We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently delicious!”

Claudios Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Moffat
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family run Italian Restaurant Established in 1996.Serving freshly prepared pastas, pizzas, steaks as well as a seasonal menu.Daily two course Happy hour menu available for £10.95 15% off all carryouts Now serving lunches daily from 12pm-2.30pm
Moffat, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I have had the pleasure of dining at Claudio's on numerous occasions since moving to Moffat 15 years ago. The food is consistently delicious and the service friendly and attentive. Davide, as front of house, is superb; always welcoming and charming and they way that he describes the special dishes on the menu really makes your mouth water. The produce is sourced locally where possible and the bread baked freshly on the premises. Nothing is too much trouble.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    66
    25
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We have been dining at Claudio's for many years now and it simply just gets better and better. The staff are always friendly, but proffesional, the food is to die for and you are always treated to a personal greeting from Davide, the owner.We would always suggest to anyone visiting Moffat that there is nowhere else to match this restaurant but be sure to book well in advance. The menu has been changed recently and now offers seasonal fayre which is always of the best quality and locally sourced if possible. A visit is like going on a short trip to Italy.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blairdrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great little Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We recently stopped over in Moffat on our way to Skye, and rather than eat in the hotel, I took a look through TripAdvisor to see what other eateries were available in Moffat. This one scored really highly, so we booked by phone 45 mins from Moffat and then walked to the restaurant from our hotel. You do however need to make sure that you know where you are going before setting off, as you won't pass it by walking up and down the main street - it's on a side road, though only 5 mins walk away. The food was excellent - the antipasto was much more adventurous than the run-of-the-mill, parma ham, sun-dried tomato and mozzarella offerings one usually sees, and the pizzas were top-drawer. The restaurant is in the old police station, which has plenty of character, including heavy prison cell doors on the way to the toilets! You can either eat in the main building or in a very pleasant conservatory built onto the side. Service, ambience and decor were all first class.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolutely delicious dining experience, beautiful restaurant and lovely staff!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

After hearing so many wonderful things about this local (20mile away) restaurant, we decided to give it a try. What an absolute delight from start to finish!!!!

I have read a review on here which mentions something about a dingy room and uncomfortable seating, this is NOT the case!!!! This is a BEAUTIFUL and very rustic restaurant with amazing wooden furniture that is nothing short of a feature!!!

The staff were very friendly, polite and ever so helpful, the food was AMAZING, and I struggled with my choice as everything sounded mouthwateringly good!! The menu is seasonal thus ensuring high quality food which is all fresh and cooked to order.

I have booked for a special family event at the end of the month and i am very much looking forward to it already, I will most definately become a regular of this wonderfully delicious restaurant and I cant praise the staff/food/ambience/management enough!!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank moomoo2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“heard rave reviews , but was sadly disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

the seating was uncomfortable , the food was reasonable but not as great as we were led to believe. the service was average, im afraid we won't be returning.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jools064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claudios Restaurant also viewed

Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Claudios Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing