We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Excellent accommodation”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Boathouse

river view from sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
river view from sitting room
marina from jetty bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
40 reviews
river view from sitting room
marina from jetty
bedroom 1
through the porthole
dining area
kitchen and dining
kitchen
Boathouse in winter from marina
double bedroom 2
twin bedroom
one of three shower rooms
shower room 2
patio
2nd sittingroom /sofa bedroom
from the river
house and jetty
high tide
bedroom
autumn view
sunset
jetty
crocus display
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location by the water
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review and booking with us again for next year. Glad to hear you all had a great time and enjoyed the space the Boathouse offers to families with teenagers. It has, indeed, been a summer of fabulous sunsets. Let's hope next year will be just as good!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mumbles20...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“simply perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

just arrived home from staying here for a week. It was peaceful, picturesque and a home from home, the owners have thought of everything you could possibly need. The house was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The views from all windows were breath taking, spending mornings on the veranda just watching the boats and birds, totally perfect. The town is lovely, couldn't get over how clean the streets were, everyone is really friendly and found some lovely places to eat would highly recommend the bay hotel and mulberries café, even had to visit the doctors whilst there and they were lovely too. Really good value for money, couldn't have picked a better place, just sorry we had to come home. just to add how safe the town felt, kind of town you could leave your door open and saw many bikes just parked up with no locks. It was a break from the norm for my family but will certainly be visiting again. As my partner just said there's just too much I can say about the place so our advice would be just go its perfect.
P.S if you like black pudding you'll love haggis!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the views and the space
Liked least: whats not to like?
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2013
Thank you for writing such an enthusiastic review! We are very happy to hear that our guests love the house and town as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen...
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic hidden treasure - indoor / outdoor lifestyle, views, peace, comfort,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I loved staying here, it had all the comforts of home, clean, comfortable, welcoming and cosy. With the advantage of great views, and while we were there sunshine. Perfect. The little blue doorway on the high street leads down a little secret path that opens up onto a courtyard, where we ate our meals outside and had barbeque dinners... The courtyard was safe for kids playing in, and for dogs who visited. The boat house looks inviting from the front, and with the walled courtyard and whitewashed exterior it has an almost mediterranean feel to it; Inside it has been considerately modernised and tastefully decorated.
however, it feels homely, and comfortable, with a boat theme running throughout with the porthole in the kids bedroom (the room with twin beds) and the artworks of boats, seascapes etc. My daughter loved the fact there were two lounges, and she commandeered the back one as the kids lounge (there were games and books there to entertain her and keep her away from the ipad)
All the rooms had fantastic views of the water, and i couldn't keep away from the back deck - which was magical, just sitting in the evening watching the world on the river, boats going by when the tide was in, and being hosed down when the tide was out. We were lucky to have fantastic weather and spent many days by the beach which was 10 minutes away. And the odd visit to an art gallery. A perfect staycation, only 2 hours from Glasgow. It would be nice to visit in Winter, bring the bikes and do a bit more exploring. I will definitely be back, and have recommended it already to friends.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: hard to say - location fantastic, house comfortable and well appointed
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2013
We very much appreciate your lovely review. Glad to hear you and your daughter had a great time and took advantage of the proximity to the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back for a winter break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with fantastic views located in a lovely, historic town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Boat House looks to have been recently modernised to a very high standard and now provides really comfortable accommodation for up to six or eight. There probably quite a few holiday cottages to which this would apply but what makes the Boat House outstanding is its stunning location right on the banks of the River Dee with views directly overlooking the marina. These can be enjoyed either from the large picture window in the lounge or (given even a hint of sunshine) from the large balcony which runs almost the full length of the cottage. (During our stay, we were even treated to the sight of deer grazing on the far bank.)

In addition to the fantastic views over the river, the cottage is very centrally located and is only a leisurely stroll from the historic town centre which boasts not only a ruined castle, but also wide selection of shops, pubs, cafes and restaurants. Some even allow you to bring your own wine without charging corkage and this makes eating out amazingly inexpensive. (Personally, we found Fish and Chips at "Polar Bites" is particularly enjoyable with the Co-op's Fair Trade reds!!)

This was actually our second holiday at the Boat House, but we enjoy it so much that we are already planning another in 2014.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view over the River Dee and the marina.
Liked least: No allocated parking
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Boathouse. Very glad that you enjoyed your repeat visit and that the views were as spectacular as you remembered. We'll now add deer to the list of wildlife to be spotted from the jetty! We look forward to hosting you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJM123Man...
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“FANTASTIC PROPERTY WITH AMAZING VIEWS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spent a brilliant week at the Boathouse. The property was clean and well equipped and has the advantage of having three bathrooms. Having stayed in Kirkcudbright several times, we would now be very reluctant to stay in any other property.
As the weather was so kind to us, it was difficult to tear ourselves away from the balcony as we all enjoyed watching the boats, the birds and the tides whilst reading and having a glass of wine!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing disappointed us.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed all the Boathouse has to offer. Maybe next time you'll spot the otter and seal that guests have reported seeing from the jetty!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southport
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$128
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing