We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I cannot praise this fantastic hotel enough!!
Just married 22/9/12 and Lyn our wedding co-ordinator had everything planned perfectly.
From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
We had a horse and carriage take us to the famous blacksmiths shop, the piper was brilliant and a big thank you to jim.
We had our reception at the hotel and Slav made us all welcome his attention to detail was really refreshing, he was able to talk us through the whole thing with speeches, food, cutting cake etc, thank you Slav.
We had Steven ramage DJ he was brilliant.
I would not hesitate to recommend smiths, they made our day wonderful. The have a lot to be proud off.
Sharon & James Anderson

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
James and Sharon, many thanks for the review. Absolutely delighted to hear that your day went so well. Thanks also for mentioning Lyn, Jim, Slav and Stephen - they will be thrilled to get such personal praise. do come back again soon. Best regards, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    294
    164
    72
    41
See reviews for
341
662
13
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We got married through Smiths 16/09/2011 and we returned for our wedding anniversary this Year, it was quite special we pretty much done everything in the order that we did on our wedding day obviosly without the stress of the wedding!

Smiths is an amazing hotel We got the Thistle Suite as this is what we had within our wedding package as we were given a complimentary upgrade, All the staff are amazing.

We would defo recomend Smiths as a hotel and as a great wedding Venue/Package!

Room Tip: We had the Thistle Suite but We seen the normal rooms when our guests came last Year and these were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl_huds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thanks Karl, it was good having your both back. Really appreciate the comments you have posted and i look forward to your next visit. Best Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel service was excellent they cannot do enough for you, pricy but very nice, i was there for a family wedding which they organised and it went 99.9% perfect.
There were small points i picked up on with the hotel but i was just picky due to the cost.
Beware of the food cost check what your getting as some items were very expensive for what they were but excellent otherwise.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thanks for the feedback Alan, really appreciate it. The new A La Carte menu and lounge menus are being released mid October and i will take on board your comments about price. Chef has alraedy extended the lounge menu considerably to include homemade pies, traditional favouraites such as Fish & chips, burger and good old plain sandwiches. this allowing for a wide price point from as low as £6 to the more extravagant (and unfortunately always pricey - even for us to buy in) Fillet Steak at £29.eeeeek! it is the very best though, make no mistake. We also run a daily Teatime menu Mon - Sat between 16.00 and 18.15 at 3 courses £15, 2 Course £12.50 - this includes rump steak and chips and other daily changing favouraites. Thanks again Alan, come back soon, regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

FirsI have had I got of all I messed up and should have arrived a day earlier...Expedia and the hotel got sorted immediately -thanks to my Magic Jack computor phone and Expedia Montreal refunded my bill for one night...by phoning the hotel direct from Canada--full marks Expedia..!!..I was/is travelling in the UK for 9 weeks......:Lauren on front desk excellent..!!......The bar staff would not be out of line in a 5 star high end hotel in Nth America...The room was excellent with a balcony...I am stll travelling the UK and the Smiths experience has been the best accom. experience and I have been spoiled....after a further 8 hotels aoround the UK.....Hey Guys at the same price...!!...The drinks were expensive but in an intimate atmosphere.....Saw 4 different brides --so of course the hotel is a wedding venue.........The breakfast is excellent...buffet style ..no-one would be disappointed ...full English with a continental buffet..........Heres a tip...If you want a drink at cheaper prices and more downmarket try the Hazeldean Pub down the street..?..5 minute walk....!!.............all in all -a great hotel--who really do try and I am impressed by the Mngtment who reply to most of the comments from thier customers...on this site...!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roofingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you Roofingman, I very much enjoyed reading your review. I am overwhelmed by your feedback and i'm sure your great comments will put a spring in the step of all my staff today. Happy travels to you. Best regards, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for a friend’s wedding, and must say that the wedding itself was wonderful. However, the hotel let us down…

The hotel claims to be a four star, and although the services are up to scratch (great staff, excellent food), there are problems that made the stay much less enjoyable than it should have been. The rooms are old, dark and unclean. So much so that we preferred not to walk on the floor without shoes and had to wipe away dust ourselves. When complaining the staff was very apologetic, but I got the feeling they would not really do anything about it. The whole hotel is in need of a refurbish.

The rooms and the restaurant are very expensive for what you actually get and I think this comes down to them being the only real 4* in town. The drinks by the way are unpayable! The bride and groom felt let down with their room being dirty and room service costing more than the food itself.

All in all, not a bad stay but for the price, the stay should have been much better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeJongeKoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thanks for the review, it is absolutely appreciated. Naturally i am concerned at the comments posted here and i will, as always absorb, them, share them and react to them where appropriate. It is sometimes difficult responding to such harsh and damaging comments as one needs to balance what is genuine and what is not without being overly defensive or nonchalont when tackling poor feedback. This guest clearly had an issue and i am of course dissapointed that any guest would go away feeling let down, we are in hospitality after all and looking after people is our main priority. Are my floors that dirty that you cant walk on them without shoes? I think not. All of my bedrooms where refurbished this year, so they cant possibly need refurbishing after only 5 months, surely! but if someone wishes to express their dissatisfaction in this way, then fine. All i can really hope for is that the sincerity of all my responses coupled with the overwhelming genuine feedback that we recieve allows everyone to clearly understand what type of hotel we run here and what type of people we are. All i can hope is that all you guys form your own opinions of the validity of such posts. Please do come look at the rooms, take a bar tarif, menus, phone us up, whatever you need just to remove the unfair and tainted view you may have as a result of this review. as always, best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the smiths for a friends wedding. The hotel was lovely, very modern and elegant. The room was lovely and the breakfast was great. Our friends had their wedding reception here and this was spot on, the staff couldn't do enough for us. The honeymoon suite could have done with refurbishing but overall good. Our friends alos had to change the dates of the booking due to an accident, the hotel were very accomodating and understanding, made it very easy and stress free for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks so much for the review , really glad you enjopyed your time with us, come back soon,, regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here on our wedding night. We booked it as it was the closest to the Blacksmiths Shop and we didn't know too much about the area so thought it was a safe bet. The room was lovely, 6ft bed, fireplace, big windows, lovely bathroom etc however I found the room quite dark. There wasn't a main light in the room, just lamps by the bed, a dim lamp by the window and a lamp on the far table, I had to get ready with the curtains wide open which I'm sure wasn't pleasant for any passers by!! The staff were very friendly and helpful which surprised me as a couple of times I had rang up before hand and the people skills of the person on the phone weren't very good. Breakfast was ok, the bacon was very hard and not very enjoyable but there was a lot of variety, I was very pleased to see cranberry juice available. We would have stayed to eat in the evening at Smiths but the food on the menu seemed quite obscure and extremely pricey. I think overall the hotel is overpriced but it is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoobyJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks Hoobyjones for your comments. Glad you enjoyed the hotel and staff, albeit you thought it a little pricey - we do try and use the very best products, staff, food produce etc ertc and as much as we strive for the very best value for pound possible, somethings (especially the nice things unfortunately) cost that little bit more - regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
923 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
388 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing