We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Value”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here to break up a long journey to the Scottish Highlands travelling with our dog. We were delighted with the friendly staff and the quality of the room especially given the price we paid and that we had a dog with us. Excellent service and brilliant value, far exceeded our expectations. We actually booked and stayed as a family group on the way home it was ideal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    132
    92
    21
    40
See reviews for
117
144
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stopped here for 1 night, nice location near Gretna Green staff very helpful and friendly could not do enough for you, rooms clean and quiet, only draw back it has is if you would like a meal or drink after your journey then you have the choice of Burger King or KFC and no alcohol so you bring your own or drive out for a drink, if in the area would use again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We arrived weary and needing a good sleep. We were welcomed by a very friendly and efficient receptionist who exemplified the meaning of the word service. Our room was clean, bed was comfortable and the shower was efficient and hot.

We bought breakfast as part of the deal and went to the main complex and ate a very good cooked breakfast with an enormous mug of tea!

I should be very happy to stop here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCB1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Well situated next to the Gretna Green Service area, this is a good value budget overnight stop.

The check in was easy and welcoming, the room clean, although the decor was a little tired. The bed was comfortable albeit the mattress was a little on the bouncy side! A plus point is the free wi-fi service (Premier Inn take note - your thirty minutes free wi-fi is hardly generous) which was easy to connect to and reasonably fast.

Good bathroom and the shower was good and strong.

Would be happy to stay here again on our next trip to and from England.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights on our way back from Scotland.
Convenient location.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Free wifi but ours wouldn't work in the room worked fine in reception .
Bath or shower tea ,coffee ,free newspaper, they even had a microwave in reception that you could use.
Eating places at the services were KFC ,papa johns or Burger King.
You could drive into Gretna green or Gretna on the back roads for other places to eat.
The outlet village is about 10 minutes away.
Obviously some noise from the motorway but our room was the closest to it ,would take earplugs.
Would stay again

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgelly
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Used Days Inn as a stopover on route to holiday destination. Efficient, friendly and clean. Breakfast was served at the exact time we requested. We have stopped here before and will probably return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

stopped here on our first night of a scottish tour we were doing and it was nice, the best thing about it was the friendly staff other than that the rooms weren't great (they were very clean though). it wasn't very expensive and lived up to expectations.
gretna is lovely although there isn't a whole lot to do, we went to the outlet (which has a yummy cadbury shop) and it has some lovely scenery. worth a stopover but i wouldn't stay much longer than that.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
#4 of 4 in Gretna Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.7 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gretna Green M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Property: Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Days Inn Gretna Green M74 Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing