We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have never stayed in a Days Inn and now I know why. The room was not very clean and the bathroom was worse. The bed has seen better days and should be tossed. I did notice some furniture had been dumped in a trash bin and new beds were being delivered the morning we left. Location is convenient with a petro station, and a few chain restaurants across the parking lot.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MooseTrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 431 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We chose this hotel as a single night stopover to break up our journey. The hotel is located within a motorway service station near to Gretna Green,
Check In was very quick and the receptionist was friendly and helpful.
Parking is free but you need to give your reg no to reception otherwise the CCTV system in the service station will charge - reception took care of this
We had a family room and it was much larger than other family rooms I have stayed in at other hotel chains - it was very clean and smelt fresh when entering the room.
The beds were comfortable and despite being close to a motorway we didn't hear any noise in the night.
The hotel doesn't serve meals so you are limited to the food offerings of the services - KFC, Burger King, Pappa Johns pizza or the cafe. We were given a 10% voucher if we ate in the services.
Breakfast was available delivered to the room - continental style for an additional £5 and there Compared to other hotels in this budget range I was very impressed and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The family rooms were a very good size - I would consider them even as a couple as there is a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinjaNige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for just the 1 night for a wedding recently.. Paid £39 for a double room, and I have to say, I was very impressed!.. The room was spotless and very comfortable, with plenty of tea snd coffee, even biscuits!..and top marks to the staff, they were extremely friendly, which is always a bonus. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised.. Very good value and almost as good as some of the premier inns we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albertadarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We wanted a short break away and chose this hotel as it was convenient and we always like Days Hotels. This was as good as any others in this chain although the room was quite small. The bed was very comfortable and it was quiet. We did some sight seeing in Dumfries and Galloway as well as spending a day in Edinburgh and the Borders. It was a cheap little holiday and was just what we wanted. On a very minor note, the table have strange bevels so if you out your drinks a couple of inches from the edges they just slide off on to he floor. We can't be the only ones who have put a whole cup of coffee on to the carpet!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank stella1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights to attend a wedding in Gretna.
Very comfortable room, loved the bed, so comfortable. Had everything you needed, tea, coffee, tv, clean towels and plenty of space. Bathroom was nice and clean. Can't really fault it at all.
We didn't have the breakfast as we could justify spending another £6.99, plus done fellow guests said it wasn't worth it!
Very easy to find and right next to the motorway so it's easily accessible. We didn't hear the motorway at all which was brilliant.
Good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemmaG8313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here a while back but has improved greatly. Staff where very very friendly and helpful in arranging taxis to a local restaurant. Rooms where bigger than the average motorway type accommodation and benefited from free view TV and an excellent shower. Coffee and tea was plentiful and the room had a fridge and an iron so pretty much all you needed. Wifi was free (why do 4&5 star hotels charge for this when budget hotels offer it free) didn't eat at the adjacent site for dinner went to the Smithy hotel which had a very nice restaurant however the bar menu had much more choice than the restaurant menu and you can it in the conservatory looking out so was brighter and more comfortable seats too. We took breakfast in the adjacent services which was surprisingly very good good quality and had a full English for £1.99 (voucher on ther facebook page) the usual range of shops there KFC Starbucks etc and an additional themed shop selling Scottish Faye inc mint cake and shortbread etc. overall did what it needed to better than your usual travel stop hotel and very free friendly service

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bmwroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Around 50+ guests and wedding party stayed here for the weekend of my wedding. Yan the manager was very helpful and all the staff well mannered and friendly. The rooms are really clean and comfy and no noise could be heard from the local services. The honeymoon suite was spacious and had an amazing jacuzzi bath and fridge for our champagne. All in all we could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
0.9 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
920 reviews
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gretna Green M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: $52 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Days Inn Gretna Green M74 Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing