We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Hotel(Kirkcudbright)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arden House Hotel(Kirkcudbright)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cally Palace Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murray Arms(Gatehouse of Fleet)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bank of Fleet Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kings Arms Hotel(Castle Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Market Inn Hotel(Castle Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Urr Valley Hotel(Castle Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveler rating
373
119
24
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
373
119
24
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsselkirk armssports barbistro barlovely hotelexcellent foodscallopsrobert burnssmall hotelbreakfast and dinnerhotel restaurantshort breaklocal producekipperswithout exceptionthree nightslovely townstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 525 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is our favourite place to eat in Dumfries and Galloway. Here for lunch today and as always great tasty food, well cooked and presented. The service is always very friendly and efficient and you can always rely on a really good dessert! Great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We joined our special friends at this hotel last Friday and spent three nights there on DBB. We had a great time. Our room was comfortable with an en-suite shower/ bath room. We slept well as it was very quiet. The staff were all lovely and the food was excellent. We enjoyed being in the area and were very lucky with the glorious weather.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazel m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Although we didnt stay in the hotel we dined in the Artisan restaurant . I can honestly say it was the best meal in a restaurant we have ever had . The service is superb from Douglas and all the staff . They went out of there way to help us with a surprise birthday treat. The quality and presentation of the food was superb , the wine list comprehensive . We cannot wait to return .Highly recommended .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aggs321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here on Friday the 12th of October. The hotel held the reception for my Grandas funeral and I stayed the night in a large family room. The food was excellent and the atmosphere in the sports bar great.

The room was warm and comfortable and the provided a cot for my child. My daughter was also sick through the night and staff came within 2 minutes at 3:30 in the morning to take the sheets away.

All staff were very polite and welcoming. I also left my phone charger in the room and they phoned me to let me know.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed at the Selkirk several times and have always enjoyed a warm welcome ,a comfortable bed and an excellent meal.We have used this hotel as a base for a golf break as there are some really good courses in the area.Douglas is always helpful in recommending these and arranging your tee times if you wish.
It is great to end the day with a good pint and a really good meal.
If your not into golf there are plently of other things to do in the area.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveandkaren19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews