We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight at Annandale Arms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annandale Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Annandale Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Overnight at Annandale Arms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Needed a place to spend night between Manchester and Edinburgh. Moffat was good spot. The Annandale is your basic 3 star Scottish country hotel, but with an excellent restaurant. That is not a typical combination. Room was basic, but comfortable. Service was good. Primary reason to stay here is food. Excellent menu.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Cajun_traveler405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    95
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
50
178
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

As part of a group of friends going to a wedding at Drumlanrig Castle, we had a perfect stay at the Annandale Arms. The food was superb and the rooms extremely comfortable. I look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I recently enjoyed a weekend stay at the Annandale Arms, Moffat.

The hotel does all the really important things which make for a comfortable hotel stay very well.

The tastefully decorated rooms were clean and well appointed and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom benefitted from a large bath and the shower had decent water pressure with plenty of hot water.

The restaurant served up hearty breakfasts made from organic and locally sourced produce e.g. sausages and bacon from a local family-run farm. A good measure of the quality of hotel breakfasts is the quality of the orange juice. Here we had fresh juice not made from concentrate.

The highlight of the hotel is the bar which is found in a oak-pannelled snug. There is a good selection of lagers and local real ales and, of course, a lengthy menu of single malt whiskies that leaves you in no doubt that this is a Scottish hotel!

Staff were friendly and had lots of useful information about local activities.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Once again the Annandale Arms provided a warm welcome, fantastic steak pie, a wonderful breakfast and a good night's sleep. We have made several visits over the last few years and really look forward getting to the hotel and settling in to the warm and cosy surroundings. Elaine and the rest of the hardworking staff really made us welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed chatting to them during our stay. The food is fantastic and an extra treat this time was the home baking served to residents in the afternoon - wonderful scones and shortbread! We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Twin rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I booked a night in this hotel in order to break up the journey to Skye. It was chosen because I new Moffat from old, it had good reviews on here and it was dog friendly. I wasn't ready to book it for the return journey, just in case.

Well, it was a great treat. The room (dog friendly rooms seem to be in the motel like extension at the rear) was spacious, warm, and quite well decorated. Not perfect. Some cracks and knocks, but really quite acceptable. The bar was well stocked (and dogs can come in here too) and the food was very good. The kitchen has an AA Rosette so I was optimistic about the food and it was very good. The Poacher's Pie was excellent, as was the lamb.

Breakfast was good with the usual choices (but no dogs).

Moffat is well organised for walks. Several circular ones are signed around the town and the hotel has a couple of suggestions in the rooms.

Needless to say I booked for the journey back before leaving and was just as pleased on the way down. (They looked after my shaver which I forgot to clear from the bathroom too, which was very nice).

All the staff were friendly and helpful and seem to work very hard.

All in all a great place to stay in the middle of Moffat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed overnight on a stopover heading north, and can't recommend this hotel highly enough. On a dark and stormy night Elaine greeted us and showed us to our room, adding that if we wanted to eat in the Bar then our dog would be welcome too. Our dog-friendly room next to the courtyard (and car park) was spotless and spacious, and really comfortable.
The food at dinner was freshly cooked - don't think Brakes Bros call here. Also a good selection of beers on tap and wines to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snufflehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times over the years whilst shooting in the area. It is very comfortable, welcoming and excellent value. The food is excellent and the staff and service are very friendly. I highly recommend it, and it is dog friendly too !

Room Tip: Choose the courtyard rooms. They are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moffat
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#4 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Queensberry House
Queensberry House
#1 of 23 in Moffat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annandale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annandale Arms Hotel

Property: Annandale Arms Hotel
Address: High Street | Dumfries and Galloway, Moffat DG10 9HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Annandale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the M74/M6 motorway the historic Annandale Arms Hotel has stood proudly in the centre of Moffat for 250 years. With its award winning restaurant complemented by the most comprehensive wine list in the area, you have a cracking combination. The modern stylish en-suite bedrooms are very comfortable and quiet, the bar has over fifty malt whiskies and serves local real ale. The hotel has a large private car park for the exclusive use of guests. If you are just visiting or are on business there is no question, the Annandale is THE place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Annandale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annandale Arms Moffat
Annandale Arms Hotel Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing