We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Italian restaurant in a lovely old building”

Claudios Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Moffat
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family run Italian Restaurant Established in 1996.Serving freshly prepared pastas, pizzas, steaks as well as a seasonal menu.Daily two course Happy hour menu available for £10.95 15% off all carryouts Now serving lunches daily from 12pm-2.30pm
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great little Italian restaurant in a lovely old building”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our second trip to Scotland in two years, overnighting in Moffat, which is a really pleasant small town just 5 minutes from the A74. Given that we ate in Claudio's last time around and had a lovely meal, we saw no reason to change and we were not disappointed. The restaurant is in the old police station, a beautiful stone building complete with features (cell doors!) and an airy conservatory. The service was warm and welcoming, and we were glad we booked given that it was surprisingly full for a mid-week evening (Thursday). I've no hesitation in recommending the restaurant to anyone vsiting Moffat - it's a short 5-minute walk off the main street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    74
    26
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Picked the best”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed the night in town and while wandering around looking for evening meal,we fortunately came across Claudios. To be honest it was desperation time as nothing else had appealed. Went in with no reservation,but was warmly welcomed even though it was fairly busy.
Never had a problem before with Italian food,after all its pretty hard to mess up ?, so was confident we had choosen well. But this was several notches up and far from average .Starter was squid in polenta....very very good. Pizza and Chicken main....simple but done very well again.Added to great service and interesting furniture(does the local forrest provide the wood??),it was a very nice night.
Its a bit out the way from Edinburgh,but now I know its there,I will try and return,as it certainly passed my test.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave_cumming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powfoot, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A bad Meal”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were told by friends this was a fantastic place to eat my meal was excellent but my husbands was awful the Sirloin steak he ordered was chewy and full of sinew he did complain however he was told the person at the table opposite who had just left had the same steak with no complaints we asked if we could have it changed for a fillet steak they said they had changed it for fillet it didn't look or taste like fillet my husband couldn't eat that one either so we wrapped it up and took it home for the dog it was a bad experience we won't be repeating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a thursday night and it was packed glad we had booked. The food was really good my king prawn starter was excellent and the duck that my husband had was really good. We will be back the next time we are in Moffat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 186534Shazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Another brilliant meal”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We go to Moffat fairly often and love to visit this restaurant.
The food is fantastic and he service is excellent. My wife is allergic to all dairy products and we are both vegetarian and this was no problem for the staff who made sure both our meals were perfect.
If you are in the area I'd recommend booking here as iti s a busy first calls restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John4703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claudios Restaurant also viewed

Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Claudios Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing