We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“has went downhill drastically” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
stoke on trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“has went downhill drastically”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

we previously used to come to the kirkcudbright bay hotel when gill and gary had it and we loved every minute we was there it was clean, friendly, rooms was lovely, the food delicious and really good atmosphere, needless to say we couldnt wait to come back each time but now i can say i will never be back in which is a shame because it is a lovely hotel. we recently came in to the bay and what a dissapointment, as a pub grub eater there is only so much indian food you can eat, there is no atmosphere at all anymore its dark, theres no music and what really put us off was the attitude of the owners wife, you could tell she did not want us there and made it quite clear we was not welcome, do yourself a favour every one stay clear and book yourself into all the other lovely hotels in kirkcudbright, i personaly will not be back till there is new owners and im glad to say i dont think it will be long till there is... thank god what a waste of a lovely hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natalie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    43
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
22
57
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed here in July 2011 after we had been to the Wickerman festival. We had been to the hotel the previous year and had thought it was good value for money then. It has since been taken over so we were a bit concerned it would not be as good but we needn't have worried. The locals in the bar a very friendly and it has a great atmosphere. We booked for dinner and were not dissapointed the South Indian Garlic chilli chicken was once of the best curries I have tasted so I not sure what the other reviewers are complaining about. The only negative to our stay was the issue with our door - lock was very temperamental and we had to get the owner to open it for us all the time as he seemed to be the only one that had the knack - didn't detract from our stay though as the owners could not be more helpful. Will be back next year

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoanneG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

After reading the previous review, I felt I had to write this information. This hotel has been taken over and maybe it doesn't look boutique style but it has a lovely atmosphere and I have to say the staff and new management team are very helpful. The restuarant is lovely and very friendly. It is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina1744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Overall the food here is terrible. We called at the hotel for lunch in the last week of August during a day in and around Kirkudbright - we ate here having sought advice from the tourist information office, it turns out subsequently that they don't normally recommend it and that the lady who did was working her last day (I'd like to think her advice was ignorant rather than maliscious as her colleagues I spoke to later were all very apologetic).

The bar man/front of house was very polite and helpful, the waiter in the restaurant was a bit off hand and rude, but nothing too concerning, the food however was terrible. I don't think any of the food is cooked on site (this is an Indian restuarant, the chicken in my meal was pre-cooked and warmed in a microwave, the curry sauce was straight from a tin), when I poked my head in the kitchen when looking for somebody to pay there was no sign of a cooker or stove. Whilst it added a tragi-comic tale to out tour of the town this place is best avoided, the food was the worst I have eaten in a restaurant/pub anywhere.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed in the town twice last year and had a really good meals here. Returned here again by yacht staying in the marina. Meals now only Indian with some not great "European Dishes" Really gone down hill.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

Honest and welcoming, we found ourselves up to our knees in hospitality regardless of the time of day or what was asked. Located in a perfect spot to explore Kirkcudbright, and cosy enough and full of nice folk to sit in and pass the time when it's raining. The hosts couldn't have done more, back to sad times at home making my own bacon butties and singing along to O Caledonia on my ownsome....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderflump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stayed at the Kirkcudbright Bay on Saturday evening of the Bank Holiday weekend - staff could not have been more friendly and helpful..
We had a lovely spacious family room that was very clean and well thought out.
Great band - 'Transmission' played in the bar on Sat evening which added a nice touch to our stay.
Breakfast was good with several options on offer.
Would not hesitate to recommend this small family run hotel to other guests

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra_snape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
0.2 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#4 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
23.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel

Property: Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Address: 25 St. Cuthbert Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4DJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing