We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

A year ago we decided to get married at Gretna Green and travelled up from Kent with family and friends. We were married on 29.6.2014 in the famous blacksmith's forge and everything was superbly and expertly organised by Smiths of Gretna Green. We can highly recommend the professionalism by all the staff who helped us organise our big day and thank you to them all. We had a package for 22 people which included a delicious and beautifully presented 3 course meal with wine (compliments to the chef and his staff), followed by coffee and delicious Scottish tablet. The wedding cake was beautifully decorated and very tasty which we enjoyed after our supper of bacon and sausage baps with chips much later the same evening. My bouquet was beautiful with white roses and thistles (again compliments to the florist) and my husband had a thistle buttonhole. The piper at the forge played beautifully and was much enjoyed by our guests especially those who had travelled from abroad. We were delighted that Sandie Jamieson was able to officiate and marry us in a wonderful light-hearted and yet traditional marriage. Thank you so much to Sandie for a relaxed and beautiful ceremony.
In addition my husband and our three sons hired the whole kilt package which again was extremely well organised. While three outfits fitted well, one did not however the ladies in the shop saved the day by sorting out another outfit which fitted perfectly. Thank you to them too. I personally would like to thank the nice lady who is part of the forge staff and kindly came to my rescue when I had a problem with my dress!
For anyone reading this and considering getting married at Gretna Green, we can highly recommend Smiths at Gretna Green as extremely good value for money with guaranteed success due to the expertise and attention to detail by the staff. Many thanks again to everyone who was a part of our big day. xx

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TunbridgeWellsAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for this very comprehensive review Alice, I very much enjoyed reading it as will the rest of my team here at Smiths who I know frequently read the reviews on this site - they'll be delighted to here your special day went so well. I wish you all the best with married life and look forward to you returning time and time again. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    282
    159
    71
    37
See reviews for
321
631
13
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night whilst returning from Scotland, on entering our room we were a little upset to see the floor had not been swept and had cornflakes scattered on it, in all fairness a call to reception sorted this and housekeeping came and cleared it up. the hotel didn't appear to enforce it smoking area, people seemed to be smoking outside the front entrance and the smell from this carried into reception and the bar area. The hotel is very close to the motorway so expect some traffic noise.

Room Tip: Probably quieter at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay_deakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for the feedback Jay, appreciate you writing it up. Not too sure why there was a pile of cornflakes in the middle of the floor, somewhat odd and a difficult thing to actually miss when cleaning a room. We do try and manage our smoking area, but it does become difficult certainly when its raining as guests naturally try and congregate under shelter as near to the building as possible, which usually means the entrance porch, which as you point out isn't ideal - to be honest I don't think we'll ever completely prevent this from happening, try as we may. Thanks again, regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here overnight with my partner and inn laws, the rooms are big well decorated and imacuatly clean. They are very well equipped with a large comfy bed, TV, DVD and a good selection of hot drinks. From the moment we arrived to the one we left notting was too much trouble for the staff. The restaurant is out of this world I will do a separate review for that but the food is some of the best I have ever had.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for this John, an absolute delight to read, likewise the review you posted for the restaurant. Do come back and see us again some time. regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We overnighted here on a trip up to Scotland as my son had recommended the hotel. We were very pleased we took his advice. From the receptionist to the bar staff all were friendly and helpful. We took advantage of a reasonably priced upgrade to a suite and what a treat it was. A lounge a kitchen, a bedroom and large screen TVs. Robes, slippers and a carpet that you sink into, it was great. We had dinner in the hotel and it was superb. Breakfast was just a breakfast, slightly spoiled by having to make my own toast which I burned. Will we stay again? Yes we will.

Room Tip: Get a front facing room away from the motorway side or get a Bensmoor suite. These suites are like c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John2358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Cheers john (and to your son for the initial recommendation) really pleased that all went well for you, apart from the burnt toast. Do come back if your around these parts again. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I am happy to provide a positive reflection on Smiths Hotel in gretna. They hosted our wedding and from start to finish it was a perfect day with every detail covered for our wedding. We hired 10 rooms for our guests and they were delighted with the standard of the accommodation , we were located in the Ash Suite which was big enough to hold a separate party and a good start to married life.
All the details were addressed by their wedding planners leaving no stone unturned in meeting our requirements for the day. Regular updates were provided about the venue and there was clear communication in organising the event. The staff were professional throughout the planning stage and the Beauty salon/ Hairdresser provided by Sharon and her team were on hand right up to the last minute, a godsend for the Bride and her attendees.
I would recommend anyone considering tying the knot to consider this venue seriously,it met all our requirements and exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: The rooms are all decorated to a high standard and sleep quality is assured throughout the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for this review Iain, it was a delight to read and i'm so very pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality. best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I booked this hotel directly with the hotel website on Monday 23rd June and received my email confirmation of the booking for one night on Wednesday 25th June. On arrival at the hotel (at 5:30pm), having driven 300+ miles!, I was met by the Reservations Manager to be told they had no record of my booking, despite me having an email confirmation of the booking. I was informed that the hotel was fully booked and they had no room for me. The Reservations Manager told me that there must have been "an IT problem with the booking" which she would investigate and get back to me. To date, I have received no contact from the hotel, despite me leaving my mobile telephone number and assurances that someone would contact me. So, stranded in Gretna, without a hotel, the Reservations Manager offered me a room at their Sister hotel, which was situated a few miles away at a rate of £45 per night. I went to this hotel and decided immediately that I didn't want to stay there. That said, I decided to drive home a further 250 miles rather than stay there. I am a regular business visitor to Scotland and I decided to book this hotel having seen previous positive reviews. After this experience, and complete lack of customer care, I would not use this hotel again in the future and neither will any of my colleagues in my company.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Tony - I fully appreciate your comments, it is certainly not ideal to find on arrival that we hadn't received your booking. Having looked into it there really isn't too much more that I can add or indeed shed light on, the booking did not come through to our front office system, which is interfaced with all booking engines taking live availability from our rooms inventory. It is very unfortunate that when you arrived that, yes we were already full and everyone had checked in leaving zero rooms left, if there had been one we most certainly would have accommodated you. Unfortunately our only option was to recommend another property locally, which you declined in favour of travelling on, again I regretfully appreciate this. These circumstances rarely happen but as we all know with IT interfaces do sometimes, albeit I don't recall it here in the last 4 years certainly. Again, my apologies, your headline of "awful treatment" is taken in the context of frustration and inconvenience, I do understand this. Do give me a call personally should you be passing by again as discussed, I'm sure amends can be made, that's why we are in hospitality after all. best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel this weekend (28/6/14) we were here for a wedding, we requested early check-in but sadly this wasn't possible. My girlfriend was a bridesmaid so was busy with the bride in her room but I had no where to get changed due to not being able to check in so had to get changed in the toilets. The was lovely and spacious, the bed was really comfortable. This is probably one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in in the UK. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The drinks prices were surprisingly low compared to other hotels. We had a meal at the wedding which was lovely. The breakfast we had this morning was nice, there was a choice of cereal, fruit or a full english, which was nice, altho the toaster seemed to either burn your toast or hardly toast it at all. Overall the hotel is excellent but for the price this is the standard you would expect. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again. I have seem some reviews for this hotel saying its looking tired or downhill but I couldnt disagree more. Excellent hotel and wedding venue

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments Steve, really appreciate it. Sorry you couldn't get in early, we get very high volumes of requests for early check ins and do try and honour as many as possible, alas its just not possible all the time. Good to hear the wedding you attended went well and that your overall experience was positive. In relation to your comment regarding other reviews, appreciate your disagreeing LOL, Tripadvisor is an unregulated feedback platform and opinions obviously vary and you have to take it all on board, if its nonsense however, then people reading it will see this to be sure and form their own conclusions as to whether we run a good ship and whether decent hotel . thanks again. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing