We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”

Famous Blacksmiths Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Brilliant place, the staff made us feel very welcome.
They gave a bigger room to us free of charge, as they weren't that busy, and they were very helpful.
Very romAntic place to get married.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MadameGazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
MadameGazelle

Thank you for the great review - lovely to hear you got a little upgrade too! Congratulations again from all at Gretna Green Famous Blacksmiths Shop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    204
    82
    30
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth a visit...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

A collection of rather expensive shops on site which were more for window shopping than actual shopping..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IndigoNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
IndigoNottingham

Thanks for the 5 star review - not sure many would class our shops as window-shopping only as a great deal of people clearly love our shortbread, lambswool scarves, gloves and many other items :)

We do hope to see you back one day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“day trp to gretna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

on a visit to the famous Gretna green, was amazed at its size , the old blacksmith place where weddings take place was fab, a very nice lady was kind enough to take our photo over the anvil, the old carriages were all good, and in excellent condition, as were all the other things then there is all the shops which were all very clean and tidy, the staff were all very helpful the food in restraurant was good and very clean and laid out vey well plenty of room its an amazing day out for all

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dorothy B

Wonderful! We're glad you enjoyed it and it's nice to hear you loved to see the carriages too. We often have lots of comments on how clean and tidy it is here so it's great to hear it's noticed also.

We'd love to see you back here one day...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
690 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 590 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We popped into the Famous Blackmiths Shop while passing through Gretna Green. A few nice shops to buy souvenirs and extremely expensive clothes! Nice place though for an Ice Cream with free parking. Worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Stephen W

Cheers for the review - true we do stock some top brand clothing lines along with some great 'exclusive to Gretna Green' ranges! Free parking is always a bonus too :)

Glad you enjoyed the ice-cream, you can't beat it on a warm summers day... Hope you visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice, with a few nice shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We visited here on a random day out.
I had a photo with a piper who was very friendly.
The shops were nice, though what you would expect price wise.
There was a wedding on, so we couldnt have a picture under the arch way.

Though if your going past, have a look in. Free parking too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Estella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Estella S

Sounds like a great wee day out and we're happy that you've recommended us for a stop-off.

We do have a lot of people who take photos in front of the Blacksmiths Shop too so do come back and see us and perhaps you can get a photo next time?

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Blacksmiths Shop also viewed

Eastriggs, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Famous Blacksmiths Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing