We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special find”
Review of Linthorpe B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcudbright
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Linthorpe B&B
Ranked #8 of 14 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a fantastic room, the lounge is as good as it gets (a wood fire is lit as soon as you appear if not before) and the food is first class. Breakfasts are more than adequate but the smoked trout is something else, caught and smoked by Sue it is an experience in itself. The dinners too are top quality.

This is a guest house where quality and attention to detail are second to none.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandHelen891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppydoo100, Owner at Linthorpe B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you John & Helen for this lovely review, Simon & I really appreciate your taking the trouble to write this, and also for your lovely email. I love catering for people and it is great when our food is appreciated.

Many thanks

Sue & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Linthorpe B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 75 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Every piece of food was crafted and flavour was paramount. We enjoyed Breakfast, Dinner and (packed) Lunch - all were excellent.
Simon's bread is exceptionally satisfying and nourishing - evidence of craft and attention to detail. Sue is clearly endowed with many talents, BUT her pastry making would satisfy the sternest of judges.
A great location for peace and quiet - that is clearly the aim of this couple - with great food available

Room Tip: we only experienced the super-king with en-suite - outstanding value
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppydoo100, Owner at Linthorpe B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you very much for this great review, it is so nice to cook for people who enjoy good food and appreciate our efforts. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you and please do come back in the future.

Sue & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

we recently stayed in the Linthorpe and found the stay to be lovely, relaxed, warm and very friendly.

The accomadation was very high standard & we had the best night sleep in a long time due to the lovely comfortable bed & bedding.

we only stayed one night, however we would have loved to have stayed on longer and wouldnt hesitate to go back and stay there again.

the owners were very accomadating and friendly and really made us feel welcome.

we would definately recommend it to others who are looking for a place to stay.

Room Tip: we had the super king room which was lovely and spacious with the best bed we've ever slept on.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppydoo100, Owner at Linthorpe B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Hi, Marie,
thank you so much for your lovely review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found Linthorpe a positive experience. Hopefully next time you will stay longer.


Thank you.

Sue & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Arriving with public transport was a little odyssey but definitely worth it! A very warm welcome and a comfortable, large room were waiting for me. Breakfast was delicious and included eggs from their own chickens as well as home made bread and jam. I came to join spinning lessons and received a very thorough introduction to this remarkable craft which was not dry teaching by Sue but lively sharing her knowledge! Dinner was excellent and (like breakfast) contained as much homemade/homegrown and local ingredients as possible. It was delicious and the puddings were amazing,too! The surrounding area (e.g. Gatehouse of Fleet) also offers public footpaths for walks of various length and levels of difficulty. Borrowing descriptions and maps, drying clothes after walking in rain, wash trousers after walking along muddy paths,... No problem!! For me it was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppydoo100, Owner at Linthorpe B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Hi Katharena,
thank you so much for this lovely review, you wre such a nice guest and I enjoyed our spinning time together, I hope you will be able to come back again on your next trip to the UK.

Best wishes

Sue & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I recently (June, 2012) spent four days at Linthorpe B&B and, now back in California, we're experiencing something like pangs of homesickness for it. We enjoyed our time at Linthorpe B&B as much as we did for several reasons. It is, in the first place, an unusually comfortable, restful place to stay in a lovely part of the UK. Sue and Simon are gracious hosts, warm and accommodating but not obtrusive. The guest rooms are off the main living area and are quiet and private; you can come and go without disturbing your fellow guests or your hosts. The rooms themselves are large, spotlessly clean and have beds with high quality, firm mattresses, a special blessing for travelers with bad backs who are used to sleeping on the flabby bedding found in many inns and B&Bs. And then there are the little things: the fresh wildflowers placed in the vase in our room every day and the instant coffee provided with the electric kettle that was organic and actually drinkable. Breakfasts and dinners are exceptional, not only for the locally-sourced ingredients, which include eggs from Sue's chickens as well as greens and other vegetables from her garden, but because of her considerable skills as a cook and pastry maker. Scrambled eggs and smoked trout (caught by Sue) for breakfast, chicken breasts wrapped in Parma ham with a light cream sauce and a rhubarb crumble for dessert one night and fresh caught sea bass on a bed of lentils and fresh garden peas with a pear almond tart another. Not to mention Simon's breads, which included a delicious red pepper focaccia when we were there. But good as it is as a B&B, Linthorpe is something more. We stayed there because we wanted to learn fly casting and Sue is a highly qualified, accredited instructor. She had us both casting comfortably and accurately at the end of the two days we spent on the water with her and we now feel competent to fish our local rivers even though we know that we will inevitably lose a certain number of dry flies in the willows and can't expect to catch trout or salmon every time out. All this and beautiful country for miles around to explore by car and/or on foot. Not your ordinary B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

wow, thank you so much for this lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we try hard to make things good for our guests and find our overseas visitors great fun and very appreciative. This is what makes running a B&B great.

Thank you.

Sue & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we knew we were at the right place. Sue and Simon welcomed us warmly. The room was warm and tidy, the hot water piping and the beds wonderfully comfortable. Breakfast was a delight, both the full cooked and the home-smoked trout with scrambled eggs from their own chickens were utterly delicious. Simon's sensational sourdough toast with Sue's scrummy homemade marmalade or blackberry jam made breakfast utterly memorable! Dinner was excellent too, once again made from as many home-grown ingredients as possible. This IS a B&B with a difference. You get what you pay for and Linthorpe was top quality at excellent value. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

excellent b and b don't be put off by the drive up the road once past the farm on the comer a very warm welcome very large room with a large bathroom as well the breakfast was excellent would stay here again came for a family christening our friends stayed as well not a bad word to say about it and don't let the cats put you off we have no pets but they did not put us off

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moboDurhamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
2.4 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
492 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
431 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blaven Bed & Breakfast
Blaven Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#1 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
206 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
79 reviews
7.9 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthorpe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthorpe B&B

Address: Linthorpe Arden Road | Twynholm, Kirkcudbright DG6 4PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Price Range: $50 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the small village of Twynholm we are in the heart of Galloway countryside. There are stunning uninterrupted views from the guest lounge which is large and beautifully furnished and has a lovely wood burner for chilly evenings. The bedrooms are large and comfortable with clean modern bathrooms. We offer locally sourced food in our evening meals which are all home cooked. We also use our own organically grown vegetables when in season and our own eggs. All bread, biscuits and cakes are homemade too. We often have home caught and smoked trout for breakfast and guests who come fishing have the option of having their trout smoked to take home. We have wifi access but guests need to have their own laptop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Linthorpe B&B Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing