novel touch. Although we were only there for a day we would have loved to have stayed longer. Carol was a terrific hostess, making us feel very much at home. The breakfast was superb. During our 3 week trip of the UK we would no B&B as a good a value as this. We will not soon forget this experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandyandNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Our stay here was part of a 2-week trip in England and Scotland, and this was our favorite place to stay. The inn is very attractive, the room was large and very comfortable, the hostess was welcoming, and the food was great. There is even a sitting room available to guests, something we did not find in any of the other guest houses on our trip. Close enough to walk to Moffat, which is a beautiful and interesting town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moffat hotels
0.5 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#4 of 4 in Moffat
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Queensberry House
Queensberry House
#1 of 24 in Moffat
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
The Black Bull Hotel
#22 of 24 in Moffat
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Moffat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Moffat

Address: Bridge House Well Road, Moffat DG10 9JT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range: $95 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge House Moffat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridge House Moffat is a seven bedroom luxury Victorian guesthouse situated on the outskirts of Moffat, within a short walk of the town centre. We provide a peaceful retreat with views of the Moffat hills, giving easy access to the network of walking and cycling routes on our doorstep. All rooms feature an en suite bath or shower room, complimentary toiletries, freeview TV and a refreshment tray. Our four poster and superior rooms have luxury toiletries fluffy bathrobes and Egyptian cotton bedding. We welcome well behaved dogs (maximum two per room) and can provide doggy day care / boarding, a perfect solution if you want to go sightseeing in locations which may not be suitable for your pet. Having recently changed ownership, we are busy refurbishing each room, along with introducing improved parking and storage facilities for bikes, motorbikes and outdoor pursuits in general. Try our selection of Scottish whiskies and gins in our licenced bar before heading out for dinner then start the next day with a delicious cooked breakfast and a selection of cereals, fruit juices, yoghurts and fresh fruit, all tasty and locally sourced. Planning a special occasion and not got enough room to put everyone up? We are available for exclusive hire and can assist with event management and catering. We look forward to welcoming you to Bridge House soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bridge House Moffat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge House Moffat Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing