We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

beautiful boutique hotel in Gretna,looks unremarkable from the outside but once inside its a different story luxury rooms and bathrooms very spacious.
The restaurant food is excellent quality with friendly efficient service and good wine list.
The lounge bar area has luxurious couches to relax infront of the fire after a gastro delight.
Amazing value for money on the accomodation side. Dinner pricier but worth every penny.
The only place to stay in this neck of the woods

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thanks for the superb review Happy, always good to read. look forward to seeing you back here soon. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
There are newer reviews for Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,102 - 1,108 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

My daughter wanted to get married over the Anvil at the Old Blacksmiths Shop at Gretna Green. She booked and paid for a 2 night wedding package at the Smiths Hotel opposite which included the Blacksmith Shop. On arrival they booked in at reception and were shown their room. There were roses on the bed, a vase of flowers, canapés. And a bottle of Champagne, just as it was advertised. Unfortunately the canapés were all various types of fish. And neither of them eats fish. The Champagne was not very nice and undrinkable and they had to leave it.
They then went to meet the Hotels wedding planner. who whilst she very helpful when booking the package, did not give them much informationfor the day, other than: - be across the road at 10 45.
The following morning my husband and I arrived at the hotel for the Wedding. On entering reception, there was no atmosphere at all
We thought it would be a happy joyous place but not so, we went up to the Daughters room to see a nearly full bottle of Champagne and a plate of uneaten canapés.
The wedding service was perfect a very special and happy occasion, and a pleasure to be part of. The Registrar was very nice along with the staff of the Blacksmiths Shop (Separate review) we had plenty of time for Photos and then returned to Smiths Hotel.
On returning to the Hotel we past and saw several members of staff and none said Congratulations to the Bride or Groom, again there was no atmosphere
Later one of the bedroom staff did congratulate her and said how nice she looked,
We went into the lounge for a drink before the meal, here again there not the atmosphere one would expect for such an occasion.
We ordered the meal and were shown to a table for the six of us which was well laid out. The meals to say the least were very poor. I had Spaghetti Bolognese which tasted as though it was out of a tin. My husband and Grandson had Burger and about six chips which was not very hot. The others had lasagne which tasted like it had come straight from the microwave. Each main course cost between £11 and £12 each. The sweets we ordered for £6 each were very small and the Cheesecake ordered was totally inedible and was sent back to the kitchen, we received no apology. The lounge bill with drinks came to £101.70 far too expensive for such poor quality tasteless food.
The total bill for the two night stay for my Daughter and now Husband, in a double room, was in excess of £600. Which I think is excessive. On leaving the lounge my Husband made his feelings known to the Restaurant Manager who said he was sorry, but didn’t seem over bothered.
Possibly because the Wedding Package had been paid for up front.

Room Tip: check what the package consists of before you book and pay
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Susan. many thanks for the review, albeit it seems that some aspects were not quite to your taste, for which i am obviously dissapointed and sorry, in that it affected your day. It is quite difficult to make comment in relation to personal taste so all i can really do is respond as honestly as i can. Champagne does vary greatly in taste, quality and well... price and the Champagne we use, supplied by Matthew Clark Wine Merchants is very reputable, certainly as an inclusion in room rate. Similarly with the canapes, it is very difficult to really know preferences of such things without being firstly informed, hence why we put out a selection of meat, fish and veg. January is in fairness a lot quieter than most other months, so staffing levels are smaller and unfortunately occupancy of other guests lower, this would have an impact on ambience of course, but we remain as upbeat as we possibly can. I note that you dined off the bar menu and am sorry that this was not up to your expectation, but please be assured that, like the A La carte food everything is made completely from scratch. I am very sad to read that you felt the staff didnt pay you enough attention on such an important day and that the instruction and briefing from the planner was not sufficient, i am truly sorry for this, we honestly try and make every guest as welcome as possible and on the whole achieve this naturally. I will ensure that all of my team read this review and utilise it constructively and appropriately. Thanks again for taking the time to write up your feedback. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Ten of us booked into the Smiths Hotel for a night away and shopping trip to the Gretna Gateway village. Regretfully only two out of the five rooms were ready for 3pm. The hotel lounge was lovely to relax in and we were served drinks and snacks. The waiting staff were very efficient. The ambience was relaxing. The bedrooms were furnished to a high standard although one of the rooms had a couple of hitches, the staff made arrangements to sort this out. The restaurant menu was lovely and we all enjoyed a really nice dinner. Cocktails beforehand were amazing and thank you to the attentive waiter serving these. He did a great job. On the downside was the grumpy nightporter/bar tender who was keen to usher us with calls of 'last orders' at 11.40pm. Despite the fact we were residents and had just put over £500 onto our hotel bedroom tabs. Think he was definetely absent the day communication skills were taught. A final issue for management to consider is that when we checked in at 3pm and checked out the following day at 11am there were still dirty trays, glasses, cutlery and leftover food piled up at the end of each of the two corridors ... on the floor as you left the lift and stairs and entered the bedroom corridors ....not a great impression. The hotel is situated 5 minutes drive from the Gretna outlet and walking distance from the Gretna Green shops.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the motorway are remarkably very quiet with good sound proofing in the rooms. Howe...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarionM785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks for the review Marion, great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very useful and i will discuss your points with the departmental managers to ensure that our standards remain high. Thanks again, regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here just before christmas and was lucky enough to book a deal for £70 B&B. We stayed in a luxury double it was modern clean comfortable with a lovely bathroom andamazing power shower. We booked in the restaurant and the food was truly amazing with a warm cosy atmosphere. You can sit in one of the big comfy sofas in the bar after your meal. the staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was amazing and very good with plenty of choices. We loved it that much that we have booked again

Room Tip: All the rooms are great so you wont be disappointed
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzy41black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Lizzy, superb feedback, thanks. great to hear that you have booked again so soon - your always welcome here now youve found us. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My daughter and I viisted Smiths for lunch last Saturday. The reason we were there was to drop my Mum off at my sisters wedding. Immediate family only ( so not me then!). As we were short of time to get back into Carlisle for lunch we decided to try the lunch menu there. We ordered far too much but everything was truly delicious and the service both prompt and very courteous. Sharing nachos were exceptional. Prices a bit on the steep side for the location. My other sister also turned up and just ordered hot drinks and was horrified at the bill but I suppose they do have a captive audience and the decor and finishing touches of the hotel are lovely.
I returned later in the evening to collect My Mum and found my cousin there who had turned up randomly so was very suprised to see some of her Mums side of the family all congregated there. She lives up the motorway but travels down to Smiths regularly for an evening meal so its not just me who is impressed with the quality of the food.

Big minus however was no first aid kit available in the hotel, apparently. My sister collpased unconsious, (high blood pressure issues) and had it not been for her guest list being made up of senior NHS staff she would have been in serious trouble.The best the manangement could come up with was an electric fan to keep her cool and a chair on wheels to get her back to her hotel room. I thought it was a health and safety requirement to have something on site for such occurences. A BP monitor, Defibrillator,something anything. If you have health issues you might want to check what their on site first aid policy is before booking here.

Room Tip: We didnt stay over so no advice on rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thanks for the review Sooz18. Good to hear you enjoyed our food. In relation to your comment about First Aid, we obviously do all we can via our trained onsite First Aiders (we have 16) who will administer the necessary care and comfort as appropriate and within the capabilities of their training. We dont have a difibrillator on site, this is correct - this is a complex piece of kit that obviously requires specialist training, but i will most certainly give consideration to it for the future. Thanks again for the review, Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at smiths hotel for 2nights on 18th December as we married on the 19th , the hotel & staff were fantastic , on the morning of the wedding we met up with Heidi one of the very helpful wedding planners , who suggested we go over to the blacksmiths shop to introduce ourselves , which we did Ann the guide made me feel so relaxed ! I then went to have my hair & makeup done at spoilts the girls were lovely an Rachel the hairstylist was amazing , I felt like a princess ! The wedding service was short an sweet , just what we wanted we had photos an DVD by husband & wife Colin an hazel , we recived our DVD an photos were posted on website for us to choose on Christmas Eve , great Xmas pressie ! When we got back to our room it was so romantic with lit candles , flowers , champagne & chocolate covered strawberrys , beautiful touch ! In the evening we had a 5 star meal in the restaruant ! There is not one thing we could fault about this hotel we were made very welcome ! I cannot relate to some of the reviews I've read , some people have nothing better to do than complain ! Thankyou so much smiths ! Nikki & Darren Clarke xxx

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkinooclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Nikki & Darren, thanks for taking the time to post a review on the site, much appreciated. I will ensure that all the people you mention are made aware of your superb comments. I look forward to you returning year after year. Best regards, Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here the night before our wedding which we had at the world famous blacksmiths shop
The hotel was lovely and our room was perfect , great bathroom and area for getting ready for wedding , large full length mirror . I didn't have breakfast as I was so nervous so can't comment of food !!!
The day went so quick , the hotel calls u in ur room to say to come down and it's literally across the road so u don't need to hire a car or anything . The ceremony was magical and we loved every single second . As i did worry it could be tacky , but I was so so proved wrong !! They treat u like ur the only wedding in the day , luckily there was a couple of hours between ours and the next .
Wonderful place to stay and get married !!!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mattdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thanks for the fantastic review Mat&Dawn, so glad everything went so well for you and i look forward to your return, regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
176 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
423 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: $116 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing