We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - can't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had our wedding here on 12th April, following months of planning! Not a big affair, 31 guests, all stayed at the hotel for 1 or 2 nights with us.

We just can't fault the stay and our wedding in any way, it was just excellent from start to finish. The hotel staff were all great, very attentive on our wedding day and helpful to all our guests. We've had many comments from our guests, all say that they think the rooms are great, extremely comfortable, clean, spacious. We asked to dine the night before our wedding, there were 24 of us and the restaurant had no trouble in arranging 1 long table for us and serving all food on time, etc. My wife an I have stayed at Smiths a couple of times and always have found the food to be very good.

The organisation for the wedding was superbly executed by staff and our very special thanks to Heidi Jones for making everything happen so smoothly. The staff all paid very close attention on the day, nothing was too much trouble and everyone was well looked after from start to finish.

We honestly just can't praise Smiths and their staff enough and we're looking forward to returning for a night on our first anniversary!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arby1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks for the review Arby, its hard not to be happy when you read such comments first thing in the morning. Thanks also for highlighting Heidi, im truly lucky to have her in my team. all the best for married life and i look forward to your return. Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,104 - 1,110 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights for our daughter's wedding organised by Smiths wedding planners. We had a wonderful time. The service and helpfulness of staff was excellent. The rooms were lovely and spotlessly clean. The food for the reception was excellent. The hairdressers were very good.

Thank you to Smiths for giving us such a good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thanks for putting your review in Sal, appreciate it. I simply never get tired of reading such pleasant reviews about guest experiences at the hotel. It tells me that we are doing something right and is testimony to the staff i have here. All of whom genuinely enjoy working at Smiths and meeting all you guys. Thanks again, we look forward to a speedy return, regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Have stayed here several times for single nights as a stopover half way to/from North of Scotland. Rooms are large, stylish, clean and very comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. We love the food in the restaurant - gourmet style, seasonal, local, beautifully cooked and presented and plenty of choice. Breakfast the following morning was also excellent! Can't understand the negative comments on here. Prices are very reasonable for what you get. Free wi-fi was available in the room. We were upgraded to a suite on our last visit at no extra cost and were greeted with champagne on ice in the room, chocolates, and all the other extras that go with a suite. Lovely! Will stay here whenever we make this trip and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Br0nc0s_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thanks Broncos-fan really enjoyed reading the review. It is always pleasing to know that a multiple stay guest is happy and that we are doing things right. Our location is indeed very handy for a mid journey stop off from pretty much anywhere in the Uk whilst travelling North - South, glad you found us. In relation to negative comments, they are always going to appear (that is simply the realities of the hospitality industry in that we cant please everyone all of the time, lest we try!), some fair, some complete nonsense, but if the fair negative comments are absorbed and we are not quite right for some guests then fair enough, i'd prefer that they find a hotel more suited to their taste/preferences than come here and not enjoy the visit and in that respect Tripadvisor has done the informative job it is here for, aiding the traveller in the decision process of where to stay. Anyway, thanks again for the comments and your continued business, best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Chose bar menu but asked if we could eat it the restaurant as the restaurant menu had less appeal and less choice. Though the three of s were allowed to eat the bar menu it was clear they were not that happy about it which seeing as only half the tables had people on them I couldn't see the issue. Food was good notably the sheppard s pie was lovely though my colleagues chicken burger looked like three chicken nuggets on a bun. My advise is don't dress up. Go casual and just in the bar. It's comfortable bar menu more appealing and better value. For the prices being charged in main restaurant I'd expect five Star service which this hotel lacks have stayed but due to lack of wifi in bedrooms opted for nearby lodge as it had free wifi and just ate there.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bmwroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments BMWRoadster, much appreciated, i welcome all opinions. Obviously taste and preference vary considerably from one person to the next in terms of percieved value, choice and quality. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the bar/lounge menu however. We offer both A La Carte and said menu simply to address as many guests requirements as possible, those wanting high end fine dining in the restaurant and those who simply want beans on toast or whatever - we will happily give anything the guest wants (within reason, obviously), no bother. We're not overly precious about who sits where, yes the restaurant is fully set for A La Carte dining with napkins , ice buckets etc etc, quite formal one might say and probably not the majority's first choice of seating to take the bar menu, prefering the less formal, probably more comfortable sofas and chairs in the lounge and bistro, but everyones different as i said earlier. Sorry you felt that the staff were not happy with your request, this simply wasnt the intention to make you feel awkward or an inconvenience in any way. We offer free WIFI throughout the entire hotel, so not sure why you couldnt get on. Thanks again for the comments, they were fair and balanced. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights for my sister's wedding we paid 100.00 per night. Room was small and not clean. There was a build up of cobwebs in the bathroom door. The carpet was stained and the bathroom floor dirty. It is advertised as a boutique hotel I have stayed in better premier inns than this for a lot less. There is no hotel information in the room and we had two tv channels in our room both sports channels. My view was of the M6.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_roberts23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Sorry you feel this way about the hotel. I can assure you we have more than 2 TV channels - all the freeview options plus SKY Sports, so in excess of 50. It is of course dissapointing to read such comments and to think that a guest has gone away let down with the exerience. Our rooms are well above average size, even our standard rooms have a sit off area with club chairs and feature fireplace, so its a little surprising to hear that they are small, even more surprising to read that they are dirty, as this is certainly not our standard. Thanks for the comments , all feedback is shared and actioned where appropriate. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I live locally to this hotel and went for a meal here one Saturday night. We are not accustomed to 'gourmet' food and after looking at the menu we were given (the gourmet one) we decided to ask for the bar menu because we only fancied steak off the gourmet menu and didnt fancy paying £30 for it! Being local we thankfully knew the other menu existed but the man who brought it to us didnt seem impressed! We orderd off the bar menu and felt a slight atmosphere when our starters were brought to us but they were delicious so we didnt care! While we were eating our next course (equally as yummy) a young couple came into the restaurant and looked over the gourmet menu two or three times, clearly having the problem that we had! The young man asked if there was any other menu and was told by a lady ( looked like a manager not a waitress) that this was the only menu! My husband and I were appalled, as we ate our burger and steak pie, that this young man would likely end up spending a weeks wages on food he didnt even want! People all over the restaurant seemed to be having similar problems as they were ordering chips alongside the gourmet food!
Overall the service is brilliant, food very nice (if a bit pricey) and the atmosphere is relaxing...but don't be afraid to ask for the bar menu if the gourmet one dosnt appeal to you! There is absolutely a place for this up market hotel and food in Gretna, however most of the time people just want a steak pie and chips!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Joka04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thanks for the feedback Joka. How very strange that this scenario occured , i cant quite fathom it. As you correctly say, we do have an extremely popular/extensive bar/lounge menu which is always available and clearly laid out on all of the bar and lounge area tables - We have this menu for the very reasons you describe, some guests simply prefer a nice burger, homemade pie or a simple butty as opposed to the A La Carte menu. Thanks again for the post, much appreciated. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Lovely hotel, very stylish decor, large room with huge bed and all frills, lovely food, fish and chips were 5* presented and high quality. All staff very friendly and attentative, breakfast in the morning was very wholesome and tasty, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Silver-bluemotion, thanks for the review, so pleasing to read that your time with us was a pleasurable one. Do motor back to us some time soon. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: $99 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing