We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The overall memories of my stay are all about the warmth of the welcome, the high quality of every single encounter I had with every single member of staff, and the quality of the food and service. The hotel room I had was not particularly special, and the bathroom was basic and fairly dated, but this hotel deserves the highest of praise for the way it looks after all guests.

All members of staff obviously enjoy working there, and the owner/managers lead their team by example with both efficiency and friendliness. Nothing is too much trouble, and it felt as if we had gone to stay with friends that we hadn't seen for a while.

The food in the restaurant is great, and the locals obviously rate the place highly, as it was always busy. Special offers during certain months offer great value for money, and I can highly recommend this as a great place to stay when exploring the pleasant town of Kirkcudbright.

Room Tip: The rooms do vary, so perhaps a discussion with the management will help you to decide which is best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ttravellingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback - we have a great team and we are very proud of them. it makes our and their day when we receive such praise. Thank you for coming.
CHRIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 499 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

I slept in this hotel to have a break during my 90miles cycling trip through South of Scotland.
Once arrived, I felt so good in this warm atmospher. Every costumers seemed happy and smiled. That gave me a first good impression. Until this moment I had no room, no book. Then arrived Douglas a staff member. I felt so welcome with him. I was so tired and not sure where I would sleep that night. He just made everything easy for me. In few secondes, he found a nice room with breakfast in the morning. The bar inside the hotel in the evening is perfect to discover some local product such as Whiskey or even Beer.
I do recommend this hotel where the staff is exceptionnel as anywhere to everyone
Great experience

Jean-David

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review - we pin these up on the staff notice board and everyone gets a real boost from such lovely feedback. Hoping you completed the trip safely and that we see you again soon. Thank you.
CHRIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have selected this hotel purely on Trip advisor reviews, and we did not regret it a second. We are relative novices in mountain biking and were tempted to have a go at as many of the 7 stanes as possible in 7 days, based on the weather. We ended uo doing three, plus a daytrip to Belfast and a few small trips around. This hotel is definitely top choice in the small town of Kirkcudbright. (non-Scotts - ask how it is pronounced, as we realized we were making fools of ourselves for a couple of days :) Hotel is cosy, rooms traditionally and nicely (do not expect posh, but fine enough) furbished and equipped, clean, slightly aging but good bathroom. But by far the best is the cooking. Local food, very fresh and perfectly prepared. Fish, seafood, steak, anything we had during 6 evenings was top notch. Try local beer, strong but delicious (unfortunately I forgot the name) Even Fish and Chips was just incredible. Everyone working at the hotel was extremely nice, we needed a bit of help with locking up our bikes, they sorted it out immediately. Kirkcudbright is very sleepy otherwise. Folk in the hotel is also on average bit older, however we had a chat with various really nice people who engaged with us over our strange accents (Czech) Nice walk around the marina, we did a small pub crawl one evening, but did not find any pub worth special mentioning. Good idea was the Belfast day trip, but if you go, make sure you leave some buffer before the ferry departure, we wanted to go on foot and 30 mins before departure was not enough. We were not let on the ferry and had to take next one. So if you are into biking, sightseeing etc, 4-5 days is great, and this hotel highly recommended. But - if you know some lively "mountain biker friendly" place in the area, let me know :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paoloanachronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have a young pup who we didn't want to leave in our holiday cottage when we went out got dinner, the Selkirk arms staff welcomed us and our wee dog into the sports bar for our dinner- we got brilliant food (fish &chips were fab & massive!) and she got a bowl of water, treats and lots of attention. Thanks very much for a lovely dinner and hospitality

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jencra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel was wonderful. They let us check in early plus upgraded to the best room. Make sure you get the garden room. Also, has a restraunt on site with award winning chef. Dinner and breakfasts were superb. We liked so we booked for another night. Very helpful staff with
any questions. Loved the charming town and will return for sure.

Room Tip: book the large garden view room on 2nd floor. great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The exterior of the hotel understates the welcomes that have greeted us on many visits to dine here. Messrs. McDavid and Walker leave nothing to be desired by the guest. And their team display confidence and friendliness that many other hotels could do well to study. Whether it's a simple bar snack or a full blown meal, the quality, the flavours, the service have always been memorable. Superlative beef (and so it should be in this area that prides itself on stock rearing) on my plate today, while my guests enjoyed excellent halibut fillet, all preceded by one of the most delightful pheasant consommés, delicately flavoured. And a chocolate brownie, so light it might also float, and fortified with kirsch anglaise brought the meal to a magnificent conclusion. The wine list is not one of those rambling affairs - it cuts to the chase with some interesting offers, and it is not outrageously priced either. Excellent value for money all round.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bonnieisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here for three nights -- very comfortable surroundings------- lovely breakfasts with good choice of food. Dinner very good --menu had a good choice of dishes most with local produce. my favourite were the Kirckudbright scallops --deliciious. . The saff were all very pleasant and attentive. The room was fine , the only negative was that the bed was not that comfortable but other than that a very pleasat stay. excellent at the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
123 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
141 reviews
6.2 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
112 reviews
19.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range: $118 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, all rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing