We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean quiet rooms, great food with great service.”
Review of Arden House Hotel

Arden House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkcudbright
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arden House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Living here past week while working away from home. Great service from friendly staff.

Hotel is very quiet, clean and tidy. Room decor varies from room to room, probably to suit different tastes.

Food I found to be very good, quality ingredients and plenty size portions. Staff served breakfast earlier than hotels normal timetable on request.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Arden House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 69 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Have been for lunch today with four family members; hadn't been for a while but were tempted by the advertisement for Sunday Roasts. We all enjoyed the meal, especially the roast pork and the millionaires shortbread ice cream. We have never had any complaints about the Arden House Hotel, having always found the service good and the food tasty with generous portions. (We have been using the hotel for a number of years including Christmas Day lunches, sons 21st birthday, family outings and funeral lunches.) Since Mary passed away last year Billy has been in charge and it is good to see he is starting to put his own mark on the place; we are sure things will keep getting better and better. For a pleasant home cooked Sunday lunch with outstanding views we would certainly recommend the Arden House Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was a guest at the wedding mentioned below and whilst I did not stay at the hotel, I ate there the night before and have done so many times before that. The previous owner passed away in November and Billy and Leah are now in charge and doing an excellent job. They have refurbished 3 bedrooms so far and later in the year plan to refurbish the bar/lounge eating area. This area is already large and bright - it's only issue is the slightly tired decor/pictures/brasses - time to shake things up! There are new little touches in the public areas of the hotel like posh hand soaps and hand creams in the loos - doesn't sound like much but it's the little things that matter.
Their arrangements for the wedding were brilliant: lovely sandwiches for arrival after the church and staff on hand to make sure everyone was fine. The meal was very good, generous portions and homemade desserts. The serving staff got everything just right, they only lacked real interaction skills with the guests but they were young, this is just an age thing. Everyone at the meal got what they ordered without the servers having to ask who was having what - nice.
At the reception in The Britannia Suite, at night, the bar staff were good, - nice and smiley. Again, some of the younger ones were a little inexperienced and looked unsure at times but that's okay - I don't mind that when the effort is there, which it was. Billy was on hand at the reception and dealt straight away with one or two little requests and issues.
This hotel is in a prime location for a wedding - very attractive buildings set in large grounds (space for the children to run around and ideal for photographs) with plenty of parking.
My only niggle, and it is very picky of me - the salt and peppers on the tables for the wedding meal needed filling up (looks good if everything is filled right up, polished and in place, minute details rock) and the rose wine wasn't in chillers.
But thank you Arden House, a brilliant day and night was had by all - good luck to you.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank jkitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Family weekend away with our adult children and partners. We had a great stay at Arden House. Loved the friendly relaxed atmosphere and nothing too much trouble. Had a good meal in the bar and an enjoyable evening chatting to the staff. Ideal position for a lovely short walk into the town along the estuary or 'take the high road' up along the golf course for even more spectacular views. I especially enjoyed the well-cooked breakfast, again looking out over fantastic views. Hotel very clean and rooms comfortable. Will definately be staying again as love this beautiful area of Scotland and Arden House is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyM859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was the wedding venue and we were there from friday `til monday..with just a little break for church.Our room was warm and comfy, very clean if a bit small.The setting is perfect and the owner couldn`t be more helpful.The bride and groom were very happy and so were all the guests!!. The food was fine with plenty of choice but not posh .We will certainly stay again when visiting family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We know the area well and have stayed here before I have to say that there has been a marked improvement in the accommodation and the rooms we were given were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with great views across spectacular scenery. The staff were exceptionally helpful and accommodating. We were there as a family and the location suited us very well as the countryside in on your doorstep and the town a short walk in peace alongside the river. We ate in the hotel and there was a good selection of dishes and it was of a good standard and piping hot and reasonable priced. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Pretty dated and so quiet, we were the only people there!!
There are two bars but if you want a drink you would need to go find a pub!
The owner is however very nice and the breakfast was pretty OK.
If you are looking for a QUIET place to get away from it all, this is the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WILSHILS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
1.3 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
492 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
122 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
112 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
431 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#1 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House Hotel

Address: Tongland Road, Kirkcudbright DG6 4UU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range: $61 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Arden House Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing