We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Limetree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Limetree House
Ranked #13 of 24 Moffat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night while attending a wedding in Moffat. Arrived late but the room was clean, warm and in a good accessible location. Didn't have breakfast but the dining room looked nice. Highly recommend if you're passing through Moffat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicR1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 99 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recently stayed here for three nights whilst motorcycle touring with a group of six friends. . . Rooms, breakfast and service were all of a high standard, and owners Katherine and Derek were very friendly and helpful. . . Even did us a reduced rate for the group booking. . . Highly recommended and excellent value. No complaints whatsoever !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeofftheChef37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice rooms, comfy beds and a feast at breakfast and they have a garage to park the bike in overnight.

Location wise, they're in the middle of Moffat which in itself is just off the M74, so dead handy all in all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

A great B&B located in town. Very clean and excellent value. Breakfast was fit for a king and we really enjoyed our stay. Even had a garage for us to park our bikes over night. Highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in Moffat.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nidderdoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here overnight and everything was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast menu included everything that anyone would want. The room had all the amenities that you would expect from a 4 star property. Very handy for walking round Moffat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fergusonWesthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Although it is just over a year since I stayed here, having mistakenly thought I'd written a review, I feel obliged to comment on what a great place this is. I was heading for the Shetland Isles from Bath to celebrate my 60th and this B&B offered the ideal break in a long journey and I booked it in advance. The trip was a nightmare - rain all the way from Bath to Birmingham and then fierce crosswinds over the border into Scotland. I was exhausted when I arrived, but Derek kindly took my wet biker gear and dried it overnight. There was security parking for my bike. Nothing was too much trouble and my room was very comfortable. Unusually, Derek and Katherine invite your order for breakfast the previous night, a system that works very well.

Breakfast was of a very high calibre and most enjoyable. As I packed my bike to leave, Derek and Katherine came out to wave me off and obligingly took a photograph of me that became my Facebook ID photo. A week later, returning from the Shetlands, I phoned ahead and was granted a lovely double room at the same price. The next morning, I shared breakfast with 4 other bikers who were obviously equally impressed by the quality, cleanliness and hospitality which the owners clearly take a pride in offering their guests.

I can heartily recommend this guest house, having stayed in many around the UK.

Room Tip: The first time, my room didn't have much of a view, but this was not an issue, as I was tired...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaraderoBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I've stayed here on 3 separate occasions now, and always been very impressed with the welcome, the accommodation, and the breakfast. Even though it's a beautiful old house, the amenities are very modern and comfortable. Lovely lounge too, which is a bonus in a B&B. And Moffat is a charming town - really thriving feel to it. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank SahaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moffat
0.1 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
253 reviews
8.0 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
0.1 mi away
No 29 Well Street B & B
0.3 mi away
Queensberry House
Queensberry House
#1 of 24 in Moffat
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limetree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limetree House

Address: Limetree House Eastgate | Eastgate, Moffat DG10 9AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range: $68 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Limetree House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Limetree House offers upmarket accommodation in a secluded street close to Moffat's bustling High Street. We have 6 rooms, 3 doubles, 2 twins, and a family suite of 2 rooms(1 double and 1 twin) with a shared ensuite shower room. All our rooms are ensuite with walk-in showers. Our ground floor room is suitable for guests with limited mobility. Prices are room only with a cooked breakfast available on request. Moffat is 1 hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and 35 minutes from Carlisle and is surrounded by glorious scenery and historical locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Limetree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree House Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing