We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place, lovely people, the best hospitality”

Seamore House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seamore House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 23 Moffat B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, lovely people, the best hospitality”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed in moffat for one night, to attend a wedding at Auchen castle 1.7 miles away. Arrived at seamore house to a warm welcome from our host. Made sure we had everything we needed, checked what we wanted for breakfast and what time, and even gave us a lift to the wedding wedding venue which was far and beyond his call of duty!
Rooms were spacious enough, very comfortable & clean, and bathroom was spotless. 100% for comfort and hygiene, always number 1 priority on my list and I wasn't disappointed at all.
I hope I can come up to moffat again just to have the pleasure of staying in this lovely B&B again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asim_Aguero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
22
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in the Seamore House for only two nights but will definitely stay again! We were greeted very warmly by Heather who showed us to our rooms which are not huge but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean. My husband and I had a room overlooking the main road but knowing Moffat as we do there was no problem with noise as the town is very quiet in the evening although you do have tractors driving through in the mornings but not enough to cause any problem at all. My Mums' room overlooked the rear of the building and was even quieter than ours. Guests are asked to fill in a breakfast form, choosing what their breakfast requirements are and what time they would like their breakfast served - some people may find this not to their liking but personally I think this is a really good idea which must cut down on wasted food and effort. The breakfast was really excellent with freshly cooked food and plenty of toast and beverages. Heather very kindly left a can of fizzy drink in our room when she noticed we had finished our bottle. It is little kindnesses like this that really make all the difference.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a shower cubicle that those of us who are built more for comfort than speed might find a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have been staying with Heather and Alan for roughly 10 years now and the reason for that is very simple : as they are located in the South of Scotland, it's the perfect starting place for our annual holiday. It's obviously not only the location that matters : over the years, Heather and Alan have become true friends, and the service they provide is second to none. They are both warm, friendly, very helpful persons who will do everything they possibly can to attend to every single request. The rooms are very cosy (we've tried them all over the years :-)) and spotless, and at a very reasonable price. God willing, we'll be coming for many more years...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The welcome, great. Showed where the dining room and residents lounge was before taking us to our room (3) Asked if we'd been to Moffat before, (we had, a few times on day trips). The room, clean, tidy, nice room. Not sure how long ago it was last done up but looked brand new. Bathroom was spotless which is always a big plus in my book. Room is to the rear of the property and nice and quiet, no road noise even with the window open. Parking, we went round the back but it takes a wee bit of manouvering. Could just as easliy parked out front on the street. Breakfast, the usual selection but very tasty. Hosts checked we were ok and asked if there was anything else we wanted. Situated only about 100 yards from what I'd call the centre of the town at, again what I'd call the top end. Easy access to other Hotels, bars and eating places but still nice and quiet. Worth a walk down one side of the street and back up the other as lots of great shops, tourist shops and other interesting places to see. Bottom of hill bear right past the garage and there is a boating pond. Nice to walk around or you can have a paddle in a great big swan! We'll stay at the Seamore again, Moffat worth a visit

Room Tip: Room 3, King size bed, king size room, light and airy, no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

dont take the photos as gospel, this place is amazing a real home away from home. Beautiful building great location and lovely homely rooms. The mangeress is lovely very accomodating exactly what you want from a B&B it feels as if your staying at a family members

I cant express how much the internet images dont portray this place accurately I managed a business stop over here for a measly £30 including breakfast I would happily have paid more than double.

Great place highly recommended one tip dont go to the stag although its friendly food is awful

Room Tip: I Stayed in room 4 it was very clean and a home away from Home
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for one night at Seamore House passing through on our way to Edinburgh and we were very pleased with our choice. Seamore House is located at the northern end of the main street of this charming town. There was parking on site but we opted for parking on the street and it was very convenient.
Our room (#3) was on the first floor and did not face the street so it was very quiet. The bed was comfortable and spotless. There was TV, good internet connection, hair dryer and a welcome hospitality tray. The bathroom had everything you could require and the shower was hot!
Breakfast, served in a light and airy dining room, was really tasty and plentiful and served with a smile.
We enjoyed our overnight stay in this very pleasant B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzziePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We have a 7month old and 20 month old and a dog, they accommodated us all well,.room clean and nicely decorated. Really nice lounge with t.v., brilliant for when the children had gone to sleep. Really nice breakfast clean dining area. We did provide our own high chair and travel cots. B&B brilliantly located to break up the journey to the highlands. Very personable hosts, Moffat also has a good pub which took both the children and the dog.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahongobongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moffat hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#4 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limetree House
Limetree House
#11 of 23 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.2 mi away
Moffat Manor Country Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamore House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamore House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Seamore House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Seamore House Academy Road, Moffat DG10 9HW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seamore House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seamore House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seamore House Bed & Breakfast Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing