We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 24 Moffat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is located just out of the centre of moffat, its up the hill, easy to find, gorgeous views from the hotel and what looks like some good walking although we didn't have time to rekky any of the nearby paths. (there is also a nature reserve just down the road towards the motorway). The hotel is beautiful and warm and clean and the family who own it are really friendly. Our room was gorgeous and warm, with loads of stuff for tea and coffee and hot chocolate which was a bonus. The evening meal menu looked gorgeous but we decided to head into moffat in the evening (which is only a 5 minute walk) but breakfast was really lovely and cooked to perfection. All in all a really good find and perfect for a wee break and you're only 5 minutes from the motorway. Perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 173 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have been going to the Limetree for a few years.
It's probably the best restaurant in Dumfries & Galloway offering rustic, flavoursome food at very reasonable prices.

The food is straightforward and unpretentious, the flavours big and bold and excellent local produce features highly.
Expect delicious Chowders, Pates and cured fish for starters, Beef, lamb or Duck for mains and more-ish chocolate brownie and seasonal fruit puddings/trifles and delicious ice-creams or sorbets. There's also usually a good cheeseboard for those with less of a sweet tooth.

On a personal note I really miss the cosy, intimacy of it's original location and it could be said that the dining room decor is a little old fashioned and the vibe a bit stuffy but once you taste the wonderful food everything else becomes unimportant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tojoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just had dinner after a recommendation from a friend. Warm welome, lovely dining room, friendly staff. Our meal as delicious, the chicken, bacon and beetroot salad was delicious, the lamb rump tender with tasty accompaniments and the prune pudding was light and rich at the same time. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank margodeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Warm & welcoming hosts, comfort & cleanliness, value for money and the food, these are the elements that go towards the enjoyment or otherwise of a hotel/guest house stay. Unfortunately too often, some or all of these elements don't match the anticipated level of expectations. Not so at Hartfell House!
The owners, Mairi & Rob are caring and professional, our room facing to the front , was comfortable and in keeping with the age and style of the house. The whole place is very clean and the dinner bed & breakfast package is great value for money, especially considering the excellent quality of food served in the pleasant Limetree restaurant. I also appreciated a wine list that had obviously been well thought through and again delivered value for money.
It is likely that my wife and I will have reason to return to Moffat in the near future, we already know where we will be booking in!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuchenclut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent 2 nights here to break a 500 mile drive to Argyll & Bute. We were made very welcome by Mairi and Rob, but we were disappointed with our room. At the top of the house, it had sloping ceilings and faced the back garden and fields of sheep with only a Velux window, whereas rooms at the front of the house had rather lovely far-reaching hill views. Water pressure was a bit of an issue especially in the shower as the hot water was very hot. Otherwise it was spotlessly clean, but I genuinely feel that this room (7) should have been priced at a discount to front-facing rooms.

The Limetree Restaurant is run out of Hartfell House and dinner was excellent - I have to say that the lamb was probably the best I've ever eaten in a restaurant; both in terms of taste and tenderness. Dinner is well-priced; even better value when packaged with the room. Good choice of wine, reasonably priced.

It's a short stroll into Moffat, and there's a pleasant circular walk ( and probably more that we didn't have time to discover) moments from the front door.

Certainly a very pleasant stay; but I'd want a room with a view next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leafwarbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

A delightful B&B with just what we wanted. A charming host, wonderful chef in The Limetree Restaurant who presented an amazing evening meal and breakfast, with a magical evening walk along the river afterwards.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevorandMerryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

That is what I recommend. This is a lovely place to stay, with one of the nicest places to eat in Scotland! We travelled as a family with 2 young children and had a perfectly suitable room for us all. The decor was a little dated, but this was a room in line for refurbishment and let's face it, when you have 2 kids with you, a plush room is often more of a worry than a joy.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the town centre, which has a few nice, family-friendly pubs, but really, we were offered meals for our children when we arrived, and G'n'T's for us, so had no need to leave.

My wife and I first went to The Limetree Restaurant 10 years ago when it was on the High Street. The food was amazing then and we were very happy to see things have improved. There's a thankfully small menu of exceptional quality. Service was spot-on, being attentive, without being overbearing and the atmosphere was pleasantly relaxed.

We planned our tour of Scotland so we could include a visit to The Limetree Restaurant and having it based at Hartfell House made our last night of our holiday perfect. It's good value, with our stay costing around £200 - remember this was for a family of 4 on essentially half-board basis, with 3 courses for the grown-ups later in the evening. It also included a rather good bottle of red, with pre- and post-dinner drinks. They even filled our flask with coffee for our long drive before we left. My only advice would be to book as far in advance as possible. The restaurant gets fully booked quickly, so don't expect to get a table if you just turn up. It's well worth the diversion if you know you'll be in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R0bertBROWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moffat hotels
0.3 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#3 of 4 in Moffat
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry House
Queensberry House
#1 of 24 in Moffat
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limetree House
Limetree House
#13 of 24 in Moffat
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant

Address: Hartfell House Hartfell Crescent, Moffat DG10 9AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range: $91 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1850, this impressive Victorian house is in a peaceful terrace high above the town, having lovely views of the surrounding countryside. Beautifully maintained, its bedrooms offer high quality and comfort. The award winning Limetree Restaurant serves a charismatic blend of modern and traditional cooking with Scottish and global influence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartfell House And The Limetree Restaurant
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant Hotel Moffat
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing