We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, middle of the road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Shropshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable, middle of the road”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Looked great from the outside and was comfortable.

The interior was a little dated although it was clean. The room smelt slightly of damp but not offensively so. It did have nice bedding and a flat screen tv... I wasn't impressed with the food as it was mostly bought in, and the lounge looked a little 'holiday park'. However the staff were friendly and professional, it did the job and Moffat is a nice place. I have stayed in nicer hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ads1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulLawson, Owner at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank-you very much for your feedback following your recent visit.
We apologise that our lounge was not to your taste but are pleased that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay.
I can assure you that our full menu is invented and prepared freshly in our kitchen by our team of talented chefs who source local ingredients to do so, a fact that we are very proud to state on the cover of our menus.
Hopefully we will be able to serve you again in the future and your comments have been taken on board as we strive to improve and maintain the high standards we have set.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    193
    92
    31
    19
See reviews for
128
329
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

Having enjoyed two former stays in the nicer part of this hotel we returned with parents for a special occcassion and cosy winter break. Sadly this time we were accommodated in the annexe building where there was no heating or hot water.We were told by reception that someone would repair the problem while we had dinner. This didn't happen and hot air blowers wre provided. With two of our party Asthmatic these heaters were simply dangerous and we checked out the next morning.day one of a planned four day stay.I note with sadness that this problem had been highlighted on Tripadvisor before our stay and has also been a problem for traveller since our stay.The hotel has clearly not righted this problem.They cannot expect customers to stay in rooms without heating in the winter months. If you are lucky enough to get rooms up the grand main stairway they are lovely and your walk down the stairway into the bar area with log fire is romantic, but avoid the annexe building as your experience will not be the same.The reviews reflect these differences.After our first stay in room three in the main building we gave 5 star ratings.After our last visit we wouldnot stay at this hotel again.We love Moffat and tend to visit every year for a short break but now use one of the other hotels on the High Street.It is a great shame that this hotel offers two completely different experiences at opposite ends of the scale. Becareful and ask questions about the rooms you will be offered and their location in the hotel.Don't be fooled with the exlplanation about price differences just ask the location of the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandRDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulLawson, Owner at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2010
As the manager of the hotel I rarely respond to reviews as I believe Trip Advisor is a fair forum to gain true opinions. In this case though I have to respond as an accusation in the review is completely false and paints a very unfair picture of the hotel.
These guests did encounter an unfortunate and unexpected problem when they stayed (over 10 months prior to writing their review) as a heating boiler broke down (not heating AND hot water as review states) This only affected a small area of the hotel. We managed to ensure the rooms were warm that night by using convector heaters. An emergency engineer got the boiler up and running again the next day..
The guests decided to check out 3 days early (they said they were going home but in fact moved across the road to another local hotel) and we made an agreement to defer from hotel policy and no cancellation charges would be incurred. We offered our sincere apologies for the mishap and they acknowledged that we had done everything in our power to help. Before they checked out I had already taken steps to get expert advice about resolving the issue permanently and within a matter of weeks a whole new heating system was installed in the wing (at great expense) So the problem no longer exists.FACT All of our reviews speak for themselves and I would urge every reader to try to find these mysterious reviews that complain about heating problems that the reviewer is claiming to have read since they stayed?
The following quote from their review is not true - "The hotel has clearly not righted this problem.They cannot expect customers to stay in rooms without heating in the winter months" I have been forced to speak out to defend the hotel as a last resort as it is not common practice for us to discredit a trip advisor reviewer unless it is totally justified as it is in this case.
Please be assured the issues from the review do not exist and it is extremely frustrating to be at the receiving end of such false allegations.
We will endeavour to keep up the good work and maintain our high standards and invite this reviewer to reconsider their accusations bearing in mind the harm they might unfairly cause..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

After having read all the excellent reviews on this hotel we were expecting something really special but sadly we were disappointed. We booked a two night stay in a Queen bedroom on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate. As this type of room was the most expensive in the hotel we expected something a bit special. However, having seen the photos on the hotel website of the various rooms available I think we would have been better booking a standard double room for a lot less money. The room was shabby. Granted, the bed was a four poster but it had seen better days with a dark dusty old canopy, curtains and bedspread. However, the bed linen was clean. The windows were in need of a good clean inside and out. The bathroom was not good. It was small and the fixtures and fittings were poor. The toilet was not clean, partly due to its age. The grouting of the tiles round the bath looked like it had been done by a five year old. It certainly wasn't the type of bathroom you would expect in one of the dearest rooms in the hotel.
On a good note the food was excellent. However, the menu in the restaurant was limited. Choice of three starters, four mains (one of which was a veggie) three sweets or cheese. This would have been ok if the menu was changed daily however we were on a two night stay and the menu was the same for both nights. Therefore, unless you liked everything on offer on the menu you could end up having the same evening meal both nights. We were told that we could choose something on the bar menu if we liked. However, as we were paying £70 per night extra for dinner we were expecting a restaurant meal and not bar food.
The staff on the whole were pleasant and friendly, especially the young girl behind the bar in the evening.
On receiving the bill at checkout, we had been overcharged by £43.00. The person dealing with this could not provide any explanation for this even though he had a list of receipts attached to our invoice (obviously not ours). He was not very apologetic.
Unfortunately I would probably not recommend this Hotel which is a shame because the food is good and the hotel is in a lovely spot. It certainly was not worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

This hotel is so elegantly decorated throughout, clean and fresh with lovely pieces of furniture. The staff are friendly and helpful. The chef is so obviously trained and loves what he/she does. The food looks delicious and certainly tasted scrumptious! The surroundings are idillic, perfect for a getaway, or for business. We left relaxed and refreshed. You could not ask for more.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moiruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

I arranged a meal for 16 to celebrate my mum's 70th birthday. I was impressed with Michal's very helpful email communication while I was arranging the booking and menu. Upon arrival I was delighted to see the care which had been taken in laying and decorating the table. The 'Sun Room' opened out to a lovely garden, much to the delight of the children...and their parents. The staff including Michal and Carol couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The food was great. Thanks to the comfortable accomodation, relaxed atmosphere and the garden we enjoyed our family get together till very late. Many thanks to the staff for helping to make the evening a memorable birthday celebration.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0veNewY0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

What a beautiful hotel! It's kept all the charm of an old building, but with the comforts available today. Beautiful setting in the village of Moffat and close to lots of walks. The staff were just so nice- they couldn't have been more helpful. This has the intimacy of a family run hotel and everyone just wanted to make sure you enjoyed your stay. We felt special, and that doesn't happen very often!! Thanks to all xx

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weequeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

I've never bothered writing a review for a hotel before, although I usually try to read others thoughts before booking. I felt I had to review this fabulous hotel in order that others might enjoy the experience we had. Whilst visiting Scotland we stayed at a number of places on our two week trip, but I was delighted when we stumbled into this quaint, story book village and found this little gem of a hotel. We were greeted immediately by helpful smiling staff who made us feel instantly at home. The rooms were spacious clean and charmingly decorated and since we arrived at lunch time we thought we'd try out the hotels restaurant and lunch menu. The food was so good we ate there for the next two days! There was a wedding on the next day and my daughter has said she wants to get married there also, everything looked just perfect. I can't recommend this hotel enough, if you find yourself in the borders of Scotland, it's a must!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pisuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moffat
0.1 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#4 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
14.2 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
Address: High Street, Moffat DG10 9HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel is an elegant mansion transformed into a stylish and comfortable retreat for family and friends, set ​in the charming Victorian spa town of Moffat. Built for The Earl of Hopetoun in the 1750s, it has been carefully maintained and modernised to retain all of it's elegance. Proprietors The Lawson family, along with their friendly staff, offer you a very warm welcome. Only 45 minutes from Glasgow, over 1 hour from Edinburgh and 15 minutes' drive from historic Gretna, The Moffat House Hotel is the ideal retreat to help you make the most of your time in the area. Set within private grounds, this stunning Victorian style hotel combines traditional elegance, comfort and a warm welcome. Keep connected from the comfort of your guest room with WiFi. Your room uniquely reflects the character of this traditional building without compromising on modern amenities. Check in to a Deluxe Four Poster guestroom and enjoy extra space, and beautiful views of the Scottish countryside. You can expect a heartfelt welcome, superb facilities. We have beautiful rooms equipped with everything you need for a relaxing break, so make our hotel your home and relax, have fun with or without the kids and enjoy very special grown-up time for yourselves. We are sure it will be a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Moffat Hotel
Moffat Best Western
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing