We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Annandale Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't fault it”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Husband and I stayed here as a stop over on our way to Skye. Wished we had booked more nights here as the hotel was excellent and Moffat is a very pretty market town with the promise of some lovely walks along the river and over the surrounding hills. We booked in to a very comfortable double room which we couldn't fault. Attention to many details which even the best hotels can overlook (like hooks on bathroom door). Staff very welcoming and offered to carry bags. After a walk along the river we returned for an excellent evening meal in the restaurant. Breakfast was a highlight. Husband says the mark of a good kitchen is whether or not they can poach an egg. His were perfect!
We stay in lots of nice hotels and its rare that we can't find some detail that's been overlooked. We were so impressed with this little gem that it prompted me to sign up and write a tripadvisor review for the first time. We will definitely be back and for a longer stay next time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    100
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
51
186
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Used the Annandale Arms for one night whilst walking the last two legs of The Annandale Way. Booked thorough The Cumberland News voucher scheme and got 50% discount over normal B&B rates, but were also booked in for Dinner as well. Found all the staff very friendly, rooms clean, bed comfortable and food great. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The "garden" room we were given smelt very damp and fusty. It was also dark and not very clean. The bed was sagging. To get from the room into the hotel involved going through a dirty back entrance and up grimy stairs.
Staff do their best but lack training and management.
The quality of food in the dining room is good.

Room Tip: They do have some much better rooms in the hotel itself. Avoid the garden rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in Moffat last week for three nights (but not at this hotel) but had our evening meals there. The first night, although we order4ed two courses and a bottle of wine we we in the bar . A restaurant table was not offered.We ordered the "special" for our main course which was beef stroganoff. It consisted of very small pisces of tough minute steak and we sent it back. We were subsequently advised that "this is the way we prepare it" Instead ,we had the steak pie withe puff pastry lid which was superb. No fat at all on the very tender meat. When I asked for a wine list, the prices were just ridiculous and noticed that there were no house wines on it. I rthen asked if they had house wines and low and behold, there were several all very reasonably priced at around £15 a bottle. So why are these not advertised. The same goes for menus. For the next two nights, we did get a table in the very nice restaurant but by accident, my wife got a different menu fro me. It turned out that there are three menus, one for the bar , one for the restaurant visiters and one for residents. The latter being so much better. We feel that there is a definite ploy to give customers as little infor mation as possible. We also agree that with other comments by clients on trip advisor that quite a lot of the prices are far too high . Our bill each night for a two course meal and a bottle of wine ws around £45. However, Moffat is a very expensive place both to stay and to eat. It is no coincidence that when a comparison is made of bar menus at all the hotels there they are the same .ie the steak pie is always £9.95p What Moffat needs is a premier inn to give some much needed competition and there is a site available in what was once a Mercury hotel. Moffat is a nice place but you need to be aware of the prices charged.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holiday116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Spent an overnight in the hotel. Welcome was ok and when taken to our room it was a hike around the hotel to get to the room, no offer to carry bags. Room reasonable and when we returned from having a meal elsewhere we climbed into a bed that would be best described as a marshmallow. Wife and I spent a sleepless night feeling more tired than when we retired to bed.
TV worked, then did not work, then worked - you get the idea. It was also on the window sill which meant that if you closed the curtains then the TV was hidden behind them. WiFi you have to log on downstairs then it will work when you get to the room. Soap dish in the shower came loose and tried to put it back same result. When I informed the staff they told me that they knew. Just as well I did not worry that I had caused this to happen. Finally when having breakfast within the appointed times the tuneful sound of a hoover in the hall accompanied our breakfast chat.
Positive note to finish, the breakfast was great, the waitress attentive and pleasant but all in all not value for the money. Won't hurry back.

Room Tip: Ask for one within a mile of reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The management was very helpful in moving us to a garden room as the amount of stairs to our original room were just too many for me to manage following some recent surgery. However, the room was very small and areas like inside the wardrobe were not very clean. The food in the hotel is expensive for what you get and the quality not good with a concentration on presentation rather than taste. over £8.00 for 4 small scallops as a starter seems over the top. We don't mind paying the £90 plus for two for a meal when it is worth eating but the so called loin of lamb was a small collection of scrappy pieces, the sort I was usually give to the dog. There was more plate than food and at over £18.00 a portion for the main dish this felt like a rip off. The hotel is fine for B&B for an overnight stay but I couldn't recommend it for a longer stay. We were booked in for 9 nights but left after 2. The breakfast is fine.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlecat_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a lovely meal and a very enjoyable overnight stay in a very nice double room.
Recommend the Poachers pie and the steak pie, all served with veg,The breakfast was excellent and kedgeree wonderful.
Staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
All in all a place I would return to - perhaps for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPnAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moffat
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#4 of 4 in Moffat
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
13.8 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annandale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annandale Arms Hotel

Property: Annandale Arms Hotel
Address: High Street | Dumfries and Galloway, Moffat DG10 9HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Annandale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the M74/M6 motorway the historic Annandale Arms Hotel has stood proudly in the centre of Moffat for 250 years. With its award winning restaurant complemented by the most comprehensive wine list in the area, you have a cracking combination. The modern stylish en-suite bedrooms are very comfortable and quiet, the bar has over fifty malt whiskies and serves local real ale. The hotel has a large private car park for the exclusive use of guests. If you are just visiting or are on business there is no question, the Annandale is THE place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Annandale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annandale Arms Moffat
Annandale Arms Hotel Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing