We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch of luxury, without luxurious price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Touch of luxury, without luxurious price”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

At this time of year the bed and breakfast rate is a bargain. I suspect it might be dearer when the wedding season really gets going.
All of the staff we encountered were friendly and welcoming.
The room was lovely and a bit luxurious looking. Everything was clean but the towels were looking a little old.

We also had dinner in the hotel. The atmosphere of the bar and restaurant area is really sophisticated but yet still has warmth and romance. The food is fine dining and has a price to match. It is about £20 for a main course. Our meals were really good though, so it is pretty good value for money.

Breakfast was also really good.

This would make a great place to go for a romantic getaway, without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwitRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Twitrobin, many thanks for the review, your second i note. You are correct, this time of year my bedroom rates flex enormously, allowing for some truly great deals (without the drop in standards though!). Do keep an eye on our website and particularly the Smiths Facebook page as all of our very best deals are on there. "Like" our page and you will be in the loop, so to speak. All the very best and do drop me a line next time you are coming back again, i'd like to say hello personally. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    299
    165
    74
    41
See reviews for
351
671
13
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Me and my fiancé stayed here for one night on our way to comrie! Had an amazing night here the hotel is lovely! friendly, helpful and professional staff! food in bar area really nice and great value for money would defiantly stay here again :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for the comments Jenna, really appreciate you taking the time. Now you know where we are, there is no excuse not to come back. We look forward to your return. all the best Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Won a night away through competition at work. Booked valentines weekend and loved the Hotel. Very classy and week worth the 4 star rating. Called night before to confirm booking and was info,red had a balcony room (ideal as rooms at from with view over Gretna Green and hills etc) when arrived a bit disappointed to be informed room changed and was standard room (no apology just a remark that it was a complimentary upgrade anyway, ok ?) However standard room was deluxe and very very nice :-). Get used to the drone of the a/c unit outside the room after a few hours. Lift was out of service time I was there and for folk like myself with mobility issues this was a bit of a hindrance, few bridal parties there and watched a bride struggle to lift her dress tryi g to go up the three small flights to the first floor :-/ Champagne was included and must say thought this was one of the best bottles I had tasted, so enjoyed that. The meal up to £60 was also included and enjoyed this immensely, quality and presentation fantastic (bit pricey if paying but worth it)
Staff pleasant enough and service good. Really worth the visit and ideally situated right across from the Blacksmiths Anvil and Green. Wedding packages worth a look for those looking for a deal and package.
Front reception did lack a bit of atmosphere though, some background music perhaps ?
All in all nice wee night away, room fantastic and meal lovely !

Room Tip: Ask for front room, rooms at back bit noisy with a/c unit and motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for the review Paula, great to read such an honest review (had a few dodgy and suspicious ones of late, but thats Tripadvisor!!!)
Sorry about the lift, unfortunately somebody decied to jump up and down in it causing it to get stuck and blew some sort of electric board, which unfortunately has taken over 5 days to get on order. Anyway, great to hear you enjoyed your stay. All the best for now, regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel as a whole is lovely, could not fault the room, that is until we saw the bathroom. We had been placed in the disabled access room (ironic as the lift to the room didn't work) and so the bathroom very much resembled one from a hospital, both in appearance and smell. As a carer myself I was made to feel as though I had paid to spend the night at work, this put a dampener on the whole experience. We only arrived at the room late as we were attending a wedding and so we kept our complaints until the morning (the hotel was full so they couldn't have moved us anyway). However, when we did complain the lady on reception was incredibly rude, she waited until I had finished talking and then said "so how are you paying", there was no attempt made at an apology which was unacceptable.

On the plus side, the food was lovely (better in the morning than on the wedding day itself) and the staff at breakfast could not do enough to help.

So all in all a great hotel, let down by a few key things that could be so easily rectified by better staffing.and communication. Unfortunately I would not stay here again, I expected more for the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rache441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for the review, albeit you didnt appreciate the bathroom. Of the 50 bedrooms we have here we do naturally have a couple of accesible bathroom options, which im sure as a carer you can appreciate. im truly sorry that you feel so strongly about being allocated such a bathroom (with grip handles in), but as you correctly mention we were unable to re - allocate another room, which we absolutely wouldve done had we not been full and your particular room type available. It is obviously dissapointing to read that you enjoyed every other aspect of the hotel , but would not return based on this. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked our wedding through Smiths hotel wedding planners ( Lisa ) had no problems, arrived the day bed our wedding - check in was fine receptionist was friendly - we were given the Rosé Suite what a lovely room - no complaints, had dinner from the lounge menu that evening again no complaints, the mornings of the wedding I spoke with Lisa who suggested we head over to the Blacksmiths shop to have a look around and speak with the staff which we did they were very helpful and answered all our questions !!! I had my hair and make-up done at Spoilt all the girls were very nice and chatty and I loved my hair ( can't remember girls name but she had just got married herself) !!! As it was just the 2 of us we headed over to the blacksmiths shop 10 min before our service and where met by 2 men who work there both very pleasant - service went ahead without any problems we had our photos taken by Colin Carpenter and again very helpful and friendly man, we returned to the hotel had some drinks in the lounge were all the staff as well as other guests congratulated us on our marriage !!!!! That evening we had dinner in the restaurant a bit pricey but lovely all the same !!!!! Over all we had a wonderful wedding day and lovely stay at Smiths Hotel. All that was left for us to do was come home and tell family and friends that we had got married !!!!! would defiantly recommend wither you are having a wedding just the 2 of you or a big doo !!!!! Mr & Mrs Laidlaw

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for the review Kerry, much appreciated. I am so very pleased to read that your day went so well for you both. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto all those mentioned, thanks again, i look forward to your return, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We used this hotel as part of our wedding experience.Thankfully we never held our wedding here.
No working lift for our 3 day stay.
We asked for extra milk in our hotel and a member of staff insisted on checking how much we had before giving us more.
We booked a Valentines evening meal at the reception only to find that there was no record of this when we checked by chance.
One of the room service meals comes with chunky bread but that didn't arrive.
We were supposed to have complimentary Champagne in the room but no sign of this.
When we booked my wife asked if they would be able to help her with her dress and was told no problem. She had to call reception 3 times to get someone to agree to help.
Dirty cups left in room, bed not made.
Shambles.

Room Tip: Don't do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barreb1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Barreb, What a very dissapointing review, i am truly sorry that you feel this way about your stay and i appreciate your feedback. The lift has been out of action for a few days , yes, unfortunately an incident involving one particular guest jumping up and down in the lift caused it to malfunction and stick on one of the floors. The damage requires a new part which the engineer has had to order and then return to fit. This incident i appreciate is frustrating and not a scenario i am particularly happy with myself, alas there was very little i could do to speed up the fix. Your other comments are so far removed from our everyday standards and so unlike all the other feedback we have recieved this week that I truly do not have answers as to why your experience was so poor, but youve left feeling let down and for that i am truly sorry. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for our wedding and the staff could not of been more helpful. We checkedd in on the friday afternoon with about 30 of our guests, all our rooms were ready as promised including 2 rooms set up to accomodate our nephews.
The morning of our wedding staff arranged for the penthouse suite to be ready for me and my bridesmaids to get ready in early whch was nice to have the extra room and the champgne went down a treat. There was a couple of problems with the room (tv in the bed didn't work and the ipod docking station was broke) neither of these caused us any major upset just slightly disapointed. Apart from these little problems I would highly reccommend the suite.
When it was time for us to start leaving for Anvil Hall, again I would highly recommend, everything went smoothly. Carly arranged with the drivers of the cars times for my Husband and all groomsmen to leave then bridesmaids and finally me and my dad. All this I didn't have to worry about. Even down to when it was time for me to leave she rang and said a couple of our guests where just checking in and to wait a few mins so they didn't see me in my wedding dress. All the personal touches makes the difference.
When we arrived back as Mr&Mrs the service didn't stop. Our events co-ordinator a gentlemen, which his name I've forgot sorry, he was amazing from meeting us at the entrance to the bar bill at the end of the night, he really is a credit to the hotel.
Our mela at the wedding was a pleasent surprise. so much attention to detail.
Hopefully returning for our 1st anniversary in September. Thank you all again.
Mr & Mrs Sweeney

Room Tip: The penthouse is to die for!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for putting up your rteview Claire, I hope married life since September is all you wanted it to be. Really pleased to read such comprehensive praise for the hotel and my staff. Your anniversary will be upon you in no time and i look forward to you returning, best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
938 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
396 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing