We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and beautiful location”
other travelers have booked this property
Hillend Guest Cottage from hills behind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hillend Guest Cottage from hills behind
Hillend Guest Cottage entrance Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Hillend Guest Cottage from hills behind
Hillend Guest Cottage entrance
Bedroom
Conservatory lounge
Kitchen
Shower room
Black face sheep
A winters evening over Hillend
St Mary's Loch
Talla Reservoir
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Geecee6
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful location”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed for one week in April and had all of the seasons every day! Ruth was really friendly and welcoming and we felt at home and instantly relaxed! The guest suite is very cosy, the couch in the lounge is super comfy and it was lovely sitting in silence listening to the birds and
watching them feed, there were so many different kinds.

It was so dark with lovely clear skies at night, and we often went out to look at the stars and take in the peace and quiet. The bed is a double and even though I have chronic back pain, I found it really comfortable and slept well.

The sunsets and sunrise are amazing and we loved watching the colour in the sky and scenery changing.

Moffat has lots of places to eat and is a very short drive away.

The area is so beautiful and there are so many walks from the door and nearby. We loved the Devils beeftub and Grey Mares tail waterfall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: No washing machine and not enough storage for clothes, but we do take quite a lot!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Thank you very much for you review. We are please you enjoyed Hillend and hope to see you again in the future. Kindest regards Ruth & Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barry L
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from our first visit to Scotland were we stayed at the Hillend Guest Suite. We booked this property quite quickly after securing flights up from Bournemouth on a free week from my busy schedule and hadn't read any of the trip advisor reviews before booking but we became slightly alarmed that I may have made a mistake when I check the reviews and read a negative review from Sept. 2014 even though all the other reviews were good.
We needn't have worried as the suite and owners were superb, the suite was just as described and shown in the photos of the property and the owners Ruth and Martin were extremely helpful and friendly advising on trips to go on and places to visit close to Moffat.
There is only one dog of the owners now as it appears one has passed away owing to old age but Ellie the remaining dog was no trouble , she came to welcome us when ever we came in or went out but I never heard her barking at other times at all and she is fenced off from the suite.
So for anyone thinking of staying in this part of Scotland you wont find a better location for visiting Dumfries, Lockerbie, Gretna Green and only a short car journey to Edinburgh and Glasgow. The views from this tranquil guest suit and neighbouring valleys and hills are incredible with cows and sheep in the fields nearby as your only neighbours.
We will definitely be coming back here and staying at this property again, super owners super location and super country.
Thank you Ruth and Martin for your wonderful hospitality and Guest Suite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location. The Suite and the owners hospitality.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liza W
North Tyneside
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Winter walking base”
Reviewed January 30, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We received a warm welcome from people and dogs! Ruth and Martin are really friendly and helpful without being in the slightest bit intrusive. Ellie and Bobby are lovely too. The apartment is small but quite well laid out with room for two people and a largish dog. The larger conservatory makes an ideal sitting room and eating space. The smaller one at the back would make a great reading room, though we mainly used it to dump bags and dry clothes after snowy walks. The galley kitchen is narrow but has room for two people to work alongside each other if you're generally fairly accommodating of each other! It is well equipped, with good pans and sharp knives, etc. The place is warm - we asked to have the heating turned down, which Martin did straightaway with no fuss. The enclosed garden is ideal for dogs or people to have some outdoor space. There's also a huge field behind where dogs can be walked when there's no stock grazing.
Moffat's a small, slightly sleepy town that has lovely walks all around it and has everything you need - Coop, butcher, greengrocer, newsagent, etc., as well as some great eating places (especially recommend Brodies). This is great walking country - picturesque with walks to suit all abilities. There are actually good walks right from the door of the cottage with no need to drive anywhere. We're already talking about a return trip to the area. We'd definitely recommend Hill End as a base to explore from.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2015
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again if you decide to return to Hillend!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Serenity
Liked least: Kitchen a tight squeeze.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vicksburg, Mississippi, United States
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ruth and Martin
Liked least: Temporary road construction out front- No fault of the Hosts.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing