We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful..!!”
Review of Gladstone House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcudbright
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gladstone House
Ranked #10 of 14 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful..!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Gordon and Hilary are wonderful hosts. The house is beautiful, the rooms are full of character and very cosy. We were welcomed with tea and delicious homemade cake (This was small insight into Gordon and Hillary's culinary talents). The next day we had cooked breakfast that was simply fantastic (must be tried), together with a selection of their homemade breads and jams. Gordon makes the best marmalade ever!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PM00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rothesay
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed for three nights over the weekend of the annual Kirkcudbright Jazz Festival. Accommodation is limited in the town over this busy weekend and we had a most comfortable and enjoyable stay at Gladstone House, with excellent breakfast and a clean & comfortable room. So good, that we have booked again for next year!

Hilary & Gordon are excellent hosts and the house in centrally located, very convenient for all the jazz venues. Highly recommended but book ahead since they are very busy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We were due to go to north Norfolk but the weather forecast said fog so we decided to go to Dumfries & Galloway a) the weather was better and b) we had never been before. We arrived and Kirkcudbright looking for a B&B and found the Baytree but they were full. The Owner had the Gladstone owner (later known as Hilary!) on the telephone and recommended us to her. We're so glad they did. The room was lovely, the breakfast brilliant and the husband and wife team (Hilary and Gordon) were just delightful. After check-out we decided to drive to the far west coast and stay in Portpatrick but with no vacancies, we headed right back for a 2nd night at Gladstone! Would recommend to all. Thank you so much - we will be back. Bernard & Wendy Halliday

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 - a double dormer in the roof so you had views on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halliday_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Found this hotel very cosy and friendly. It is privately owned and you can tell the pride that the owners have for their hotel. Breakfast is lovely and I believe they do a fixed menu at a set price on request.
My room was very clean and cosy.
I was in the area on business and would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evergreen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is my second visit to Gladstone house and this time I brought my Mum and my sister to share in the wonderful experience of staying there. The house is beautiful, the rooms full of character and very cosy and the breakfast is legendary, I could wax lyrical on that alone. However my favourite part of my stay is always the chance to visit the sumptuous guests lounge which inspires you to just relax. Gordon adnd Hilary are wonderful hosts and I eagerly look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in October, b and b is in perfect place in the town and is so welcoming, clean, fresh, within an amazingly authentic georgian house.

So much to do nearby and you will feel so welcome by the owners who are lovely. A wonderful bonus is that freshly made bread, good coffee, and a talented chef make your breakfast something to look forwrd too.

We will hopefully be back with our family for a wee break in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Alas, we only stayed for one night and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, the town and the Selkirk for dinner (recommended by Gordon-always check how current the recommendations are - staff change). Gladstone House is a beautiful building, with a fine collection of Gordon and Hillary's art finds and a suberb lounge to relax in after being out all day. Breakfast is a culinary delight and don't forget to ask the hosts about the secret garden next door before you leave - you will be astonished.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
0.1 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anchorlee Guest House
Anchorlee Guest House
#4 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone House

Property: Gladstone House
Address: 48 High Street | Kirkcudbrightshire, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Gladstone House Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing