We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B I have ever stayed in. Vegetarians will love breakfast here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
No 29 Well Street B & B
Ranked #3 of 24 Moffat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The owners are friendly and welcoming and will offer their help rather than wait to be asked - they anticipated everything we needed during our stay, for example they helped us find where to eat and made sure we would get in (the local Italian, Claudio's, has several nice vegetarian choices.) Nothing is too much trouble and you will be well looked after. After a long drive on a cold misty night it was bliss to be told that the heating was already on in our room and to be greeted by having a hot drink made for us which came with lovely cake. Our room had kettle, coffee, range of teas, hot chocolate, biscuits, mint chocolates and fresh milk kept cool in a thermos (instead of nasty UHT milk). Room and bathroom are tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean with information folder and local magazines provided. Our room had a window onto the street but it's a quiet side street so there was no noise. A short walk to the end of the street and you are right in town, there's even a nice deli opposite the B&B where you can find picnic things. Breakfast was delicious, the scrambled egg was fluffy and lovely and vegetarians can have veggie sausages as well as the usual options so they won't miss out on a full cooked breakfast.

Honestly can't find anything I could fault at this B&B, I've stayed in much more expensive places that aren't a patch on this, they should teach other owners how it's done!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asgardclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was a great find, very friendly and welcoming, beautifully decorated and great value. I would happily recommend it to friends and family and would stay there again if in the same area. It's conveniently located and the owners are very helpful with local knowledge. Breakfast was a treat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We travel a lot and this is the best B and B we have been in. Brad and Ron make you feel very welcome with a cup of tea and a cake (delicious). The little touches are great, a flask with milk rather than the silly wee sachets. A mug instead of a wee cup. Read their information on Moffat its a great read and very informative. Their home is immaculate and very welcoming. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Brad & Ron have obviously worked exceptionally hard to get their B&B to the high standard it's at, yet they make everything seem so effortless & nothing is too much trouble. From the moment you walk in & are greeted by an offer to carry your bags, a tea/coffee & a cake, to advising you on the weather or trips out, these guys make you feel as if you're living in part of a home as opposed to a business. The place is spotless, the breakfasts are more than generous & excellently cooked and the decor is tasteful & well thought out. The location's great - Well Street has some excellent shops, including a great deli, Lothlorien Emporium (which has has the jaw-dropping Toy Museum upstairs), a brilliant 'hippy dippy' clothes shop & a book shop, all right off the village centre. For all that, it's very quiet at night & sleep comes easy. Thoroughly recommended as either a stop-off on the way further north or (better still) a relaxing & reliable base for exploring the beautiful surrounding area, 29 Well Street can't be praised highly enough & we're so grateful to Brad & Ron/Ron & Brad for making our stay so enjoyable. We'll definitely be back; by then, it will deserve to have 5 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UncleStooshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place more than deserves the 4 star rating it currently possesses. It is stylishly decorated and furnished throughout, exceptionally clean and the extra touches such as the restocked choccies, the fresh milk provided every day in our room in a handy flask and numerous other details all help to make this place a little gem. However the most important aspect of the whole experience is despite having the look of a small boutique hotel this genuinely feels like a home, which it is and one in which you are made to feel extremely welcome. Brad and Ron are supremely relaxed, chatty and witty hosts. Would happily move in and have them look after me for eternity...Cheryl K

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Decided to treat ourselves on our last few nights away and opted to saty in Moffat and were so glad that we did and that it was No 29 Well Street. The Cottage has been very tastefully renovated to a high standard by the current owners which is a credit to them. All rooms are stunning and exceptionally clean as is the whole property. We were provided with first class hospitality and also 'pet-friendly' which means so much. The breakfast provided was truly divine and presentation was excellent better than some of your (Top Rated Hotels).
Anybody that is looking for a truly outstanding B&B when visiting Moffat then I would highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoweOTheMearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great place to stop in Moffatt. Very clean and organised.Ron and Brad are brilliant hosts and have added lots of thoughtful bits to make your stay pleasant. Superb breakfast. Pet friendly. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogie_roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moffat hotels
0.1 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#3 of 4 in Moffat
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queensberry House
Queensberry House
#1 of 24 in Moffat
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seamore House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 29 Well Street B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 29 Well Street B & B

Address: 29 Well Street, Moffat DG10 9DP, Scotland (Formerly Moffat Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range: $74 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — No 29 Well Street B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your No 29 Well Street B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No 29 Well Street B & B Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing