We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine and delicious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Not only is this a luxurious hotel, fantastic staff but the food is amazing - try the Venison, Cherries and White Chocolate - yep its a savoury main meal that will rock your taste buds but Dessert - a Twist on the Seaside or a B52 - Just go for the desserts if nothing else

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treasurechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Great review treasurechild, thank you so much - we are about to change the menu again for the winter - its sublime, really - best jump on a plane and get back here. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

977 - 983 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

loved this place went for our wedding anniversary room could lovely and the bed never slept as well in a hotel we will be back loved it we had cocktails on arrival newspaper to our room excellent breakfast and loads to choose from and fantastic price

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellie7175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks Shellie, see you back here for your next anniversary then!!. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a fabulous time - the hotel staff were so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us - I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - we had a fantastic time and stayed here for 4 nights - the food is gorgeous too

Try the mega cocktails!

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Debbie. Thank you so much for the review and for the fantastic email you sent me - what a joy it was to read and share. Do come back and see us again when back in the UK. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Large clean rooms with large bath and plenty of hot water. All the expected facilities. Courteous staff and relaxed and pleasant atmosphere. Food is good and reasonably priced even if the presentation is a little too fancy. Very good breakfast with lots of choice.
Glad I was booked here.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Nethyman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Simon. Nice review, many thanks. I too am glad that you were booked here. all the best, Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Having tried unsuccessfully to phone the hotel from a motorway service area we just turned up and had no problem getting a room at an acceptable/good price. Receptionist very pleasant and welcoming, room well presented, with all one may need for a one night stop. Having driven almost 400 miles in the day, mostly motorway and all the time nursing a bad cold, we made our way to the bar for a relaxing, soothing drink. I ordered a large Black Label, but some instinct made me ask the price as the barman was getting ready to pour the drink, to be told the double whisky would cost £14!! I changed my mind to a cheaper brand but even then the drinks were very expensive. Restaurant meals looked rather pricey as well so we decided to have a bar meal, which was excellent, with very pleasant service. Breakfast was very good with a good choice of quality product but not, I noted sadly Stornoway black pudding. Service throughout was excellent and we would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks for the review donnieg, appreciate your feedback. I agree we are not particularly cheap, but i wouldnt say that we are inappropriately expensive either. The Black Label 12 year old (very nice) is £7 per shot (35ml), but the standard Black Label is £3.80, you were clearly quoted the premium in this instance - apologies if this was not the one you wanted. These premium brands are quite pricey no getting away from it im afraid. Glad you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay following such an ardous journey. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

we went to the smiths with a wedding party,when we booked we were charged £290 for 2 nights only to find out everyone else had been charged £210 but was reassured by the groom that we would only have to pay the same because he had been in touch and sorted it all out,when we arrived we were charged the full amount and told they knew nothing about it ,even though the groom had the emails on his phone to prove that this had been agreed,i think our treatment was an absoloute disgrace,and the manageress was very rood.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Colin - you did not book the preferential rate when it was available like the rest of the party did (except one other who also penned a negative review on this site - "Extortionate"!!) Put simply the party requests x amount of block rooms when booking a wedding at a preferential price - these rooms at the reduced rate are held for a set amount of time allowing guests to confirm whether they want them and then released if not taken, allowing me to sell them to other potential guests via websites, other parties etc and usually the price flexes up as less and less rooms are available indicating high demand on that particular date, thus prices are set accordingly ( i am a business after all). You booked through one of these alternative channels at a different time and price, im sorry about that but the option was there for an appropriate amount of time. You mention the receptionist was rude to you - one must consider how you spoke to her and then question who was actually being rude. Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic wedding the venue was great the staff fantastic and couldn't be anymore attentive , our party had 25 and the food was superb commented on by all . Everybody thoughly enjoyed themselves and Much thanks to all the management on our special day. p crossland

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Cheers Madnev, great review. good to hear that all 25 of you had a good time and enjoyed our food and staff. All the very best to you, regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: $99 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing