We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Kirkcroft Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kirkcroft Guest House
Ranked #6 of 10 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Rochdale
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

Very friendly owners and easy to find. The twin bedded room we stayed in was comfortable and clean.Complementary toiletries and lovely spacious bathroom. My only criticism is the very light curtains, I woke up at the crack of dawn. Good breakfast and very near to Gretna and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19BMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
33
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

First stop on our 5 night tour of Scotland. My wife, mother in law and I easily found this guest house from directions given by the owners. It is very near to local attractions. We were met at the door by the owner Keith who showed us to our rooms and advised of a nearby pub for an evening meal.
Rooms are clean and spacious especially the large bathroom. the Hazledean pub served a splendid meal and only 5 mins from Kirkcroft. Breakfast the following morning was served in a small dining room attached to a lovely modern kitchen. Here we met Margaret, Keith's wife and a rather good cook. Breakfast was very good but not just the food as we enjoyed a pleasant chat with our hosts. Nice stay lovely couple great food would recommend this guest house.

  • Liked — welcome and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkieBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

Found on visitscotland web site very helpful . Very friendly folk and room was light,bright and big. Shower needs some power as very light . But clean and would stay again for sure. Great value also £49 for 2.

  • Liked — room decor
  • Disliked — shower power ws little or none
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank paintponygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2006

went to a wedding at gretna green and stayed at Kirkcroft for one night and found the owners very friendly.We stayed bed and breakfast and found the breakfast first class. Would recommend this cosy little guest house for central position.

  • Liked — food and freindly owners
  • Disliked — no problems
  • Tips/Secrets — good location for gretna weddings
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mcalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.7 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
#4 of 4 in Gretna Green
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hazeldene Hotel
Hazeldene Hotel
#1 of 10 in Gretna Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkcroft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkcroft Guest House

Property: Kirkcroft Guest House
Address: Glasgow Road, Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkcroft Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkcroft was built in 1836 as a school house and served gretna green children for 50yrs. It then became the post office for Gretna green before being a family home then guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Kirkcroft Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkcroft Guest House Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing