We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Famous Blacksmiths Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“very good”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

ideal being near the hotels! some good little shops :) the whisky shop is great! also one of the shops did very nice handmade chocolates and fudge

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Jenna S

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to visit us here... we hope to see you again soon, perhaps to sample more of our delicious in-house made fudge in the Foodhall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    214
    86
    32
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute delight”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We actually got married at the Blacksmiths Shop and had a fantastic day. All guests commented on how beautiful the place was and how great the ceremony was too. Brilliant, friendly staff.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Michelle W

Wonderful - we're so happy that your special day went all to plan and that you thoroughly enjoyed it!

Congratulations once again from all the staff here at Gretna Green Famous Blacksmiths Shop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Daughters wedding Jan 2013”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My Daughter has just been married over the Anvil at the Blacksmiths Shop at Gretna Green. and I would like to thank the registerar and the staff for making it such a memerable occasion for them. In the original room over the anvil is very romantic.They were given a Silver Anvil charm as a momento and two shot galsses inscribed the Blacksmiths Shop. We walked around the ajoining shops and took many photos. well worth a visit even if your not geting married

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
susan356

Sounds like you had a great day here with us so thank you for taking the time out to write this review about your daughters wedding day. Please pass on our congratulations to your daughter once again and we hope to see you back one day here in Gretna Green (perhaps just to peruse round the lovely shops even!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“gretna green black smiths”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

got married here was realy nice and differnt
people there were very helpfull in helping us sort it all out
plus place to stay over night
had the bagpipes playing when we got out
would advice it as good if your interested

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
keith s

Ah the Bagpipes, it's us every time... the sound really is one of thes best isn't it? Thank you for your kind comments and congratulations once again on your wedding day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“lovely great little shop with lots of little artifacts”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

there is nothing to dislike about the old blacksmiths filled with love and history, the old blacksmiths venue for weddings is lovely and very romantic the staff are brilliant it is a wonderful place to take your vows, we loved it small wedding with people who we cared about

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Lyn A

Thank you for your kind comments, we do indeed (as with many others) find our Blacksmiths Shop to be full of atmosphere and history... Thank you also for your comments about our staff, who always take time and great care when dealing with couples and weddings, I will certainly pass this lovely review on to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Blacksmiths Shop also viewed

Eastriggs, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Famous Blacksmiths Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing