We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
ABERDEEN
Level Contributor
204 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Lovely stopover”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Although we only stayed one night we were very satisfied with our experience.Our bedroom which overlooked the front of the hotel was spacious,well appointed and contained everything required to make our stay comfortable.Special mention must be made of the bed which was exceptionally comfortable.Breakfast was A1,the selection being very extensive and good quality.Our evening meal was also satisfactory and decent value for money BUT please put the seafood platter back on the menu!!
We have used this hotel in the past primarily for evening meal purposes but will undoubtedly use the accommodation in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewencrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for the review Ewen, great to read that you enjoyed the room as much as the food. With notice chef will prepare you a seafood platter, no problem, just give us a call and ask to be put through to Stephen or Phil in the kitchens. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    298
    164
    72
    41
See reviews for
345
666
13
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 on our way to London. We decided to stay here as we were doing a long trip to London. The hotel was very easy to find, and looked great from outside. Inside was just as good. We arrived a little before 1pm and were told our room wasn't ready. We decided to have a drink in the bar and within 15mins someone came to tell us our room was ready. When we got into our room, it was exactly as pictured on the website. There were also tealight candles set around the room for ambience and a gorgeous bunch of flowers with a note wishing us luck on our move.
We had dinner in the bar that evening and the food was very nice. There were a lot of people there for weddings etc but not once did we feel out of place, nor did the service slip due to it being busy.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marielouise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for the review MarieLouise, im delighted with your comments. Really glad you found us for your stop off, we have quite a few stop with us for the very same reason as yourself , long trip mid point break sort of thing. Its always good to read that our service remains consistent even when busy. Ive a superb team here who really enjoy the people they meet and the environment from which they work from and this clearly shows in your feedback, so thanks for that. Do drop in again when next travelling this way. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is slowly going down hill since it first opened. We arrived at 3.45 pm and our room was not ready. Early evening, around 6pm, we went for a bar upper which took 55 mins to arrive but the food was good. At breakfast I had to search through plates to find one which had not stuck on food on it. No white sugar or marmalade on the table. The room was in need of a good dust and was getting very tacky.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mod68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Mod68, Thanks again for your feedback albeit we dont seem to be getting it quite right for you. I will share your comments with the tteam, thanks again, regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We went up to Gretna to get married on the 21 June 2013, the night before we had a family meal in the restaurant which was outstanding. Everything from the starters to the dessert was excellent. The polish waitress was very attentive and an asset to the Hotel. The kids loved their Mr McGregors Surprise as need the couples around us, as they watched the kids faces as they tucked into it. The cheese trolley is to a cheese lovers delight.

Our wedding day was second to none, staff in Spoilts pampered my daughter and myself. Nicola looked after us the day before and the day of our wedding and she could not do enough for us.

Returning to the hotel after the wedding we were greeted with bucks fizz and canapies all of which was lush.

The wedding breakfast was as expected, ...not to the same high standard as the meal the night before in their restaurant, but was still a gorgeous meal.

It is with deep regret there is a downside, which was the couple in the next room had a live band which staff at the Smiths were not aware off. The band setup against the adjacent wall and the noise was unbearable, we could not even talk amongst ourselves or even hear our music over the live band. It ended up that we had to be moved into the public bar area. This is not what we paid for and understandably it caused me upset as every bride wants their day to be perfect.

However, Darren Lloyd the general manager has been very helpful in our complaint, and I only hope that for all future bookings they will ensure they know what entertainment people are having as I would hate for any future bride to experience what we did.

So, thank you Darren for resolving the issue with Pete and am sure in time we will call in and have a 'wee dram with you.

Overall, the Blacksmiths Shop is perfect for those that don't want the big traditional white wedding. The Smiths Hotel itself caters for families and couples alike, the decor is very classy and the restaurant competes with any Michelin rated restaurant. Definately worth a stay if you are in the area and treat yourself to a meal in the restaurant as you will not be disappointed.

Vicki & Pete

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Vicki and Pete, thanks for putting up such a review, really appreciate this and so good to read that such a special day will be remembered for the right reasons. Really good to speak to you on the phone also, and i look forward to sharing a glass of fizzy with you on your return. You've got my number and email, let me know when your coming back, regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My visit to this hotel was at the invitation of a bride and groom.
Having passed by Gretna many, many times on M6/M74 I wasn't expecting much but this is a modern three floor building with elevators to each floor and, of course, is designed (like the rest of the town) for the wedding business - for which it is well equipped with hair salon, several small private dining rooms, nice and reasonably priced bar etc.

I saw several rooms and all were, like mine, large and comfortably furnished.
If I was to hunt for a complaint it was that my electronic key card failed a couple of times and I had to schlep along a corridor and down to reception to get it corrected.
Sorry guys - this happened to some others in my party and the excuse of "it must have been near your credit cards " does not fly - get it sorted.

Dinner and the buffet breakfast were excellent. Dinner service was impeccable - the Polish maitresse d' was a credit to the hotel.
Most importantly the radiant bride was happy that her guests all had a great time.

Here's a thought, this hotel is worth an overnight stay if you are driving from, say London to Glasgow. It's good, the town is pleasant and local scenery is worth a second look.
Just don't get in the way of all the brides - I hear there were twenty on the Saturday I was there.

Room Tip: Saw several but for example 8 had a balcony All amenities were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David82605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
David, i see you are a frequent contributor on Tripadvisor with some very honest, balanced reviews, just how this site should operate, so i am delighted at your feedback being so positive. Those keycards are superb , but are somewhat temprimental at times, obviously doesnt help if they are programmed incorrectly though!!!sorry about that. Anyway, lets hope you are back in the UK in the near future, you'll always be welcome here. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We visited and immediately fell in love with the place, we booked our wedding in May 12, we returned in Jan to finalise our wedding arrangements and will be returning in 2 weeks for the event. The food is excellent and the wedding planners are second to none, always on hand to answer any queries we have, if the service received so far is duplicated on our wedding it will be an amazing day. see you soon keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roorooloveslala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
RooRoo. Thanks for the review, great stuff. The countdown is really on now isnt it - just a few more days and you'll be back. Good luck and i look forward to seeing you on the day. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at the hotel and we arrived in Gretna on the 20th June ready for our wedding on the 21st, we had the Rose Suite booked which was amazing, very clean & tidy. We had 40 guests attending the wedding most of whom also stayed at Smiths. We ate in the lounge on the first evening and the food was great, well presented and priced. Breakfast is simply amazing with everything you can think of!

The day of the wedding everything went so smoothly, the staff were great and did everything they could & more to make life easy for me. The wedding breakfast was perfect, everybody loved the food and again served & presented well very. My husband & I had a wonderful wedding here & will most definitely return for an anniversary.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Jennifer, many thanks for putting up your post. Great to hear that you had such a fantastic time. My staff will be over the moon pleased with your comments, as am i. Come back and see us again soon, no need to wait a whole year!!!. Get that husband of yours to treat you to a cheeky night away back in the Rose. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
923 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
388 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing