We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Lochgelly
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stopover”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Used Days Inn as a stopover on route to holiday destination. Efficient, friendly and clean. Breakfast was served at the exact time we requested. We have stopped here before and will probably return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    132
    92
    21
    40
See reviews for
117
144
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

stopped here on our first night of a scottish tour we were doing and it was nice, the best thing about it was the friendly staff other than that the rooms weren't great (they were very clean though). it wasn't very expensive and lived up to expectations.
gretna is lovely although there isn't a whole lot to do, we went to the outlet (which has a yummy cadbury shop) and it has some lovely scenery. worth a stopover but i wouldn't stay much longer than that.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

When our homeward plans had to be changed at the last minute we were able to find and book through LateRooms the evening before we left the Northern Isles and to find the cheapest suitable alternative stopping place before finishing our 600 mile drive the following day.
A service station motel it was easy to find, convenient and the rooms were larger than we expected, well set up with bath as well as shower. Being set back from the road with trees around the area it was not a noticeably noisy location.
The rooms lay off long corridors which were divided into short sections with fire doors between sections. Unfortunately very late, very loud arrivals decided to have an extremely loud conversation right outside our door, and soundproof the rooms are not.
There was a TV and a powerpoint provided, but recharging phone and camera meant swapping from one to the other. The bed was comfortable enough and there was a settee which I think could be used for a child bed.
My dietary needs meant the continental breakfast would be unsuitable, so they suggested we walk over to the service area and order those things I could eat. The service station food was typical of that normally served and not at all to my taste.
Staff were polite and friendly in the inn.
The booking service is easy to access and to use to find the most suitable place for one's journey and offers competitive rates for rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Located at the motorway services this accommodation is very convenient for an overnight stop. Rooms are very clean and comfortable with excellent showers. Continental breakfast brought to your room is a great service. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel was a dependable Days Inn. The price was very inexpensive. The room was a good size for two people. It was clean and room supplies (towels, drinking cups, and soap) were adequate. In spite of its close proximity to the motorway the room was quiet. Unfortunately, the bed felt like I was sleeping on a camping air mattress. Also, there was no air conditioning so the room was quite warm. Parking was on site and very convenient. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a voucher available to buy for breakfast in the food court across the parking lot. Overall, I would stay here again for a 1-night stay on the motorway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level Contributor
318 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Located on a Welcome Break Services area is this basic chain hotel which was very inexpensive. Breakfast was included and parking and wifi (in the rooms) are included. Several fast food restaurants are located a 2 minute walk next door in a food court. Very easy location to find. The community of Gretna is a 19 minute drive away with full services and a historic blacksmith shop. Located withn Gretna is an outlet village. Staff (Jenn in particular) were very helpful and knowledgeable. A full breakfast is available for a surcharge. Very easy access to the A74(M). A gateway location to the Lake District and the Scottish Borders. The facility is pet friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

During a road trip and getting late stopped at nearest hotel/motel on the tomtom, very cheap last minute about fifty pound I think bearing in mind we got there at like 9pm, very clean and a good reception with leaflets, complimentary newspaper, books to read with a charitable donation and sweets/chocolate to buy at reception 24/7. Room was basic but very clean and of high standard, only stayed one night but good for just a bed to sleep in. A nice days inn.

Opposite a service station with free car parking.

Room Tip: Good for a clean basic bedroom. Once you've checked in you can move your car so you can see i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
#4 of 4 in Gretna Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.7 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gretna Green M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Property: Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Days Inn Gretna Green M74 Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing