We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff, great food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
uckfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Staff, great food and service”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had our wedding at Gretna Green Blacksmiths and stayed at this hotel which is literally over the road. Fantastic hotel, lovely food, great cocktails, service and staff. The hairdressers Spoils within the hotel is lovely too, really listen to what you want.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Nice short post Tracey , all sounding good, thank you for writing it up. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    298
    164
    72
    41
See reviews for
345
666
13
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night in August and all in all were pleasantly surprised. When we arrived I was a little disappointed as it initially didn't feel as there was much "character" seemed like a glorified Premier Inn. However when we got to our room we found that it was much larger and nicely decorated than other hotels of this type. It really was a very pleasant surprise. The most unexpected thing about the hotel was the amazing food. We ate in the restaurant and I have to say everything we ate was amazing. My partner had eaten most of his meal when he found something wrong with it, it was replaced with no question but a sincere apology, with a new meal cooked from scratch. Breakfast was good as well with lots of choice. All in all we left very contented!

Room Tip: Rooms on the car park side are quieter (as ours was).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamBHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
adam, thanks for the post. So glad that your initial impressions were quickly forgotten when you walked in and then experienced the food. We are a relatively young hotel, 7 years with a modern feel externally and admittedly not everyones cup of tea from a design point of view. Clearly not one to be overly extravagant on your praise, im very glad that you left feeling content. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My daughter was married in the Penthouse Suite & the staff were so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The day was wonderful - all she wanted & we had such a great day too. The staff were so patient answering all the questions we had & helping to make my daughter & son-in-law's day a very special one.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Jan, nice review straight to the point, no nonsense. really good to read that all was up to scratch on the day. do come back and see us again sometime. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked our wedding package through Smiths at Gretna Green which included a ceremony at The Blacksmith's shop and a meal back at the hotel. We had family members with us who also stayed at the hotel.

We had as much contact with the wedding planner as we required. Throughout the process the team were very helpful and professional. On the day, the wedding planners were especially thoughtful and made me feel very special.

The food was excellent- bigger portions than we have previously received in the restaurant but of an equally high standard. Nothing was too much trouble for the restaurant and bar staff- they delayed our food as we weren't ready for it, served the toast later than we had first asked and brought it up to our suite.

The only downside was that on one morning, the corridor did smell slightly of sick! Not the hotel's fault and it was clear they had made an additional effort to clean it after it had been mentioned to reception.

Overall, a fantastic experience! We are looking forward to going back to celebrate our anniversary!

Room Tip: Book the Ash suite for a special occasion- lovely views from the balcony! Family rooms are also goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Great review Heather, sounds like all went well, im so glad. It is such a nice feeling amongst the team, most of whom you wouldve come in contact with, when we get feedback like this, knowing that we've contributed in some wway to ths special day and that no doubt we will meet up again when you return. Great stuff, thank you. regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I was a wedding guest at my sisters wedding, she stayed here where we stayed just down the road to respect privacy after wedding, she got Married in the blacksmiths then we came here for the wedding meal. The food was lovely and a few of us said the best prawn cocktail we had tasted, after the meal we wasn't rushed to vacate the private room we had the meal in and it even had an I pod dock where we could have music and dance, staff were very helpful and polite and I loved the way they kept the empty glasses in the fridge! Beer prices were a bit steep but to be expected in the area that we were in so we were prepared. Overall an enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thanks for the review Melanie, glad that all went well at your sisters wedding and indeed that you enjoyed your experience with us. best Prawn cocktail ever hey! Not bad at all that. Do come back again when you get the chance. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Try to ask for a room at the front of the hotel as the traffic noise at the back of hotel is really bad we have stopped her before and I think because we used your company you get put into the rubbish rooms we were also were put into a family room that was a little run down, why when there was only the two of us, we got married here three years ago and it was a return trip as my father is now. V I'll with cancer and wonted to treat him to a couple of days away as he loved this place but we were very disappointed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
sorry to read of your dissapointment Anne, not what we want at all. "Rubbish rooms" as a term, a bit harsh i'd say, but i will take it in the context of complaint that you intended. As your only down the road Anne, im sure you'll be back in soon, so do pop into my office and say hello and we'll catch up then. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We would definitely go back to this hotel. Our room was very well set out - lovely decor and bedding. Great sized bath - huge bath towels (& I'm no size 10!) very comfy bed with an assortment of pillow types to suit our needs. Good supply of various teas, coffee, delicious hot chocolate, full size kettle with decent size mugs and some delicious short bread were all in the room.
Room service available with £4 tray charge - menu in room. Plenty lights around the room, good size TV with DVD player. Very comfy pair of club chairs on a rug in front of the fire near the window which opened very easily. Lovely view. A great weekend (2 night stay fri to sun). We would love to come back.
We tried a cocktail each - great service and very nice. Also the bar service for food ordered was great and the self service breakfast was delicious with a huge variety of cereals, juices, fruit, yoghurt, full Scottish breakfast, toast, butters, jams, marmalades & Nutella. Coffee and tea in pots and the staff were extremely polite.
A great weekend was had by all :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thats a corking review Karen & Geoff, thanks very much`. The pictures you put up, superb also, see you had the nachos, lovely arent they...huge as well, just right to snack on in company with them cocktails you described. Thanks again for the post, regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
923 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
389 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing