We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top class food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel

Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“top class food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

the food is really good,with a very good choice,theres a specials board each night .the young blonde waitress could look more interested and maybe smile a bit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank zozie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    37
    15
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“decent food, miserable service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We called in to eat here on the Sunday night after the Local Tattoo and as the town was still very busy the restaurant was full that night. The charming lady who greeted us suggested we book for another evening and so we did. Her welcome on that occasion was so warm that we were optimistic of a great night when we returned the following day.

Sadly the warm & friendly lady was off when we ate at the Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel and we were instead greeted by the most miserable waitress it has been my misfortune to be served by. Our table was pointed out to us and we were left to our own devices before the menus were brought over by a young boy. When the miserable one returned, she had a tatty, dirty tea towel draped over her arm and with no mention of the specials board she took our orders and without any niceities off she went.

When the food arrived it was decent enough, fairly generous portions, well prepared and presented. My only criticism of my starter would be that half a slice of brioche toast isn't enough with the very nice home made pate. Miserable waitress begrudgingly brought me another half a slice when I asked for it.

I can't really say we enjoyed our meal as the miserable waitress spoiled our evening, her manner was bordering on rude and sadly that's our overriding memory of the evening.

At £20 each for 2 courses and a couple of drinks I wouldn't call it cheap but at least I saved a few quid on the tip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dprkphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had lunch here one Sunday afternoon and sat outside on their lovely terrace. Very good food, reasonably priced and a good kids' menu as well. There was also a live Scottish folk band playing outside which was a lovely touch. Recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank legaleagle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“1st class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited the hotel on two occasions during our weeks stay in Kirkcudbright and had a meal on each occasion. Food was outstanding and reasonably priced. I must also state that the Speckled Hen real ale was the finest pint I have ever had.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We visited the Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel on the recommendation of an Australian lady who was in the tourist information centre in the town when we went to enquire about restaurants in the area.The lady gave the hotel a glowing report and I have to say that it lived up to its reputation when we visited.We were warmly greeted not only when we went to book our table earlier in the day but on the evening as well.The salmon is a must and just melted in the mouth.One of our party had the Bay Burger with chips which was fair size and the other person the steak pie which was full of tender cooked meat.We all decided to have a dessert and the Eton Mess was a very generous portion and the cheese board was more than plentiful with fruit with it.The service was excellent and we were not kept waiting for long even though everything is freshly cooked.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel also viewed

Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing