We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We got married here march 2011 it was the best day of our lives we have come back for our anniversaries the hotel is amazing & the staff lovely food friendly people also at the blacksmith shop frank made our day extra special such a nice guy.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willgina03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Great feedback WillGina, Frank will be delighted with the personal mention. All the very best to you both. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,097 - 1,103 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

Spent two nights at the fantastic Smiths for my son's wedding weekend! We were upgraded to a balcony room at no extra cost - very spacious and lovely views! The staff were all very obliging and acted promptly to any requests. Only downside was for 2 couples in our party who weren't able to have early access to their rooms on the first day as they weren't ready - but Smiths sent a bottle of champagne to each of their rooms - well done Smiths!
Lovely lovely hotel in lovely lovely Gretna Green!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for the review Ann, good to hear that you enjoyed the 2 days with us and with a comp upgrade, bonus!. Do come back and visit us again soon, regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed in a local B&B but ate at Smiths.

An OK meal, but we avoided the more extravagant menu items. e.g. Salmon sandwich which turned out to be, salmon between white bread and deep fried! One of number of puzzling options.

The serving staff were welcoming and efficient, and the environment comfortable.

I suggest the chef tones it down and reduces the experimentation.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

David, many thanks for your post. Of course the Mackerel Sandwich dish (not Salmon) is not to everyones taste, but we like to try these things and as we change this menu frequently, if the feedback is mixed then it is simply taken off and replaced. We like to offer variety, experimentation and with the majority of choices, simply well executed dishes without the fanfare to try and accomodate different guests needs, some want simple , some want creative, if i simply stand still and offer the same old fayre over and over my restaurant wouldnt be the success it is, which im sure you can appreciate. Thanks again for sharing your views , I really do value and consider them as a tool in ensuring a guest focused hotel. Thanks again, regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Was looking forward to a nice meal in the restaurant. Fist impressions were good, the bar is nice and the waiters were quick.

We were escorted to the restaurant by a lovely waiter who I could not fault the whole evening. It is the chef that lets this place down. The starters were poor but the mains worse, both me and my husband left quite a bit. I ordered the steak and at £29 was expecting it to be juicy, instead it was overlooked and dry.

For a meal that cost over£100 I would expect more from the chef!,,,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shar0nD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thanks for the review Sharon, albeit you didnt enjoy the meal. Clearly this is dissapointing. We dont tend to have many issues at all with food quality, so wheras i am sorry that you didnt enjoy your meal it is extremely hard for me to except such a sweeping generalisation that the chef lets the hotel down, this simply isnt fair nor true based on one experience. Thanks again for your comments i absolutely will share them with the team and my further apologies that we didnt live up to your expectations on this occasion. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Iv stayed here before a couple of years ago , it was pretty new then, it's not looking so shiny and new, perhaps that can be expected, maybe need some tlc?
Not the hotels fault but children were playing along the corridor , why do people allow their kids to do as they wish,? It's a hotel not a playground.
I had dinner in the bar/lounge as the restaurant was way above my travel allowance for dinner, £22 for a main and £8 for a starter, please!
The food in the bar was absolutely fine, I had chicken burger for my mains, a small handful of skinny chips, c'mon get a grip!
I had a good sleep, breakfast was fine, service all round was good

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thanks Jimbo, i appreciate your very honest feedback and note your extensive reviews on this site, which again are all very well balanced, sensible and a fine example of how Tripadvisor should be used. Absolutely the restaurant menu isnt for everyone and sometimes wont fit the expenses budget, but this is why we have the bar/lounge menu also, so as to offer something for everyone at every pricepoint. Noted about the chips, we need to get a grip there - no reason at all to give meagre portions. Thanks again best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I admit to having some concerns about the whole Gretna Green experience. However, my doubts were completely unfounded. This is an outstanding hotel, as good as any we have stayed in and the staff were very welcoming and helpful.

It was modern, clean, and very comfortable, in pristine condition and had an excellent wi-fi service. The breakfast menu had everything from healthy eating to the full Scottish all excellent quality. My daughter’s wedding was very well presented and efficiently organised in a professional way.

My only criticism is there was no information /instruction pack in the rooms. Although probably not too much of a problem for regulars hotel visitors but for weddings I would suspect that not all guests would be regulars and would struggle with the lighting and heated towel rail.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thanks for the post Mal. So often people have a similar view of Gretna Green , possibly through a reputation of old, when quality was somewhat lacking and as with all things its the bad reputations that seem to overshadow the current true experience of the village and its facilities. Anyway , great to read that you had such a good time - do spread the word. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had our wedding here on 4th April, with 20 guests and we stayed two nights in a balcony room. The room was lovely and comfortable and breakfast was good too!
We live over 300 miles away, so all our organising was done via email. I must say I was a little disapponted with our wedding planner; we did not meet her until the morning of the wedding (maybe a coffee and catch up on arrival would have been nice, for apprehensive brides) and all she did was show us our party room (we were doing our own decorations). The groom had to go looking for her because he had not been informed of any details/arrangments either and was pointed to the direction of the Blacksmiths Shop. We felt we were left out on a limb.
The Blacksmiths Shop staff were amazing and really made our wedding fab.
When we came back to the hotel for the 'reception' we did not know where to go as another wedding party had just returned and we had to wait before going in our room; we waited in the bar until we were called.
The barman in the evening was very good and the food was lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel Amanda. Im obviously delighted at the mainly positive comments, but of course frustrated at the feedback in realtion to your view of service via the wedding team . I am sorry that you didnt appear to recieve the attention that you wanted, i fully appreciate the need for direction on such an important day and im surprised that we didnt deliver, we honestly get it so right, so to hear your experience is very dissapointing. Thanks again for the review, it is very much appreciated. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: $98 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing