We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overnight stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Limetree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Limetree House
Ranked #12 of 23 Moffat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“overnight stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here overnight and everything was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast menu included everything that anyone would want. The room had all the amenities that you would expect from a 4 star property. Very handy for walking round Moffat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergusonWesthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    15
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
44
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Although it is just over a year since I stayed here, having mistakenly thought I'd written a review, I feel obliged to comment on what a great place this is. I was heading for the Shetland Isles from Bath to celebrate my 60th and this B&B offered the ideal break in a long journey and I booked it in advance. The trip was a nightmare - rain all the way from Bath to Birmingham and then fierce crosswinds over the border into Scotland. I was exhausted when I arrived, but Derek kindly took my wet biker gear and dried it overnight. There was security parking for my bike. Nothing was too much trouble and my room was very comfortable. Unusually, Derek and Katherine invite your order for breakfast the previous night, a system that works very well.

Breakfast was of a very high calibre and most enjoyable. As I packed my bike to leave, Derek and Katherine came out to wave me off and obligingly took a photograph of me that became my Facebook ID photo. A week later, returning from the Shetlands, I phoned ahead and was granted a lovely double room at the same price. The next morning, I shared breakfast with 4 other bikers who were obviously equally impressed by the quality, cleanliness and hospitality which the owners clearly take a pride in offering their guests.

I can heartily recommend this guest house, having stayed in many around the UK.

Room Tip: The first time, my room didn't have much of a view, but this was not an issue, as I was tired...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaraderoBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I've stayed here on 3 separate occasions now, and always been very impressed with the welcome, the accommodation, and the breakfast. Even though it's a beautiful old house, the amenities are very modern and comfortable. Lovely lounge too, which is a bonus in a B&B. And Moffat is a charming town - really thriving feel to it. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SahaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pleasant locaton 1 street back from the center of Moffat, limeted parking but we had no problems on a holliday weekend.
All you can posibly want for a breakfast, very sensibly priced,
Mortorcyclist friendly we were allowed use of private garage to keep bikes undercover.
Route cards available for some great tours in the aera.
We had the top rooms 2 flights up no problem if you are fit, wwe lost hot tap water for a while around early evening but not for long.
Will we go back, Yes

Room Tip: one room on top floor has a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducker450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Limetree House is situated in a quiet back lane 200m from Moffat centre with shops, services and eateries. There is on-street parking. We stayed one night en route to Skye. We had the 'executive double' - a large very well furnished room with big comfortable double bed. Also a large flat screen TV. A shower room completed our accommodation. We were very comfortable. Mrs Clemmens the host is really very well organised and, as her guest, you will be too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0urDirect0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed just the one night but wish it had been longer. Our Dog was also in tow and we were all made to feel welcome. Our room was a real home from home and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was exceptional, a great choice to suit all tastes. Location is great as well just a few yards from the main high street with plenty of dog friendly places to eat. Would definitely recommend and will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My puppy and I stayed over for one night. Wish I had extended the stay as the room and the service were exceptional. The fire in my room was already lit for my arrival and honestly it would not have been out of place in a 5 star city centre hotel. Breakfast was literally anything I wanted, although apparently Marmite will never get past the front door so it that's your thing better bring your own. The owners are a treat, very knowledgeable and will happily give you hints and tips for what to do and where to go in local area to make your visit perfect. Puppy was also warmely welcomed and they suggested dog friendly local eateries for supper which is a rarity in the city. First class. We both want to go back soon.

Room Tip: just ask. I believe all the rooms are constantly upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moffat hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#4 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.0 mi away
No 29 Well Street B & B
0.2 mi away
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limetree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limetree House

Property: Limetree House
Address: Limetree House Eastgate | Eastgate, Moffat DG10 9AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Limetree House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Limetree House offers upmarket accommodation in a secluded street close to Moffat's bustling High Street. We have 6 rooms, 3 doubles, 2 twins, and a family suite of 2 rooms(1 double and 1 twin) with a shared ensuite shower room. All our rooms are ensuite with walk-in showers. Our ground floor room is suitable for guests with limited mobility. Prices are room only with a cooked breakfast available on request. Moffat is 1 hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and 35 minutes from Carlisle and is surrounded by glorious scenery and historical locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Limetree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree House Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing