We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sleep” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    186
    92
    31
    19
See reviews for
126
325
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked 2 rooms on the run as we traveled towards Moffat, so were very pleased to arrive at Moffat House Hotel and be offered the separate apartment. Perfect for 2 couples traveling together.
The staff were great. The breakfast was great. The town, although not on our radar, was very interesting.
The breakfast room overlooking the garden was lovely.
Definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I booked the stay for Sunday night 2 days in advance. Excellent service form start to finish, the kitchen stayed open late to accomodate our late arrival, our check out time was extended by two hours on request, room was good, staff were very pleasant. If I am staying in the area again I will definately book. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Arrived at this beautiful hotel in Moffat staying for two days after a DISSAPOINTING STAY AT THE TRAVEL LODGE BLACKPOOL. Its so beautiful and the surroundings all over, car parking at the hotel no problem. At reception we were checked in by Paul very pleasant and helpful and welcoming. We had a family room for my daughter, husband and myself, the room was beautiful cosy with all mod cons, big plasma on wall very clean, just a lovely big room good attention to detail and a nice large bathroom. All the staff warm,friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent as we dined in the bar restaurant and breakfast was amazing so much choice and again staff so so nice. Lovely place to stay and the location so good as we took a trip to Dumfries
good location and a big thank you to all the staff and Michal for a lovely stay as this was a special break for my family. Looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: we had the recent family refurbished room on the left hand coming into the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Nothing is perfect, but this hotel is close to perfect. Very friendly helpful staff starting from the reception of Michael and always smiling Celina in restaurant. Very clean, quite, food depends on the judgment of taste so it is difficult to assess, but for me very good. Great garden with very old oak tree, supposedly 260 years, has a lot of note. I have spent one night in a trip around Scotland but collapsed in memory, that is, the value to recommend this place. Thanks everybody, shortly excellent.

Room Tip: Ask Michael the best choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slawek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have been using Moffat as a base for motorcycling weekends for some years now and when available always stay in this hotel. The location is perfect in the centre of the town, the staff warm and welcoming and the food excellent. Certainly the décor is a little dated but for us this is all part of the charm of the place. The rooms we have stayed in have always been clean and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect. We always look forward to a relaxing evening here after a day out on the bike.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Brks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I had a chance to spent some time in this hotel while visiting Edinburgh this August.
I wouldn't say a bad word about the staff, everyone was always willing to help with whatever problem we had, always cheerful and smiling. Rooms were in a very good condition. If anyone is going to Edinburgh to sightseeing and would treat the hotel just as a place to sleep and eat something in the morning/everning, I suggest you pick this place.
The location is wonderful. Not very far from the city centre but you can easily find a quite place to relax. Edinburgh itself in an out of this world, and one should take time to really feel the city so I'd recommend spending there a few days at least.
Well, to sum up, Moffat House Hotel is a good choice for anyone looking for a good service, nice atmosphere and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moffat
0.1 mi away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#4 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
14.2 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
14.9 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
Address: High Street, Moffat DG10 9HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel is an elegant mansion transformed into a stylish and comfortable retreat for family and friends, set ​in the charming Victorian spa town of Moffat. Built for The Earl of Hopetoun in the 1750s, it has been carefully maintained and modernised to retain all of it's elegance. Proprietors The Lawson family, along with their friendly staff, offer you a very warm welcome. Only 45 minutes from Glasgow, over 1 hour from Edinburgh and 15 minutes' drive from historic Gretna, The Moffat House Hotel is the ideal retreat to help you make the most of your time in the area. Set within private grounds, this stunning Victorian style hotel combines traditional elegance, comfort and a warm welcome. Keep connected from the comfort of your guest room with WiFi. Your room uniquely reflects the character of this traditional building without compromising on modern amenities. Check in to a Deluxe Four Poster guestroom and enjoy extra space, and beautiful views of the Scottish countryside. You can expect a heartfelt welcome, superb facilities. We have beautiful rooms equipped with everything you need for a relaxing break, so make our hotel your home and relax, have fun with or without the kids and enjoy very special grown-up time for yourselves. We are sure it will be a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Moffat Hotel
Moffat Best Western
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing