We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Kirkcudbright at Christmastime”
other travelers have booked this property
Beautiful original features with modern touches and lovely woodboring stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful original features with modern touches and lovely woodboring stove
Master bedroom with ensuite bathroom/shower. Kitchen area with all modern fittings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Beautiful original features with modern touches and lovely woodboring stove
Master bedroom with ensuite bathroom/shower.
Kitchen area with all modern fittings
Exterior of the Yellow Door
The original Yellow Door
Upper bedroom, twin beds with ensuite shower room and TV with DVD player.
Upper bedroom, twin beds and ensuite shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
franceswa...
Swanage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Kirkcudbright at Christmastime”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed at Yellow Door for the week before Christmas and had a lovely time. Not only is this a charming and comfortable cottage, the town is delightful. There are great places to eat (Station House Cafe, Selkirk Arms, Polar Bites) and plenty to see - art centre, harbour, castle. We had some great mountain-biking in the Galloway Forest and plan to come back in the summer.

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2018
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your holiday. We really appreciate your comments and we are delighted Yellow Door and Kirkcudbright were to your liking. We agree, there is so many great places to visit and things to do in our region. We are extra happy to hear you are planning a return visit and will look forward to seeing you. Thank you again for your lovely review. Kindest regards, Neil & Patricia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iandoroth...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed October 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Situated through a 'close' off the high street (not a shopping street) this 3 storey 2 bedroom accommodation is of a very high standard. We were given a warm welcome by Patricia and the little extra touches ie the chocolates biscuits and crisps were a lovely surprise. The vase of white roses and daisies made the house particularly homely.
The house is extremely well furnished. Everything is there to make your stay comfortable and the wood burning fire meant we were never cold in spite of the weather we had ( the tail end of hurricane Ophelia ). Both bedrooms are en-suite and have TVs The kitchen is equipped with all the necessary tools and dishes and the fridge is big enough for all we needed for our weeks stay.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the weather didn't effect you. We always try to make Yellow Door a home from home and are delighted we had everything you needed. The woodburner is great at this time fo year. We are very grateful to you for your lovely review and will hope you will be able to return. Kindest regards, Neil and Patricia."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so happy you all enjoyed your time here in Kirkcudbright and the Tattoo event was a great success. We love Yellow Door and Kirkcudbright and feel very grateful to receive your lovely comments. We will always do our best to make Yellow Door special and would love to have you stay again. Thank you again for your lovely review and will look forward to your return. Kindest regards, Neil and Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NorthStar...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Based in the town centre with shops, pubs and restaurants within 5 mins walking distance. The accommodation had everything you need for a home from home - even a dishwasher (could have done with one that had a quick wash programme rather than the 2+ hours it took). Had everything you needed - crockery, utensils pots and pans etc but could do with a sharp knife! The bedding and towels were lovely, white and clean and the property was spotless. The log burner was an added bonus on the one night we had rain. The accommodation has also been furnished to a very high standard and attention has been paid to detail. The gardens are well worth exploring - some strange and quirky features! All in all, I would stay here again. More flexibility than an hotel - come and go as you please.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We love Yellow Door and Kirkcudbright and are so very grateful to receive your lovely comments. We are so happy you enjoyed the town of Kirkcudbright and the garden. We always do our best to make Yellow Door special and we will make sure the knives get sharpened. We would love to have you stay again. Thank you again for your lovely review and will look forward to your return. Kindest regards, Neil and Patricia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Great news you enjoyed the scenery and activities around the area. We love this area too and there is so much to see and do. Once again thank you and we hope you will return, kindest regards Neil & Patricia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 13, 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the cottage. We will pass on your kind words to our neighbours, we are very grateful to have them and friendly people in Kirkcudbright. It was lovey to meet you too. Thank you again for you very kind comments and we hope you can return. Kindest regards, Neil & Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ken F
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Great location in the heart of Kircudbright, but in a quiet little alley. Bright cheery house, with all the facilities you would need. Ideal for a family of four and the wee woodburner came in handy on a chilly spring night. Within easy walking distance of the chip shop! and the Selkirk Arms Hotel, depending on whether you go left out of the door or right! Would recommend it, but maybe the stair flights are not for elderly people.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your weekend at Yellow Door and the town of Kirkcudbright. We are very lucky to have such great places to eat and drink all within walking distance. We are sorry you had issue with the stairs as they have never been a concern. The staircases have a handrail/bannister and this should have helped. We hope you will get a chance to return and thank you once again, Neil & Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing