We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large comfortable B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchorlee Guest House
Ranked #3 of 14 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
Bli Bli, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Large comfortable B&B”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

OLive so welcoming, we really enjoyed our stay here, we had been on the road for almost a month at this stage, so had plenty of other B&Bs to compare with Anchorlee....the point of difference for us was that Olive always had time to deal with any of our enquiries in a happy friendly manner, you can see she really likes people. The breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twosheas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
49
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Gracious and warm hosts. Olive is a lovely, charming lady! Breakfast was excellent & was just the right amount of food! Olive and Alistair provided a lot of information that made our stay even more enjoyable. Kirkcudbright area is even better than we anticipated.

Room Tip: The front bedroom though it faces the street is a nice, cozy room. The 'back bedroom" with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Do not take any notice of the "Rude" review. We stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely time. The owners were friendly and helpful and went out of there way to make our stay as pleasant as they could. The room was lovely as was the breakfast and we would definitely stay here agai!!

Room Tip: The Garden room was really nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is a very nice Bed and Breakfast central to all activities in Kirkcudbright. Nice couple, nice breakfast. Dog Friendly which is good :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pookaelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2011

meyself daughter and young grandson stayed here they went out of there way to make us welcome and did all they could to help us i have read that rude review and they are totally wrong about these people and i wouldnt stay anywhere else

Room Tip: dont need to look anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Spent 3 nights with my wife on dbb basis. The room was very clean and spacious. The bed very comfortable. Food was outstanding and I don't think you could get better in kirkcudbright . An excellent base to explore Dumfries and Galloway.It is also a short walk into town. Owners Olive and Alistair could not have been more helpful. Good off street parking and beautiful front and back garden. Also had the pleasure of olive and alistairs grandchildren who were staying for the weekend. Friendly dog as well. A guest house not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicmanEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Galloway is a beautiful part of Scotland, and Kirkcudbright is a beautiful part of Galloway.The host at Anchorlee, Alastair and Olive were very friendly and hospitable. The breakfast's were excellent , the rooms were clean and comfortable. We went trout fishing at Moffat,(thanks to the lovely lady in the information centre in Kirkcudbright who phoned around to find a place they hires out rods) and drove to Wigtown to buy books. Kirkcudbright harbour is pretty and is a great place to rest or explore although the tide seemed to be out all the time. I hope to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.9 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
422 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#1 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
79 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorlee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorlee Guest House

Property: Anchorlee Guest House
Address: 95 St. Mary Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4EL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorlee guesthouse in Kirkcudbright where warm friendly local hospitality awaits you in this elegant 19th century Victorian townhouse situated close to the centre of the charming harbour town of Kirkcudbright. Here at Anchorlee guesthouse Olive and Alastair want you to have a superb bed and breakfast experience and value for money by providing: clean spacious rooms, comfortable kingsize beds, excellent showers delicious breakfasts free WiFi internet fridge for use by guests private car parking early breakfasts can be arranged packed lunches can also be provided Why choose Anchorlee Here at Anchorlee Guesthouse in Kirkcudbright We have taken great care to prepare comfortable rooms for you to relax in and enjoy your stay. Breakfast at Anchorlee is freshly prepared from the finest locally sourced ingredients and you can choose from our varied menu. We try our best to cater for special diets and pride ourselves in giving value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchorlee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorlee Guest House Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing