We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hogmanay break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annandale Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Annandale Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Certificate of Excellence
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“hogmanay break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

we have just returned home from a wee hogmanay break at the annandale arms and i can honestly say it was excellent, we travelled with the family and three dogs, the rooms were ideal. the food second to none and the staff were very friendly, i would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, the family all had a good time and the dogs loved the walks, if your looking for a dog friendly hotel, this is the place to go without exception

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merin05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    95
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
50
178
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

I have stayed at the Annandale on many occasions, the last being October this year and due to the fact that I spend at least 6 months a year in Hotels Nationally as a business guest, I class myself as a fair judge of hotel accommodation.
The Annandale has it all, fantastic Staff who will go "that extra mile". (Thanks go to Elaine especially). It is exceptionally clean, modern and with very, very comfortable rooms (don’t be put off by the fact this hotel is dog friendly as they are allocated in suitable ground floor rooms in the "stables"). I have stayed in almost all of the other hotels in Moffat (from the Best Western to the Star) and this one beats the rest hands down on price, standards, food and hospitality and above all friendliness (thanks Alison & Margaret for helping me put a few extra pounds on!!). A "sanctuary" is what you need after a tiring day either working or just enjoying yourself and the Annandale provides that. I have no hesitation in recommending it whole heartedly. It is a credit to the hard work and foresight of Colin and Margaret - hope to see you all soon. (Hello to Sam he must have come back from the States by now, hopefully he found some ambition over there!!), I would love to be able to spend Christmas and the New Year there but commitments prevent me – but see you all shortly though!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are spotless, comfortable and quiet. Ask for extra wardrobe space if you are taking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bill_younger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed two nights. Room very comfortable though I would agree that more drawer space would be helpful especially if,like us, you had lots of walking stuff with you. Food was excellent - how refreshing to find that neither the cheese platter in the 'dessert' menu nor the coffee was charged extra - and we found the service very helpful. Good sized bathroom and excellent shower. Our room overlooked the carpark and was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Used the hotel as an overnight stop on our way home from Wales to N E Scotland. Thought the room at £110 B&B was overpriced for what it was - bare walls and an iron scorch mark on the carpet. There was no atmosphere in the restaurant and bar so went elsewhere to eat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed on a short visit lovely hotel vert friendly staff lovely clean room with everything you could need. Good breakfast black, pudding was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatsappenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We have just stayed here with our 4 dogs and find it just a fantastic hote the rooms are very clean and the staff really friendly and helpful . the food is just first class and very tasty! We will definatly come again!
Keep up the good work Margret,Simon & Staff!
cheers
The Cunliffes from Wigan

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We have now stayed here several times 'en route' to northern Scotland and cannot recommend it more highly. If you have a dog with you, there are rooms overlooking the carpark, which are described as dog friendly, otherwise you can have rooms in the main part of the hotel. All the rooms are very comfortable and they do an excellent dinner bed and breakfast rate. We had a delicious dinner on each visit, though the portions were slightly too much for the female members of the party, if they wanted to include the puddings! The breakfast the next morning was equally good. A really good find.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dicky-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moffat
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#4 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Queensberry House
Queensberry House
#1 of 23 in Moffat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annandale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annandale Arms Hotel

Property: Annandale Arms Hotel
Address: High Street | Dumfries and Galloway, Moffat DG10 9HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Annandale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the M74/M6 motorway the historic Annandale Arms Hotel has stood proudly in the centre of Moffat for 250 years. With its award winning restaurant complemented by the most comprehensive wine list in the area, you have a cracking combination. The modern stylish en-suite bedrooms are very comfortable and quiet, the bar has over fifty malt whiskies and serves local real ale. The hotel has a large private car park for the exclusive use of guests. If you are just visiting or are on business there is no question, the Annandale is THE place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Annandale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annandale Arms Moffat
Annandale Arms Hotel Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing