We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No better place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chattan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcudbright
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chattan House
Ranked #6 of 16 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“No better place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is the second year we have stayed at Chattan House and immediately signed up for next year. The welcome is warm and inviting. The choice of having either a continental or cooked breakfast is ideal to all who do not wish a cooked breakfast. The bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable. Despite having only bedroom with ensuite the sole use of the bathroom poses no problem what so ever. I would highly recommend this B&B.
Margret Richardson, Edinburgh

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanHouse, Owner at Chattan House, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, looking forward to seeing you again. Delya Wilkinson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have spent the weekend attending a jazz festival and were very fortunate to enjoy a four night stay at Chatton House, this being our first visit. The hosts, Delya and John, made the break very special with their warm and friendly welcome. From our room the views over the bay and town were spectacular. We stayed in the very spacious en-suite Burns Room which was spotlessly clean, cosy, and exceptionally comfortable. The dining room overlooks the interesting garden, although the red squirrels were hiding!. We will definitely be making another visit, so may be lucky enough to see them then. The breakfast was excellent, a special treat. Looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanHouse, Owner at Chattan House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We had a lovely time with all you Jazz enthusiasts, even managed to see a couple of bands. See you next year. Glad you liked your stay and thanks for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed two nights in this wonderful bed and breakfast where we were made most welcome by Delya and John. The accommodation has a beautiful garden (complete with red squirrels) and offers fantastic views over Kirkcudbright. The owners have a good knowledge of the area and were able to suggest places of interest worthy of a visit.

The B&B is located in a quiet area with pleasant woodland walks nearby. The centre of town is a ten minute stroll away. Our room was spacious and comfortable and equipped with TV, kettle etc., along with en suite toilet and shower. It was also good to have a sofa to relax on.

There was a good selection available at breakfast, including fresh fruit salad. The breakfast room is also available at other times for carry out meals.

Kirkcudbright itself is a beautiful town with many places of interest to visit, including the home of the artist E A Hornel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrawnFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanHouse, Owner at Chattan House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Lovely to meet you and hope to see you again soon. Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have just spent the most delightfull weekend at Chattan House where we were warmly welcomed by Delya and John into spacious and comfortable rooms with excelent views over the town and bay,spotless bathroom and verry comfertable bed. Food was excelent in the spacious dining area,overlooking the garden.Chatten House is in a very quiet part of Krcudbright with woodland walks near by and only a few minutes pleasent walk to the town.

Room Tip: Rooms are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanHouse, Owner at Chattan House, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It was great meeting you all, the 2 rooms separated by the hall and on one level lend itself to a stress free break I feel. What wonderful weather too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have visited this B&B twice now. The owners, Delya and John, are friendly and welcoming. The rooms have wonderful panoramic views over the town and the bay, the gardens are lovely, and you can sit and look out of your window at the red squirrels just outside. The accommodation is roomy, spotless, light, airy and warm with lovely soft pillows and a very comfortable bed! Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GW1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanHouse, Owner at Chattan House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks for your review, give my regards to Cumbria. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at Chattan House from 17th - 19th May 2013; lovely warm welcome, John and Delya are friendly, welcoming, and very helpful. The room was lovely, spacious with a very comfy bed, beautiful bathroom and spotless. Beautiful views over the town and red squirrels in the garden. Food was also excellent would recommend this guest house to all, you will not be disappointed; would defintely go again.

Room Tip: There is a local swimming pool and plenty of places to eat nearby, 5 minute walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanHouse, Owner at Chattan House, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
That sounds so good I think I will stay here, thanks for the great review. Good luck with your caravan. Delya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Delightful lady owner, beautiful, room, view was fabulous right across the town and out over the bay. Comfortable, quiet, clean and plenty of room to move around. Lovely gardens too - red squirrels were in hiding when we were there but that was our only complaint. Don't be put off by the approach to this place through a little housing estate. Fresh milk in a little fridge in the dining room was a lovely touch when we got in tired and cold needing a cup of tea.
Breakfast was continental - lovely fresh fruit, bread/toast, good choice of cereals, every kind of tea you could think of and good coffee too..we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the Burns Room - delightful, panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliAK264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanHouse, Owner at Chattan House, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We will look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for an A1 review. Who could ask for anything more! That is a song I think. Best wishes Delya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
0.3 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.0 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#1 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorlee Guest House
Anchorlee Guest House
#4 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattan House

Property: Chattan House
Address: 28 Woodlands Avenue, Kirkcudbright DG6 4BP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chattan House is a 2 roomed B&B with both rooms having beautiful views over Kirkcudbright the Artists' Town of Scotland. Built on 3 levels there are steps up to the B&B level where a large balcony is available to enjoy the views. If you have heavy cases we can take them up the back stairs for you on our lift. Each room has a view. The spacious Burns Room is ensuite and can be a family, a double room.The John Paul Jones Room is also a spacious double and does have a sofa bed for occasional use or for a child. This room is across the hall from the other room and its own large private bathroom, which has a bath and separate shower.The dining room looks out across the garden and if you are lucky you may see a red squirrel in the garden as we back onto Barrhill wood.There is an artists studio in the garden that visiting artists can use when staying at Chattan House.Free WIFI is available.There are 2 options for breakfast a non cooked healthy option and a cooked option,the former is included and the cooked is £5 per head for a large one booked 24 hours in advance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chattan House Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing