We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Blacksmiths Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 12 Restaurants in Gretna Green
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Geordie Land
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was a little disappointed on entering the front of this place as it seemed to large and not enough instruction as to where to go for separate area's of food but it didn't take long to suss out...the staff were more than helpful and very willing to show you where to go and what to do...there was a good selection of food and everything was clean and tidy...however, there was a small spill of water at the till and the man on the till was aware of it because he kept telling everyone to mind there step...but I thought instead of telling people why don't you get one of the staff to clean it up NOW!!...anyway...the place itself is very very clean and picturesque so well worth a visit...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raven1GeordieLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    20
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“A nice place to visit”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This restaurant was one of the best I have been to the staff were courteous and polite and greeted us with a pleasant smile

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark113_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loches, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I have to agree with 'scotland deserves better' review......”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

On our way home from Scotland and not being particularly rushed for time decided to visit Gretna, have a bite and continue on our way. First impression driving to the car park was good. Wish we had never made the detour.
Entering the restaurant we decided on baked potatoes, advertised with the soup. No one serving no potatoes at the station. Looking around eventually found the potatoes on another service station. Not available for self service. There was no one available to serve. no one seemed interested. We put down our trays and left. A real disappointment. I do hope all those foreign visitors were better served.

I had forgotten just how beautiful Scotland was... If this is the welcome/farewell............
signage back to M6 south also appalling. Waste of time better at the Moto.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane0333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Jane0333

Thank you for your recent review - we'd like to say sorry that this is how you felt and indeed had you spoken with a staff member we can assure you that they would have been more than happy to assist you. We pride ourselef on offering an alternative to motorway services and that includes personal service but as we offer such a choice a staff member may have been busy at another station.

However that being said we have failed to impress you this time but we hope you do indeed visit us again to change your mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bad start to a Wedding Reception but things got better”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We decided to hold our wedding reception here purely because we were short of time and it was right next to the Blacksmiths shop. We booked it through Smiths Hotel which is right across the road.

We visited the venue the day before and were given a tour and run though of what would happen on the day.

After our 430 wedding we entered the Blacksmiths function room and were greeted by a guest who had not been set a place at a table. We then sat down for the wedding breakfast, we had ordered menu c where guests chose the meal in advance. The serving of the starter was chaos they brought each starter out separately rather than serve each table at a time. They asked who had ordered soup, prawns etc. We spoke to the manager and were told they were not set up for this kind of catering, he did however offer us some extra wine free of charge. The starters took 45 mins in total. We also had to ask for our wine to be served and for water to be put on the table. It was during the starter we realised our table decorations had not been put out.

The maincourse was served in a more orderly manner but the beef and gravy was exactly as decribed in earlier reveiws, it reminded me of a school lunch.

The desserts were delicious but because of the time delay we had to do the speeches whislt we ate them. Also the only eating implememt was a fork which was interesting with sorbet and trifle!

The evening buffet was lovely and we can definately recommend the cheeseboard. We only ordered a buffet for 25 of out of 60 of our guests and the cheeseboard for 10 people as we had our wedding breakfast late but there was plenty of food to go round.

We voiced our concerns about the wedding breakfast to the wedding planning team at Smiths Hotel who acted quickly and professionally in making sure that the event was investigated and hopefully other couples will no experience the same as we did.

I don't like writing bad reviews but just want to warn other people using this venue to make sure they go through each step of the day before the guests arrive. In hindsight I wish I had called in in the morning to check the place settings and make sure everything was on plan.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Inmyopinion22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Inmyopinion22

Thank you for taking the time to review our venue and again we do apologise for the inconveniences caused during your wedding reception which, like you say, were dealt with quickly and appropriately by ourselves and the wedding team at Smiths.

The points which you raised have been looked into and addressed immediately. We really appreciate the feedback and thank you for choosing us as the venue for your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Scotland deserves better”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I stopped here on our way home from a holiday in Scotland. First impressions were good, the place looked spacious and clean, however, things went downhill from there. We stood at the hot food section waiting to be served. It was quiet in the restaurant and we were the only people waiting to be served at the time. There were a few members of staff slouching about, two of whom were standing close to us, having a chat. We just stood there, rolling our eyes to the ceiling. Eventually one dragged herself away and served us. We both chose a steak pie with roast potatoes, carrots, cabbage and gravy. We took our trays over to the payment desk. No-one there to serve us. Eventually someone trudged over with the enthusiasm of a dead fly.
We sat down in the twee dining area and tried to block out the unpleasant sound of a poor pastiche of 'traditional scottish' music. We tucked into our food. Oh dear. The beef was like chewing on an old leather shoe. The carrots were horrible little bullets, some were so hard they were inedible. The cabbage was overcooked but tolerable, and the gravy was a glutinous brown artificial goo, the like of which I haven't seen since my school days.
What a massive disappointment. I have no doubt that the business makes a very good profit due to the huge numbers of tourists being bussed in en masse. Quantity, not quality, is the name of the game here. Scotland is better than this.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DimOndYGorau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
DimOndYGorau

What can we say? We were disappointed to read your review and are looking into all you mentioned.. We pride ourselves on our normally high standard of customer service, being so conscious that Gretna Green may be our customers first impressions of Scotland. To hear that you believe our staff are un-interested could not be further from the truth, although it sounds as if they certainly gave you that impression when you visited. Yes, it can be busy here by nature but we pride ourselves by offering quality in our (sometimes very busy) environment and we note the time you visited was just after a particularly busy period but nevertheless that's no excuse. We should be on top of our game at any time of the day... However that being said what a pity you didn’t mention the food issue when you were here and we could have sorted things out there and then. It would have at least given us the opportunity to redeem ourselves as we know our food is delicious.

We note you left our neighbours at the Blacksmiths Shop a 1 star review also so it's obvious to us that we didn't impress you much on your visit to Gretna Green, for this we apologise and we only hope you will visit us again in the future to let us change your mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blacksmiths Restaurant also viewed

Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Blacksmiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing