We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An average hotel with lovely grounds”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gretna Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gretna Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Rochdale Lancashire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An average hotel with lovely grounds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

This was our base for the coach tour my Mum & I were on. The room was ok and so was the food and the hotel grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunniminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    273
    175
    98
    117
See reviews for
188
463
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

Before anybody comments and says you pay for what you get the group that we traveled with paid £230 for 2 nights in a double room on bed & breakfast basis and let's be honest £115 per night is within the 5 star price bracket. Having just looked on the Swallow hotels website it seems they have lowered their prices but not passed the reduction on to existing bookings (we booked over 12 months ago)

I would like to say that Charlie and the younger lady with the shoulder length blonde hair on reception are both fabulous, they couldnt do enough for us, these 2 both deserve awards!!!

Now as for the rest of the hotel, yes it is in need of a refurbishment and I understand that this is due to take place in Oct 09, the suites are of a good size, the grounds are nicely kept, the normal bedrooms are on the small side and the dinning room is actually quite smart but it's the customer service which lets this hotel down badly, if the service would have been better then perhaps guests would have not minded paying over the odd's for a small bedroom that smelt of damp or they would have over looked the ripped carpets and broken shower heads...

We witnessed 2 bar staff argueing, shouting and swearing, yes actually shouting that lovely four lettered expletive at each other in front of a bar full of guests... That alone should tell you all you need to know!! Different members of our party were completed ignored by various members of staff on several occassions, my mum and sister went to order bar meals and were told by a member staff that he couldnt speak english so couldnt take their food order, they then stood there waiting for an age until someone who could speak english could serve them, on a seperate occasion my brother in law ended up writing his own food order down!! We stood waiting for a good 10 minutes to be seated at breakfast while poor Charlie was running round trying to do everything and all the other staff just stood there ignoring the growing queue of people, when I politetly asked for my Cava which was in the fridge behind the bar the older lady on reception looked at me with disdane and abruptly spoke to me as if I was massively putting her out, the food was nice but it was evident that it had been sitting around by the temperature of it, upon checking out one of our party was charged £20 for early check-in but when the recpetion staff had said he could have his room early he was not advised that this incurred a £20 charge, I heard 4 other groups having to take the staff on reception to task about their bills as they were trying to double charge people for their rooms, my mums card got declined when trying to pay for rooms as the hotel was trying to process the card twice as both an Internet sale and a Retail sale so the banks security stopped the tranaction as they thought it was fraud and we all know that ringing 0845 numbers from mobiles to sort it out isnt cheap. There were many more things but I'm sure you've either already got the message or your bored of reading this!! Upon talking to other members of our party since we've discovered that the standard line of the staff at the Gretna Hall hotel when they cant be bothered to do something is - 'its not our policy'

If your wondering why I dont complain directly to the hotel it's because I emailed them in February 09 about their weddings policy and I'm still waiting for a reply. I would say if your having your wedding here (like we did) dont panic, your wedding is what you make it and we had a fabulous day all in all, it was so good that we completely forgot how much of a let down the service at the hotel was!! Hand on heart I wouldnt have minded had we of paid £40 per night for it but we paid a lot more than that and it just wasnt worth it, if your having your wedding here get your guests to book independently, they may get it cheaper, they will be able to cancel it if need be and they may even get an evening meal thrown in as some of our party did and dont expect them to attempt to make your wedding special. Just remember to watch out for all the ramps without warnings around the hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappytravelerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gretna Green hotels

Suffolk
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Never stay at this hotel, this was with out doubt the worst 3 star hotel i have ever stayed in. The rooms reminded me of a 1 star B&B from a aging seaside resort. Thredbear carpets dated decor, small rooms, dirty bathrooms and in serious need of renovation. In the bathroom one of the windows was not frosted glass and there were no blinds or nets on windows and as the room looked out over the carpark people could see you using the toilette unless you fully closed the curtains on a very hot day. The room was a non smoking room but stank like an ashtray. Staff where unhelpful when we suggested room change and told us no other rooms are available and that we where unlikly to find anywhere else at short notice. We did however find somewhere else, and just as we decided to leave they all of a sudden found new rooms when the prospect of paying customers leaving loomed. I thoroughly recommend staying at the Smiths hotel around the corner you will not be disapointed. This hotel looks nice on the outside but do not be fooled, it was awful inside and the staff just dont seem to care, Go elsewhere you have been warned.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suffolk_traveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

I was quite worried after reading reviews for this hotel. But we decided to carry on with our break, and see for ourselves. The staff were friendly, the food was good and the service was good. The bedrooms are well worn, but they are clean, comfortable and warm.

This hotel is ideally situated to travel round and visit Scotland and the Lake district.

For the price you pay at this hotel I don't know how anybody can moan. If you want the Ritz, then go to the Ritz and pay 5 times more per night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

The welcome was terrible the receptionist was old a sour faced very brunt asked for our car details then gave us our room key and mentioned what time breakfast was at, no mention of offers in the restaurant or local information or anything, alos had to find our own way to the room, whic was disgraceful, carpets "fixed" with silver masking tape, lights flickering, then there was the room, the toilet stank of urine, the bed was so hard we left there feeling beaten. I had to return my dinner as it had been left in the oven presumably for so many hours it had completely dried outand was no longer edible, I almost broke the knife trying to cut the veg and my potatoes had gone black, I was shocked they would even serve food of such low standard, it was disgusting, another party staying there for a wedding had their bag stolen in the restaurant, even though ourselves and the staff where the only people in the restaurant, meaning that it was a memeber of staff, the bride was sat outside crying, it was so disgraceful, the staff were all very horrible and unwelcoming and basically angry that they were being requested anything by anyone, the only member of staff that smiled while we were there was a young gentlemen there from tenerife, i would beg that no one stay at this hotel as it would dampen any plans you had and completely ruin your time away, altogether completely disgraceful, dirty, unfirendly and needs closing for a re vamp...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilliansmith86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Shocking, totally shocking. Dirty, smelly, the room decor is from the Planet of the Apes film. Staff nice enough, but the room was just awful, dark, dirty, vomit down the side of the bed.

The best bit is the 'lovely' outside area for smokers, brilliant, your all dressed nicely and have to walk past them all on the way out, and it stinks. Just horrible.

Bath room looked like I had plumbed it in, its that bad, and the hall carpets, threadbare, in the 21st century, no exscuse for carpets like this.

It should be demoloished.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevincambsuk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

We cant understand those narrow minded people that gave this hotel such damming reviews.
Having just returned after a 3 night short stay we found this Hotel Excellent Value for the price we paid. The food was absolutely gorgeous with a menu for even the most fussiest of eaters, the staff were fast and very efficient.
Granted the room was a bit small but the bed linen and bathroom were spotless plus the TV worked OK, as for the "Threadbare Carpets" we only noticed a small area outside the lift entrance.
Reaching the hotel is easy by road or train with both motorway and station a short distance away.
Not forgetting the vast and well kept grounds makes Gretna Hall Hotel Great Value for Money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tezpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gretna Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gretna Hall

Property: Gretna Hall
Address: Gretna Green | Dumfriesshire, Gretna Green DG16 5DY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gretna Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gretna Hall Hotel is an ideal setting for your leisure break thanks to its great location, charm and character. Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel, set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities you would expect from a leading contemporary hotel. We cater for weddings, family celebrations, business meetings and overnight stays and a very warm welcome awaits you at Gretna Hall Hotel whatever your reason for visiting us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gretna Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gretna Hall Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Hall Green
Gretna Hall Hotel Green
Gretna Hall Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing