We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great meal :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gordon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gordon House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great meal :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

didn't actually stay at the gordon house hotel but went for a meal on saturday night and must say i was pleasantly surprised the food was delicous and the staff were very pleasant. will certainly be back again. obviously the new managment know what they are doing!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    4
    2
    15
See reviews for
11
17
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

I am quite taken aback by some of the reviews I have just read. Having spent a couple of nights there last weekend I have nothing but praise for the high standard of service, accomodation and attention from staff. I have however heard the hotel has recently been taken over by new management which I was able to reap the benefits from.
I have to say the breakfast was delicious and what a helping! I would pop in for that even if I wasnt staying there.
I would have no reservations in recommending a stay at this homely hotel and wish to thank the friendly and ever so helpful staff for making me feel most welcome.
Many thanks and Ill be back, Margaret

Room Tip: Room no 5 was perfect. Good size bathroom and great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Don't go. Really poor. this place need some investment to drag itself into the 21st centuary. Food was disgusting. We had to eat in the bar which was like the wild west. I had to speak to one local "drunk foul mouthed guy" to ask him to stop swearing as my daughter and I were trying to eat our meal. Only stayed because there was nowhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kirkcudbright hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Several weeks ago, we booked three nights at this place. What a disappointment ! The first room was dingy, dull & uninspiring - but was informed that "it was usually only let to the workers". The next room on offer was truly filthy. Stained mismatched bed linen, dirty toilet, used tissues in bins. Gruesome bed cover/throw that was only fit for garbage. We left !
The young staff member was polite, but clearly had been left alone and unsupported to deal with unhappy customers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed at. The stair carpet was dirty and covered with dog hair. We were given the room key and on entering found dirty underwear on the floor, no towels and an unclean en-suite. When we complained we were given another room number but told to use the same key. We found a gentleman asleep on the bed in this room. We were given ANOTHER room number and AGAIN told to use the same key!!! This room had single beds and not the double as booked. The beds were pushed together and remade. This bedroom and en-suite were dirty and the carpet looked as though it hadn't been hoovered for a long time. The TV was not working and there was no Radio Alarm or Wi-Fi as advertised. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was a joke. The tables were dirty, no cereal or juice, one piece of toast each and a lack of cutlery. We were asked what we wanted in our cooked breakfast but some of these items were not served. The black pudding was so thin and overcooked that it was inedible. The scrambled egg was rubbery. Our friends stayed in a local B & B and had quite a different experience. we will never be back and would certainly not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Try the hotel next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GILLIAN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

I would struggle to come up with one positive comment about this hotel after staying there over the weekend. On arrival we were greeted by a mix up with our booking which had been made months ago, the room we had was awful, the door was filthy, the valance and headboard were dirty, only one cup between two, only one bath towel, a toilet that had two beer mats under it to keep it straight, window in bathroom didnt open, our room wasnt cleaned on day one and set of towels were left outside, the next day our towels were changed but the room was left open!!! by one of the `staff`, no clean cups, no fresh tea or coffee. The breakfast was like a scene from a bad episode of `3 in a bed`, no juice, no cereal, no yoghurt etc no menu, you had to ask for everything twice, truly appalling. On the Friday night we arrived back at the hotel around midnight to find a wild west show of drunken teenagers in the bar and outside, one of them vomitting violently over the back of someone`s car and his friend shoting out with a litre jug of some sangria type concoction in his hand. The owner we never saw or was never approached by the 3 days we were there to enquire if everything was ok etc. A truly awful place run by a bunch of teenagers with no idea of what they were supposed to be doing. Avoid unless you are very desperate.

Room Tip: Take my tip, book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Staying in Kirkcudbright for a short break - dropped in to the hotel for an evening meal. Hugely disappointed - like something out of the 1980s - dreadful smell of burnt cooking oil - food was very poor - haddock & chips (£9.95) was like a large fish finger with peas - could not believe just how bad it was. Would never return for a meal.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank DaveMac076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kirkcudbright hotels
0.1 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchorlee Guest House
Anchorlee Guest House
#4 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Marks
The Marks
#11 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon House Hotel

Property: Gordon House Hotel
Address: 116 High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, LateRooms, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Gordon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon House Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing