We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”
Review of Gretna Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gretna Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Once again we return to this delightful hotel, staff where as helpful and polite as our previous stay here. Food was tasty and not much wait times between courses! Excellent value for money in all aspects! Amazing breakfast did the job and kept us going all day!! Bar prices are cheaper here than any other hotel we have stayed in! Will be returning!!! Keep up the good work to all the staff!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    288
    183
    99
    121
See reviews for
197
480
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was part of a coach party staying mid summer 2013. My room was a single, at the front and thus did not have traffic noise problems. From previous comments I think my room [126] was a re-furbed one]

It was a bit pokey, but as only used to sleep in not a big problem

For some reason there is not a shelf in the bathroom, so no where to put your toothbrush / paste / deodorant etc. Also no soap tray in the shower, with same lack of parking space for soap, shampoo etc

Oh, and you have to ask for hairdrier & TV remote control, not in the room as is normal in most hotels, no problem getting them, but having to ask for what should be standard in 2013?

You may wonder why internet access is not shown on their web site, it is £7 for 24 hours, come on, this is 2013, free access is even available on buses for heaven's sake

Only had shower available [no bath fitted]. Found the shower cubicle just too small and had to open the doors to bend down, washing feet for example,or dropping the soap, sort of defeats the whole design

Do not dispose of your disposable plastic "glass" as supplied in bathroom, you will not get another one automatically, I threw mine away, it never was replaced over 4 nights, no doubt I could have asked & got one, but why should I?

A bit of signage would not go amiss, enter via "wrong" door and you will never find Reception

Staff, initially I found abrupt verging on rude & impolite, however it did improve and may have been due to under staffing and poor management at the time

Food was excellent, buffet style breakfast and if you could not find something there you must be very picky. Dinner was set menu, I would have liked a salad bar, but realise this is not for everyone, and was not disappointed with the selection & choices I made. Absolutely no complaints about the food

To sum up, good food, jury out on rooms & service

Room Tip: Avoid the rear rooms, the motorway is close & a constant traffic noise, find a free wi fi site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We only went in for lunch on a trip to the area and while the outside looked reasonably impressive, the inside was well past its sell by date. Lunch was typical pub grub but at hotel prices and not particularly good. The decor was bland and tired and generally reflected a hotel in decline. Won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gretna Green hotels

Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for one night en route to the Highlands. We booked dinner, bed and breakfast and all I can say it was well worth it! Dinner was fab in a beautiful dining room with an extensive menu. Both of us were well pleased with our choices. All staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room was fab too.

We were both intrigued by the history behind the 'weddings' in bygone days and on a walk round the garden the following morning, the gardener was so informative and helpful and guided us to the shop which led to the 'wedding venue' complete with 'bridal suite'. The information on the walls was fascinating! We pictured young 16 year olds fleeing from their families to get married in secret.

We noticed that they had special celidh nights on occasion and I would love to return to experience these.

Price wise we thought it was excellent value. The bar prices certainly were nothing like we have experienced in other great hotels. Am surprised it only gets 3 stars to be honest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It as been some time since our last stay so were looking for some improvements, which we did see in the rooms but work still on going. The room we had No 14 was a funny shape but very clean and the bed was just right. We found that you at to wait a long time to be served at the bar, as the one bar person was working flat out, we completed a guest comment card on leaving and did receive a reply and our remarks are being addressed. We will be staying at the Gretna Hall again as it's going in the right direction. ( Plus it's a Good Breakfast )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAWBEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saundersfoot
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

From check in through to check out everything was handled pleasantly and efficiently....and all the while there were two wedding receptions on the go! This was our first time being accommodated on the ground floor and it was wonderful to have the little outside patio area overlooking the lawns and pond....of course the sinshine was the added bonus!

Room Tip: We've stopped here several times without complaint about any room choice .....this ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimboSaundersfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had an overnight stay booked at the hotel, lovely from the outside but slightly dated decor inside. Unfortunately got there before the 3pm check in time and we were told quite abruptly that the room wasn't ready. There was no offer of taking our luggage or directions to anywhere. Otherwise the dinner, while being overpriced, was lovely and the staff quick and courteous. The rooms are plain but the bed was comfortable and everything was clean and in working order. Breakfast is a buffet affair with a lot of choice. Overall the hotel is in a decent location to the train station and other bars but could do with a bit of a makeover.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoTeamVenture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
417 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gretna Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gretna Hall

Property: Gretna Hall
Address: Gretna Green | Dumfriesshire, Gretna Green DG16 5DY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gretna Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gretna Hall Hotel is an ideal setting for your leisure break thanks to its great location, charm and character. Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel, set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities you would expect from a leading contemporary hotel. We cater for weddings, family celebrations, business meetings and overnight stays and a very warm welcome awaits you at Gretna Hall Hotel whatever your reason for visiting us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gretna Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gretna Hall Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Hall Green
Gretna Hall Hotel Green
Gretna Hall Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing