We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money.”
Review of Gretna Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gretna Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great value for money.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a weekend stay at this hotel on a breakfast and dinner basis. For what I paid for the weekend, I was really surprised. Our experience started with check in. The receptionist was really friendly, chatting about various things. As there was a wedding reception, we could only book our dinner at 8pm, however the receptionist advised that the next day, we could book a lot earlier. The food was very plentiful and tasty, having three courses. We were not hurried and the ambience was pleasant and friendly. Our room was small but ample, with all the necessary essentials. We had two lovely days, staying here all for £120 for both of us. The staff were all friendly and pleasant. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SidNewcastleUponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    277
    179
    99
    118
See reviews for
190
467
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a last minute decision to go there for the weekend and it was one of the best decisions we have made.From the minute we arrived until we left every thing was excellent.Food,rooms and the staff we could not fault any of it,for a laugh I said on the Saturday night my only complaint was that my chocolate fudge cake was not hot,and the waitress told me if I had wanted that it would not have been a problem.so I will have to remember that for the next time as there certainly will be a next time.Fantastic shopping centre within walking distance which we did on the Friday,,and railway station,as we went down to Carlisle on the train on the Saturday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabbykirkcaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Repeat One night Stay booked direct with Hotel .Thurs Feb 21 Birthday treat from wife.I grew up 70 years ago in the Gretna area.Booked bed,breakfast and dinner for one night.On arrival given Executive? room no 22 on front ground floor recently completely refurbished with all mod coms .Dinner was nicely presented ,good quality and choice.The buffet breakfast had enough chioice to satisfy anyone.The Hotel has a laid back feel,easy going, with first class staff to match.
Location is a personal choice as it all depends on visitor requirements.

If in the area again we would definitely stay there again..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49Banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were married here in August 2011 - Our wedding was one of the largest the hotel had seen for a few years (with over 100 guests) which is unusual for Gretna Green, which usually has smaller weddings. The staff were wonderful - professional and helped the day pass smoothly, which is what you want on one of the most stressful days of your life. We opted for a buffet meal, followed by late night bacon rolls. There was plenty of food, and everyone had enough to eat. The Bridal Suite was gorgeous - with a four poster bed and a claw-foot bath in the bathroom. The buffet breakfast had plenty of choice and was well cooked. All in all I can't fault the hotel or the staff. They helped make our day a very memorable affair - still talked about now by family members.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freuchie
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just back from a couple of days at Gretna Hall Hotel and had a very enjoyable time, Very friendly staff, clean and tidy room although the bathroom could do with an upgrade and the single glazed windows in the room were running with condensation in the morning. There was very poor reception on the tv meaning the programmes broke up all the way through them. The bed was very comfy indeed. The food was well cooked and very tasty. The service was good but a bit to quick for our liking. There wasn't time to relax between each course.

These are just small concerns but we still enjoyed our stay here very much.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side away from M74 as it is quiet and some of them have views of the Solway Fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscakeFreuchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craven Arms
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We got Married at gretna hall hotel on 11th August 2012. When we arrived it was heaving with guests and there was a small confusion over a few of the rooms we had booked ,but was soon sorted out. The wedding was just what we wanted and more. the staff were lovely,the food was really good, and our guests rooms were just right. We had The Wakefield-turner Wedding suite,it was so perfect we couldnt have asked for more.Our day was so special and we will remember ever minute of it. Thank you all at Gretna Hall. Mr & Mrs Thomas. Shropshire

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Decided to add another night on to our weekend break and got very cheap deal ! Staff excellent ,basically no complaints impressed with big choice at breakfast and size of bedroom, very welcoming on arrival ,bar meal good - only suggestion is they make bar lounge area a bit more welcoming with slight alteration

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillyboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gretna Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gretna Hall

Property: Gretna Hall
Address: Gretna Green | Dumfriesshire, Gretna Green DG16 5DY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gretna Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gretna Hall Hotel is an ideal setting for your leisure break thanks to its great location, charm and character. Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel, set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities you would expect from a leading contemporary hotel. We cater for weddings, family celebrations, business meetings and overnight stays and a very warm welcome awaits you at Gretna Hall Hotel whatever your reason for visiting us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gretna Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gretna Hall Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Hall Green
Gretna Hall Hotel Green
Gretna Hall Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing