We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ten out of ten. We will certainly return....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claudios Restaurant

Claudios Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Moffat
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family run Italian Restaurant Established in 1996.Serving freshly prepared pastas, pizzas, steaks as well as a seasonal menu.Daily two course Happy hour menu available for £10.95 15% off all carryouts Now serving lunches daily from 12pm-2.30pm
Bathgate
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ten out of ten. We will certainly return....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent welcome, child friendly,

We turned up on easter sunday night with no reservation and wee squeezed in and made very welcome. Child friendly environment and menu. Excellent food, Not cheap, but absolutely spot on!!!

We will certainly be back the next time we are in Moffat.

Adult & 2 children visiting early April

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beni-Jock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    66
    24
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Easter Sunday. They were fairly busy and kindly accommodated us in the second part of the restaurant. Unfortunately once there we were forgotten about several times throughout service. The food was a little disappointing - the Parmesan baskets were overpowered by the smoked chicken and the 'Homemade' Caesar dressing was almost non existent and couldn't be tasted over the chicken (there was no check back). The main course portions were completely different the pesto pasta was under portioned and was lacking texture infact it looked like spaghetti with pesto mixed into it and that's it!. The bolognese was bland and underseasoned although the portion size was better (there was no check back). The service was scatty and disorganised. We had to ask for bread although being told it was coming and then told it was extra if we wanted some. We had to ask for the bill three times. The worst part of the meal was the charge for two lattes and a jug of soda water (£8.60)?!? It took about two hours to serve two courses plus coffee.

The toilets were circa 1980's.

The plus point was the decor and the two old cell doors around the back (it's an old police station) although to describe it as Italian was a little bit criminal...

I know business is tough right now and they did try to be nice but sadly we felt a bit scunnered by the whole experience.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotlands_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moffat, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Claudio's Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good ambience, attractive environment and good service. Well supervised by the owner, little escapes his attention. Food is well cooked and the menu is well varied for most tastes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pisces2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“AHHH Claudio’s wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the second visit to Claudio’s and again the food was great and the staff friendly and polite. We had starters of Garlic mushrooms, main courses Lasagne and Calzone with side salad.
Great place to eat as a couple, family or large group, good atmosphere. If you do visit in the winter it might be advisable to have a wrap or jumper as it can be fresh in the extension although they do have small heaters.
Would recommend really great place
wgmac

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant - Coeliac's heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We actually live locally and feel very strongly that everyone should know that Claudio's is a great restaurant, warm, friendly atmosphere with a wonderful menu and exceptional wines, we specially enjoy the organic red. When we have been really busy at work the take away service and menu is excellent. It is a joy to receive a truly warm welcome, a lot of people in the hospitality industry would benefit from making a visit and learning.
I follow a strict Gluten Free diet and the staff at Claudio's accommodate this without any problems' Coeliac customers are well catered for without any fuss and complete understanding. The surrounding are very interesting especially the magnificent natural wood tables and chairs in the main restuarant.... Claudio's is a gem.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claudios Restaurant also viewed

Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Claudios Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing